We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Caletta

La Caletta
Ranked #89 of 12,044 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $183
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sarajevo Canton, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I live across town from this restaurant and would likely have never known about it, but friends were visiting Rome and staying up the street from La Caletta and we wanted to get together, so I ventured over to Via Aurelia to meet up with them for dinner. I arrived about 5 minutes before my friends and while I waited outside for them, a gentleman from the restaurant came up to me and said, "May I offer you a Prosecco while you wait?" This was just the start of what turned out to be a most enjoyable evening. When we were all seated, they brought a plate of hot, thin, crispy fried potatoes that were simply delicious! There were 7 of us in our group; we each ordered appetizers, a main course, and a dessert; of the mains, most were seafood dishes while mine was beef in a peppercorn sauce. Everything was superb and the presentation was elegant and lovely. As one who lives in Rome and often feels like the same menus are printed for all of the restaurants, changing only the name of the establishment, La Caletta was a welcome and refreshing change. Yes, there was some of the standard fare, but it didn't look or taste like standard fare. Great service, fantastic food, charming staff, lovely small restaurant....will definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JBing55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    99
    20
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was our first and last restaurant stop in Rome.
Right around the corner from out hotel/apartment it was a wonderfully friendly and inviting place to bookend our trip.
Our waitress was fantastic, patient, and nice.
Like with most restaurants in Rome (or anywhere) we ordered several things off the menu to share.
Cacio e Pepe, Carbonara, Risotto, all were absolutely wonderful.
The standouts for me between our two meals were the grilled calamari, and the fried potatoes. These potato chips the waitress recommended for the kids, but us adults couldn't help ourselves, they were fresh, hot, salty, and scrumptious. Great place, worth a stop.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Leaving the Vatican on a cold, wet day we were attracted by La Caletta. and we were so pleased that we did.We had a wonderful meal at a reasonable price. The food was beautifully prepared and tasty. the portion sizes were substantial. We especially enjoyed the fried fresh potatoes - almost worth a visit in themselves. The staff were friendly and attentive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JC19552012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Just had a wonderful dining experience at La Caletta, delicious entree, mains, dessert and great wine.
Cannot recommend enough! Reasonable pricing and fantastic service, seafood was fresh and the shrimp and zucchini was to die for, going again tomorrow!

Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious food and wine, friendly service, wifi and a fair price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

In the area around the San Pietro train station, closest to the Vatican City, you won't find a better place to eat than La Caletta. The decor is minimalist but cheerful, and the menu is quite varied for such a small place. They also serve daily specials. Staff are very accommodating and friendly, are great at explaining what goes into the dishes and what wine will accompany the meal. Portions are quite generous, and though I have eaten here 4 times, each time the first courses (primi piatti) have been a full meal in themselves. A plate of pasta, a glass of wine and a salad cost 15 Euro.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caletta also viewed

 

Been to La Caletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing