We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffaello Hotel
Ranked #82 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I struggled with trying to decide if I should rate it a 4 or a 5. I dont have any other Rome hotels to compare to and it provided what I would expect from a good hotel. Its a very nice 3 star hotel. Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms were quiet with the windows shut. Our bathroom was quite large. The breakfast was very good with a large selection.


The closest metro is a 5 minute walk away but there is no sidewalk and you have to walk in the street and dart in and out of parked cars to avoid oncoming traffic. There were enough restaurants in walking distance.

We went to Rome to see the sights and wanted a good hotel to spend the night and that was close to the metro. This fit the bill at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The hotel elevator is tiny and we took the steps a lot. If you don'e like taking steps or waitin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisnva2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,501
    756
    131
    37
    12
See reviews for
513
1,306
129
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed at the Raffaello for 3 nights in early November, and were extremely happy with our choice. The hotel is in a perfect location for visiting all of the major sites - we walked everywhere, never needing public transport or taxis, not even to visit the Vatican, although this took about 50 minutes. We found it took about 15 minutes to the Colesseum, 20 to the Trevi Fountain. Due to a small mixup with an airport pick-up, we were upgraded to a wonderful room on the top floor of the hotel with our own terrace looking out over the rooftops of Rome, which was magical. The room was spotless and very comfortable, and the staff are incredibly helpful. We would definitely choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 506 was wonderful with a private terrace, and the road noise could hardly be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beverley40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apelosi, Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
thanks for your kind feedback: ours is a very good hotel in a very pleasant area, very typical and very close to most attractions in our beautiful city...
So now you have plenty of reasons to come back to Rome, and we hope to see you soon...and don't forget to exploit - this time - the special offer for all Tripadvisor users...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Our first visit to Rome. 'It won,t be our last'. Within easy access from the termini the Raffaello is a beautiful Hotel. Friendly, clean, lovely breakfasts, adequate size room. All the sights of Rome are within easy walking distance from the hotel. Even the day we encountered a "Thunderstorm" the staff helped out with a large umbrella. We are both certain of one thing...... Rome! we will see you again next year.
Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apelosi, Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
...and we hope we can have you as appreciated guest also next time you will visit our city...
Have a nice time in the meanwhile...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I booked a standard room at Rafaeello Hotel for 2 nights in October 2011.
Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Very very clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Also, the location of the hotel is perfect.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apelosi, Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thanks four your good words,
we are happy when we succed to make it a pleasant stay in our hotel and in our city...if you would consider stay here again, don't forget now you have a special discount code for you and for your friends...so, we hope to see you soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Our stay at the Raffaello Hotel was perfect, from the quiet, spacious, and beautifully decorated room with great decor, to the incredible breakfast we enjoyed every morning. This hotel was perfectly suited for trips to all of Rome's major sites, was close to many delightful restaurants, and was a fantastic place to return after a busy day of sightseeing and shopping. The service was excellent. We would return anytime!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GwenToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apelosi, Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
We are happy you enjoyed your stay, but why did you give such a bad vote about the "room"?
I don't care what you wrote, that affects the overall appreciation; I just hope it was a mistake: remember that if for any reason you don't like your room, we will always try our best to change it!

thanks for your good words,
and see you soon on your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

When we first arrived in Rome getting to this hotel would have been painless, if we hadn't have turned out of the station right by the Leondardo Express platform and then getting really really lost without a map and the gps on my tripadvisor app not picking up where I was. But to get to Termini metro, or if you've walked through the station from the airport platform this hotel is super easy to get to in about 10 minutes walk.

We stayed here for 5 nights and we had a lovely double room. The complimentary breakfast was really nice except the warmish milk for the cereal. There was cold meats, scrambled and hard boiled eggs, breads, cakes, fruit and so on, and you can ask for tea, coffee, hot chocolate and toast from one of the waitresses, who speak very good English. All the staff did. The waitress who served us mostly spoke quite a few languages fluently.

My only niggling negatives were that there were no English channels on the tv, not even BBC News which I've had most of the places I've been. But tv was only on during a quick rest in the afternoons after way too much walking. And the tap in the ensuite was creaky as hell and very stiff, but was usable. But not really much to grumble about.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the Colosseum and Forum, and about a 20/25 minute walk to the Trevi Fountain. There are some nice restaurants in the local area, and a really lovely grocery store just down the road on the corner of the next street. I can't remember what it was called, but they made us up sandwiches for lunch for about 3.50 euros and they were absolutely yummy! Also have beers for a euro.

I don't think there is anything this hotel could have done to make our stay better, it was amazing and I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellodeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We booked this hotel in central Rome for a 4-day stay and couldn't have been more pleased. The room walls were upholstered, with padding under the upholstery, which gave a touch of elegance and even more quiet to the room. The staff were uniformly warm and helpful. The breakfast was great, with scrambled and hard-boiled eggs offered every morning, as well as croissants, pastries, juice, yogurt and fruit. The cappuccino was good. My only negatives: the Jacuzzi showers are small and might not work for a large person, and street noise occasionally drifted up into our rooms, such as the garbage truck that mysteriously banged below us at 2:00 Saturday morning. There were good restaurants in the neighborhood and a very reasonably priced Internet cafe. My husband is snobbish about hotels, and he thought this hotel had near 5-star quality. Only the bathroom and the small, old elevator kept the Rafaello from earning additional stars.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagspacked51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#72 of 1,256 in Rome
2,597 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,256 in Rome
2,218 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,256 in Rome
2,311 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#96 of 1,256 in Rome
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Property: Raffaello Hotel
Address: Via Urbana 3, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Raffaello Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Hotel Raffaello in Rome will ensure you feel at the centre of the world each and every day. In central Rome, immersed in the wonderful stream of life, culture and history that runs through the heart of the capital. You'll also be at the heart of the hotel, of its services and its activities. For us, you always come first. Hotel Raffaello is situated in a quiet street in the Rione Monti, one of the historical quartiers of the capital. It is abuzz with people, shops, bars, restaurants and boutiques; one of those neighbourhoods where you never get bored. The Roma Termini train station, Colosseum, Fori Imperiali, Piazza Venezia and all the monuments of Rome are so close that you don't even need to orient yourself with a map.i suoi servizi e delle sue attività. Per noi, voi venite sempre al primo posto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing