We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what other people are saying!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Les Chambres d'Or Hotel
Ranked #1,109 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have been to many different hotels across Europe and the US and I am not picky at all but this hotel was awful! It's not even a hotel! It's an apartment building and the "hotel" are rooms that are sectioned off on one part of the building hallway. Literally, it's a hallway that has a private door and there are about 7 rooms which is the "hotel," and that's why the reception is across the street. My significant other and I were there for 4 days and I could barely shower because the shower head had NO pressure at all, the sink had more water pressure! The walls had mold everywhere, and the sheets on the beds were dirty and even ripped. I was so disappointed, I would NOT recommend it.
The only reason why I liked this hotel was because of the location. You are right in the center, minutes of a walk away from the Vatican!

(We also noticed the next day when the sheets were changed, whoever did it just flipped the sheets the other way around and I noticed this because I spilled a little bit of coffee on the sheet next to my head the night before and that part was on the bottom, turned the other way the next morning.)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Srbija29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 303 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very confusing checking in since front desk in different building than where room was. There needs to be signage to let guest know where to go when first arriving. Staff also works at restaurant next store which also makes things confusing and not sure who was who. Bathroom was smaller and dark with only one light bulb. Positive was they did give us the room we wanted since noticed a brighter room when walking to our original room on same floor. Room size was good for European hotel room and Internet worked well. Location is very good with Vatican only couple blocks away and train station very close as well.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for an upgrade. They are very accommodating. Also go into the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicagophotowalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This Hotel was a disgrace. My room was dirty with exposed open wall sockets. The head board of the bed was for a queen and it had a full size bed. They took one of the bed side wall lamps down and covered it with a sign. We reserved rooms at the Vatican Garden Inn and when we arrived we walked four blocks away to his dump. My traveling companion couldn't take a shower becasue the drain was clogged. They did move her. The place is ran by a bunch of Vietnemese folks. Not what you would expect in Rome. What happened to the Romans.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I arrived to the hotel in the morning and I was able to storage my luggage, till my room will be ready, at the reception desk which is across the building I stayed, in Rendez-vour rastaurant/bar.
For the guests there is 10% discount in that restaurant as well as it's the breakfast place in the morning.The hotel is located very short walk from the metro Ottaviano San Pietro and it's 8min walk to the St. Peter's Basilica and 5 min walk to the Vatican Museum. My room was very comfortable with tv and nice big bathroom, the bed was a little too soft and it made noise but I slept ok.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albicoccia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The staffs were very helpful and friendly. We had the Quadruple room on the 1st floor. It was spacious and quiet. Location is superb with many restaurants and convenience store around. It is a short 10 minutes’ walk to the Vatican. We also strolled to the Panteon and the Trevi fountain. The hotel also arranged for our shuttle from/to FCO airport.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel has a check-in desk associated with the Rendez-vous restaurant on Via Dei Gracchi 19, and rooms at various large buildings in the area. The reception was good, quick and efficient. My room was on the fourth floor of a building around the corner. I stayed two weeks. It was a good size room with attached bath, very quiet, except for one night with a noisy neighbor. Breakfast was always good: pastry, cereal, boiled eggs, ham and cheese, etc. It was a few minutes' walk from St Peter's and the Vatican Museums. At Piazza Risorgimento, one block away, one could catch the 81,32, 23, 492 buses and the 19 tram. It was easy to get around town. The SitBus from the airport stops at Piazza Cavour about 10 blocks east, so one can avoid going through Termeni.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romanesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

this hotel have an excellent ratio price quality, a proper wecoming, an excellent breakfast, situated perfectly (metro, vatican) and the rooms are in an old palace very nice, comfortable and with wifi. A very good moment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hubert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#288 of 1,270 in Rome
604 reviews
Prati
Hotel Silla
Hotel Silla
#550 of 1,270 in Rome
137 reviews
Prati
Joli Hotel
Joli Hotel
#1,098 of 1,270 in Rome
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#243 of 1,270 in Rome
610 reviews
Esquilino
Moscatello
Moscatello
#607 of 1,270 in Rome
149 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#512 of 1,270 in Rome
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Chambres d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chambres d'Or Hotel

Address: Via Dei Gracchi 32, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,109 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $51 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Les Chambres d'Or Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Les Chambres d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Chambres d Or Hotel
Hotel Les Chambres d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing