We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raffaello Hotel
Ranked #77 of 1,283 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy and charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

The Raffaello was a charming boutique hotel that was very clean and friendly. The room was comfortable and the window sashes opened up to the quiet side street. The hotel gave us a bottle of wine, which was unexpected and delightful. They also gave us a good recommendation for a small local restaurant with great pasta just a block away. We had to leave early, but they let us get a quick breakfast before we left.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noonclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,352
    673
    120
    31
    11
See reviews for
460
1,171
110
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I stayed at the Raffaello in August, so rates were much cheaper than the rest of the year. The hotel is fantastic, we had a wonderful welcome, it is centrally situated, very comfortable with air conditioning etc and a really good breakfast. We had supper a few minutes walk from the hotel, pizzas were available form only 7 euros, all the food locally was very good. It's about 10 mins from Termini and about 10 mins to Colloseum. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FiFi253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I'm going to start off with the negatives, as we experienced them, because they do not seem to be reflected in many other reviews.

Cons:
- Our room smelled TERRIBLY of mold/mildew. We got used to it after being in the room for a while, but it was incredibly overwhelming each time we walked in.
- There was a large window, but it looked onto a brick wall...literally. No natural light at all.
- The shower (no tub, which other rooms seem to have) is so tiny it seemed like a joke. My husband and I are not tiny people, but we couldn't even comfortably turn in the shower. Despite the bathroom being a decent size, it was a teeny tiny corner shower, which had jets that took up more room and we couldn't even use.

When we were checking out the gentleman at the front desk made a point of saying, in a snarky tone, that we booked through expedia (we had actually booked through hotels.com). I'm not sure if this had something to do with us getting a lesser room. This said, by no means did we get any huge bargain.

Pros:
- Very close to Termini and reasonable cab fare from Centro Storico
- Area is good - restaurants, shops, galleries, etc
- Hotel/room seems to have been renovated recently
- Good breakfast - meats, cheeses, sweet roles, cereal, yogurt, etc
- Access to roofdeck of sister hotel across from Pantheon

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowWeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansone33, Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment . I am sorry that you has not informed us of this dynamic during your stay, I assure you, we could fix it by offering you another room.

Every day, our department plans, the pride of the hotel, making a thorough cleaning of the rooms and we do periodically, with the housekeeper, a thorough inspection throughout the hotel. I assure you that your comment will take us to be even more attention in this direction.

In addition, I stress that customers who come through Expedia are absolutely equal to others, our passion and our commitment to make a pleasant stay to all customers are total, and its independent of the source they use for booking in our hotel .

Thank you so much again for your review and I hope to host you again in the future in our hotel.

With kind regards

Salvatore Sansone
Direttore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Raffaello Hotel in mid September. The location is great - you can walk everywhere and it is so easy to find. It is literally one straight road from the train station and you take one turn down a little alley and here it is! Only 10 min walk from Termini station, 15 min walk to the Colosseum, 20 min walk to the Trevi Fountain.The room is nice and spacious. The bathroom has a jetted/jacuzzi like shower. Breakfast is included and offers a great selection. Francesa from the front desk is super nice and helpful. She gave us some great recommendations for local cuisine. Be sure to try Tema, La Vecca and Vecchio Roma. We also took a day trip to Vatican City and it is just a 10 min ride after you get on at Termini station. We were pleasantly surprised by how easy it was to get around Rome. This city is so beautiful and every attraction took our breath away.

Cons: the gentleman at the front desk who checked us in did not offer us a Safe key or tell us about a safe at all so we had to go back downstairs to retrieve this (no big deal); the air con turns off automatically when you leave the room so after a long hot day, you come back to a stuffy room (understandable as it is a waste of energy when you are not in the room), there is limited WIFI and internet although they do give you a card with some few time on it. Also there are zero English channels on TV.

But all these cons do not compare to all the pros of the hotel. We enjoyed our stay here very much and will definitely return again. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_bug0122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights after a two week Mediterranean cruise. We were tired and sore from intensive tours every day of the cruise! We were so thankful to have booked at the Raffaello Hotel. It was in a central location to all the places we wanted to visit and close to a subway station. Check-in was very easy and since we arrived before our room was ready, our luggage was kept safe while we found some lunch. The room was clean, spacious enough, and the bathroom was nice. It was a great place to relax, too! The breakfast was delicious! It was more than we had expected! Everyone was helpful and friendly. We would stay here again in a heartbeat, and recommend it to our closest family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCHokie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apelosi, Director of Sales at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear guest, we always stive to make your stay as easy as possible: and we are happy that, in your case, we succeded! Thanks for your feedback, and we look forward to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for five nights 2-7 Oct during which we celebrated our 30th anniversery. The hotel is clean, comfortable and the breakfasts were very good. The staff are courteous and friendly. The airconditioning is a great asset as during our time here the tempreture was 29c during the days.

The location is about ten minutes to the train station and the Colloseum is about fifteen minutes (walk).

We are strong walkers so the Vatican city was not a problem to us at about 50 minutes but when you add to it the walking you do when there and the return journey, you know you have been for a walk !

We have no criticisms of this hotel and would use it again.

Restaraunts in the area are good and there are plenty of them all who want your trade.


Oh and the shower. A bit cramped but I'm 5' 9" and 12st so to me and my wife (who is smaller) it was fine !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boffdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Was a nice surprise. They take a lot of effort to make the rooms very elegant and comfortable. Great breakfast - unlike any other we've seen in this city. Easy to get to - we walked from the train station (15 mins). Cab to center of old city = E6. Tiny complaint - if you are "big" or tall (>6'), sitting on the toilet in our room was difficult - knees jammed against the tub. Otherwise bathroom was sizeable, not small. Good internet. Don't forget to get a voucher to visit their "sister" hotel overlooking the Pantheon. Have drinks looking down over the quarter - fun.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Relais 6
#32 of 1,283 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,657 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Dharma
Hotel Dharma
#54 of 1,283 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 917 reviews
Esquilino
Artemide Hotel
Artemide Hotel
#6 of 1,283 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 5,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#27 of 1,283 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 3,519 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#120 of 1,283 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Hotel Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Property: Raffaello Hotel
Address: Via Urbana 3 / 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 1,283 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Raffaello Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing