We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise”
Review of Hotel Raffaello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Raffaello
Ranked #82 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed May 16, 2011

After spending a few days in Rome, then a week in Tuscany, we headed back to Rome the day before we flew back to the USA. A few walking blocks away from the Stazione Termini we found this quaint gem of a hotel. Newly renovated with jacuzzi shower, great water pressure, all of the comforts of a US central city hotel. The hotel was impeccably clean, well decorated and full of comforts we are used to. The front desk was very helpful, providing us with a reservation for a car to to pick us up the next morning to take us to the airport (at a very reasonable price), wake-up call at the right time, an excellent restaurant suggestion and a local map to get around. The hotel is not far from the Colosseum and Forum, Trevy Fountain and Spanish steps. The breakfast was the best we had in Italy, many selections and superior service. We would definitely spend more than one night there the next time we go to Rome. GREAT HOTEL, and very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RD33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,518
    767
    133
    37
    12
See reviews for
525
1,323
130
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melrose, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

From the moment we walked in and the two guys behind the desk barely noticed we were there, much less a welcome, should have been a dead giveaway. Very small room, though it was clean and not worn. Not quite sure you could call them pillows, just a hunk of not very comfortable foam. But perhaps the biggest surprise was still waiting in the loo. Not quite sure what the room's designers were smoking when they located the toilet where it was inaccessible by all but the most nimble of customers. May satisfy some city ordinance for having one in the room, but that's all it satisfied. This is no three-star hotel on any continent, and greatly overpriced as it is. The ONLY redeeming value is its proximity to Roma Termini if you need to catch an early train as we did.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank imafloridacracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansone33, Manager at Hotel Raffaello, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Dear guest

after reading your review I have to express apology for not having fulfilled your needs and not for making your stay pleasant. I am sorry if your arrival was not welcome, was like the height of our fame, and if the room was not found to be large and the bathroom very spacious. I must also say that if we had received a report regarding that we could propose an alternative room.

In any case I hope that this episode will be a good lesson for all of us, always offer the best and continue to give more and more and maybe, one day, we will be able to still host you reconsider your negative opinion of us.

Thank you for your stay with us and for your comment

Salvatore Sansone
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2011

I just got back from 24 days in Italy. Our first stop was Rome for 6 nights, & had the pleasure of staying at the Raffaello Hotel. Salvatore & his staff are very professional & welcoming! The hotel couldn't have been more centrally located. The breakfast was plentiful & beautifully served. The ladies who run it are great!

The hotel is very clean, the room was fantastic!

If we come back to Rome, I would look forward to staying there again.
Charles Hoffman

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chazjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbiana, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Great location, easy walking distance to the Coliseum and hop-on/hop-off tour. Breakfast was fantastic, clean rooms with good amenities. Very nice and helpful front desk staff. Free internet available with certain packages was very useful!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan50225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We have already recommended Hotel Raffaello to our friends and one couple plans to use it in September. Our room faced the street yet was completely quiet. There was no traffic noise at all and we left the windows open to enjoy a spring breeze. The room was clean, comfortable and roomy. We should add, we had a thirteen year older who is at the present time rather critical about almost everything. She was completely satisfied, particularly about the bathroom and the efficiency of the hairdryer. The breakfast ranged from light to heavy. We chose the heavy including scrambled eggs, toast, cheese and coldcuts, hard-boiled eggs, and fruit. There was much more to choose from and we always left full and ready for an active day. We used the internet regularly; it was usually available. The staff was professional , congenial, and helpful. When we needed a cab, they arranged for it immediately. They pre-arranged two tours (Colliseum and the Vatican/Sistine) that were educational and tailored to our needs. The location for our purposes was perfect. We were close to shops, grocery stores, restaurants, and banks and never for a moment did we feel unsafe.

We could go forever praising the Hotel and its staff but I think we have made our opinion clear and hopefully useful for anyone who plans a trip to Rome. We will definitely return. As we were writing this note, Linda commented, "It was like a dream.”

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theoldveteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Just returned from a week stay at the Hotel Raffaello and was very pleased with the accomodations. It is very clean and the staff is excellent. The location is very convenient to all of the attractions.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmk1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HULL, ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Just myself and my 11 year old son went on this 3 night trip to Rome. There was a lovely welcome at the desk and all staff were extremely attentive and courteous throughout the stay.

The room was smart and clean with toiletries and hairdryer in the bathroom. The breakfast was delightful and you were served with coffee and toast as well as enjoying the buffet style continental breakfast.

The location was just wonderful, my boy and I walked for miles with all of the major attractions in relatively close proximity to the hotel. I would not recommend getting a taxi from Termini, we did this on the way to the hotel and we were charged 24 Euros for what was about a 90 second journey!! Learning from our mistake, however, we walked back to Termini on our departure day and it took 7 minutes on foot.
This hotel is an absolute gem in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#76 of 1,263 in Rome
2,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#97 of 1,263 in Rome
1,200 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#94 of 1,263 in Rome
873 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,263 in Rome
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raffaello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raffaello

Property: Hotel Raffaello
Address: Via Urbana 3, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Raffaello 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Hotel Raffaello in Rome will ensure you feel at the centre of the world each and every day. In central Rome, immersed in the wonderful stream of life, culture and history that runs through the heart of the capital. You'll also be at the heart of the hotel, of its services and its activities. For us, you always come first. Hotel Raffaello is situated in a quiet street in the Rione Monti, one of the historical quartiers of the capital. It is abuzz with people, shops, bars, restaurants and boutiques; one of those neighbourhoods where you never get bored. The Roma Termini train station, Colosseum, Fori Imperiali, Piazza Venezia and all the monuments of Rome are so close that you don't even need to orient yourself with a map.i suoi servizi e delle sue attività. Per noi, voi venite sempre al primo posto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Raffaello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing