We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Courteous Staff!”
Review of Adler Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Adler Hotel
Ranked #723 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed there as a family in 2 rooms from May 15, 2014 to May 18, 2014.. want to thank the staff for their excellent service and generosity! The cappuccinos were excellent as was the information provided to first time travelers like us to Italy. IF we ever visit Rome again .. will look no further than the Adler!

Room Tip: Small cosy rooms, clean and fresh linen provided. Guarantees a good night sleep.. but in Rome you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaoAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 182 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

This hotel is near the Termini, but it is a good area and a pleasant, 10-minute walk from the station to the hotel. It is perfect for the first few days or the last day in Rome in terms of getting to the "Leonardo Express" train to and from the airport (Fiumocino). There are also some good restaurants in the area- not too touristy- and it is near lots of beautiful old churches and fountains. I liked it because it was a good, old-fashioned Italian hotel and not an American-wannabe. This means you get a nice breakfast of cappuccino and an italian croissant, some yogurt, granola, some pastry, some juice. The rooms are small, but that is just fine. The staff speaks a little English, but not too much, and they are very kind. They put aside my daughter's raincoat which we left there mistakenly and had it for us when we came back. The bathrooms are small, but again perfectly satisfactory. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We loved this small, cozy hotel that is in a great old building. Room was very clean and sufficient room to move around the bed but of course as a place in central Rome it was not spacious. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Bruno and Carlo took great care of us and prepare awesome cappuccinos at breakfast. Very quiet sidestreet but super close to everything. Wifi was good and patio gave decent place to sit and catch up on emails. I found the bed super comfortable too!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very good location, we walked to Trevi Fountian, the Parthenon, Spanish Steps in one day, Coliseum, Palatine Hill, and other places another day. Even walked back from the Vatican although that was about 45 minutes to an hour. Room was large but bathroom was small. The bathroom mirror was hung so high that my wife (5 ft tall) could not use them without standing on a chair. Breakfast was meager and they ran out of croissants one day, even though we were at breakfast by 7:45. Hotel service depended on who was manning the desk, some were very helpful, one in particular was pretty dour.

Room Tip: If you are a large party, room 23 would suit you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hals88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

when you arrive if the street is full of garbage and trash. We were shocked, but it appears that is the nature of city sidestreets. The hotel is located inside a pretty, old building on the 2nd floor. the next day, the trash was all collected (thought I was in NYC!) The room was very nice, small, a great shower with really hot water, a fridge, hair dryer and wine cork!! There is a lovely patio with fountains where you can eat inc. breakfast of pastries and cerals, yogurt and fruits (inc. w/room). This area is open in the evening for sitting and enjoying a beer or wine, both sold there at the desk for 3 & 4 e's. the staff was very nice; however, they told me I owed for the room when I had prepaid 2 mos. earlier, A call to the manager and all was cleared. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suenew2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We returned because our first visit was so good . Things have changed rooms ( and we had 2) needing refurbishment. Customer service was still good and as best they could sorted out our complaints . We asked for a different room and it was provided. However, although the room was a little better, it still would have benefited from refurbishment. Bathrooms very grubby and just 1 electric point,not even convenient for hairdrying or charging ! This hotel is so conveniently placed for metro and Termini, but we will not be returning. We are sad about that.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mau19512003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The location of this hotel is great and the rooms were acceptable for the price. Our family had 3 rooms for 3 nights. When we were getting ready to check out, the person at the desk said that their credit card machine wasn't working and that we would have to pay in cash. This would have been very inconvenient and we refused. Then they said that the machine was working again (surprise!). This seems like a scam to get people to run to the ATM and withdraw large amounts of cash. I did not see any other reviewers that had this experience, maybe it was just a one time problem but I don't think I'll be staying at the Adler again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minorca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
7,112 reviews
Abemus in San Pietro
#1,553 of 3,782 in Rome
16 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#217 of 1,271 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#67 of 1,271 in Rome
1,484 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#456 of 1,271 in Rome
303 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#100 of 1,271 in Rome
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adler Hotel

Address: Via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #723 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $86 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Adler Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ADLER is a two stars hotel, situated in an elegant building which has been recently restored, in the heart of the historical centre of Rome, in a quiet and safe area. The Hotel is within walking distance from the most charming "Roman history areas" like Fontana di Trevi, Quirinale Presidential Palace, Piazza di Spagna, Colosseum, Foro Romano, Piazza Navona, Vaticano, Via Veneto and is well connected to many public transport routes like subway, taxi, buses and train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adler Hotel Rome
Adler Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing