We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Choice in the 3 star category”
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raffaello Hotel
Ranked #77 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
478 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice in the 3 star category”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The best part of this hotel is the location and the staff. Location: we were any easy 10 minute walk to the Colosseum, 20 minutes to the Spanish Steps/Trevi Fountain, 20 minutes to Trastevere , 25 to the Sistine Chapel and truly walking Rome is the way to enjoy all it has to offer (we felt safe where ever we went). The Termini station 7-8 minute easy walk! Staff: When we checked in they were dismayed to see it was my daughter and I and I had booked a double room instead of a room with 2 beds - huge difference in room size! They moved us night two from a very small room to one double the size without us asking! The front desk helped was always available to help us with any questions asked. Breakfast was great - just make sure if you have an early tour you ask before grabbing that croissant to go :). I highly recommend!

Room Tip: Double room means - one bed and a smallish room! Make sure you book at least 2 twin beds to get a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhonda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Rhonda,

Thank you for spending some of your precious time writing such a wonderful review. We remind all Tripadvisor users they have a special discount.
We are so glad your staying here was so beautiful and serene, because this is our major purpose, we just love our job! :)
We hope to have an even greater impact on you the next time you will be our guest.
Until then,
Warmest regards,

Elena, concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,487
    750
    129
    36
    12
See reviews for
510
1,292
128
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Perfect location, near to main station and bus and metro routes, but also quiet as it is just off the main route. Efficient and friendly staff. Rooms are well decorated, spacious and clean. Complimentary slippers and even a pillow menu - you can chose your grade of pillow. Excellent breakfast. And all this at an great price. There is currently a special on if you book online using the Tripadvisor discount code! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc-Scott-Parkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Mark,

Thank you for such an enthusiastic review!! It can only mean we have done our job right, and that is what we care for the most!
We have at heart our clients' gratification and satisfaction, that is why we are continuously trying to outgrow ourselves, by implementing new services,or improving the ones we offer already.
We hope we will have you back soon, and maybe make an even better impression this time. :)

Until then,

Warm regards,

Elena, concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Raffaello hotel is convieniently located in walking distance of all the major sites of Rome. Otherwise the metro is nearby. The hotel is of a very high standard throughout and the staff are excellent - efficient and friendly. The rooms are decorated to very high standard and the cleanliness is noticeably good. Recommended

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We would like to remind the Tripadvisor users they have a special discount.
We do our job with passion and commitment, and we can only be happy and gratified when we learn about ur guest's satisfaction.We are continuously trying to outgrow ourselves, that is why we implemeted a concierge service, in order to offer our guests the best.
Hoping to have you soon as a guest again,

Best wishes,

Elena, concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Rafaello it is one of my favorite hotels in Rome as it has couple of basic features:

- location: 7 - 8 minutes from Termini Station, easy to reach main city sights, by walking or subway, near to very good restaurants (Tema, for example, one of the best in Rome)
- friendly staff
- clean, quite and safe
- good breakfast

In a word, Perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful review, we remind you all Tripadvisor users have a special discount.
Our main priority is to keep our clients gratified, that is why our staff will always be accommodating and available, our breakfast will only have a variety of good quality products, and we will continue on trying to satisfy all our clients' requests, as much as we can, because we do our job with passion.
We hope to have you again as a guest. Until then,
Warm regards,

Elena, concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

For our first trip to Rome, we were glad that we found the Raffaello. We spent three nights there, managing to rise for the very decent buffet breakfast twice. There is no restaurant but as there are plenty of options nearby including Ristorante Tema (see review) it's no big negative. Raffaello is excellently located about a 10 minute walk from Termini, easy walking distance of just about every major attraction (with maybe the exception of the Vatican city).

Our room was very clean, the blackout curtains were incredibly effective and the double glazing was just about strong enough to deaden the noise of the local bin collection at 12.30 am. Ah, those crazy Italians. We had a good night's sleep every night, no noise from neighbouring rooms. The bathroom was excellent apart from my major bugbear (this is where you lose a point, Raffaello!) - no bath, just a shower, which was admittedly the most high tech shower I've ever used.

The bed and pillows were pretty hard, but there is a pillow menu, if you want soft ones.

Staff were always courteous and mostly friendly. Wifi was available, if patchy (the login process is annoying and repetitive).

I'm sure we could have found perfection if we had spent long looking, but the Raffello comes pretty close.

Room Tip: 404 was facing the road, high enough to avoid most traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest,
We would like to express all our gratitude for having received such an enthousiastic review from you, and we would like to remind all Tripadvisor users they have a special discount!
We are really glad to know that all our efforts of making the best for our clients are noticed and repaid.
We are sorry to hear about the shower inconvenient,but the showers are a little bit smaller due to their hydro massage feature. We would like to remind You could specify when reserving a room You would like having a bathtub bathroom.
The hotel is set on a building dated 19th century, so the thick walls can seldom create problems with the wi-fi connection, but sometimes there can be a price to pay for being able to live (even if it is just for several days, or nights... ) in such a beautiful place, in the middle of Rome...


We hope to have You back soon at Hotel Raffaelo, this time maybe with a bathtub bathroom... :)

Kindest regards,


Elena, concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have just visited this Hotel in August 2012, we stayed in room 512 which was the very top floor of this hotel. The lift is very tiny only room for 2 people & suitcase & it makes a rattling noise as if it's going to break down at any minute (which thankfully never happened whilst we were there). However the room was really nicely furnished, wish the fridge had been slightly bigger though as when we were there the temp in Rome most days was 34 degrees. Bathroom was ok nice little complimentary shower products, must say using the shower is a bit of a shock to the system but once adjusted it was quite refreshing though very small. Also had complimentary slippers which was nice.The aircon was a very welcome addition in the room & didn't cost either. View from our balcony not very impressive but better than not having balcony at all. Breakfast wasn't anything spectacular being continental but you could get something which resembled scrambled eggs, the staff were all very nice & welcoming be it the reception staff, cleaning staff or waitresses. We visited all the major sites we could in the 4 nights we were there from spanish steps,trevi fountain, colosseum, capitoline museum & Roman Forum,Piazza Navona, Pantheon & The Vatican. just a word of caution if you plan to eat or drink anything near any of the tourist sites expect to pay a lot more than if you go a couple of blocks away. Rome is a fantastic city & we are please we had a chance to visit , the airport Fiumicino is a bit hard to navigate round though but that's a different story. Don't pay anymore than 8- 10 euro's for taxi to the hotel & my tip would be to take one of the cards with the hotel details on to show the taxi drivers as most plead ignorance & take you on a wild goose chase of Rome. Also be very wary of the people dressed as Roman Gladiators they try to get you to take their pictures with you in them & then charge you for it, just keep walking if anyone approaches you is my advise. Also the street sellers can be a nuisance selling everything from hats, parasols, water, wooden bowls,bags etc. Around Rome there are some lovely fountains from which you can drink from lovely & cold & no charge!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeminiCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for spending some of your precious time writing your impression about us.
Our hotel is set on a 19th century building, and that age's specific style has been preserved and maintained not only aesthetically, but also from a technical and a safety point of view, never have we had any sort of unpleasant accidents, thank God!

The narrow cobblestones Roman streets are part of the eternal city's charm and uniqueness, especially downtown, where Rome breaths history through all its fountains, buildings and streets.

We hope we will have the chance of having you as a guest as soon as possible.

Warm wishes,
Elena , concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We just returned from a 3-week France/Italy trip which culminated in four nights in Rome. Our party of three had two rooms and we all agreed that we would stay at Hotel Raffaello on a future visit. We took the Leonardo Express from the airport to the Termini train station and it was just a 10-minute walk to the hotel.

While it is a block off a major street, Via Cavour, the hotel itself is very quiet. The rooms were larger than we expected compared to rooms we have stayed in while visiting Paris and New York and they were spotless. Breakfast, which is included, was nicely prepared with a wide range of choices. The street the hotel is located on, Via Urbana has quite a nice nightlife with a number of restaurant choices, markets with fresh fruit, meats and cheeses, and little shops. So after a long day of being on your feet in Rome. You do not have to go far to have a nice meal if you choose.

Luciano, the concierge, was friendly and helpful each time we asked his advice.

My husband's only complaints were the smallish shower and that he couldn't always get WiFi but they were very minor complaints and would not stop us from enjoying the hotel and location on a future visit. But the free coffee in the lobby made up for it in his opinion! And I loved the fresh apples at the reception desk. Very refreshing after a busy day in Rome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your enthusiastic review, we are glad to have met your preference and your satisfaction.
We always try do do our best in order to meet our guests' gratification, by implementing services like the free wi-fi connection, which gets slow sometimes because of the thickness of the building's walls. The showers get to be a little bit smaller due to their hydro massaging feature, one of the most high tech models.
Hotel Raffaello's position allows our clients to mix the contemporary Italian life style with the ancient and medieval Roman sites and buildings of major interest, thank you for pointing that out.
We hope we will have you again soon here, with us.
Until then, our regards.

Elena, concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#73 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,574 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Property: Raffaello Hotel
Address: Via Urbana 3, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Raffaello Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Hotel Raffaello in Rome will ensure you feel at the centre of the world each and every day. In central Rome, immersed in the wonderful stream of life, culture and history that runs through the heart of the capital. You'll also be at the heart of the hotel, of its services and its activities. For us, you always come first. Hotel Raffaello is situated in a quiet street in the Rione Monti, one of the historical quartiers of the capital. It is abuzz with people, shops, bars, restaurants and boutiques; one of those neighbourhoods where you never get bored. The Roma Termini train station, Colosseum, Fori Imperiali, Piazza Venezia and all the monuments of Rome are so close that you don't even need to orient yourself with a map.i suoi servizi e delle sue attività. Per noi, voi venite sempre al primo posto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing