We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Staff”
Review of Adler Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Adler Hotel
Ranked #744 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed in a triple room with my two teenaged children earlier this month. The staff was very nice and helpful. The front desk is staffed 24 hours, the hotel is in a safe and convenient area for sightseeing in Rome. They arranged for an early taxi when we checked out, and the wifi worked very well. The cappucino at breakfast was very nice.

My only complaint about the hotel is that the room was not very clean. Each of us had devices that needed charging. The outlets were behind heavy pieces of furniture that we had to move each time we needed to plug the chargers in. The biggest problem was that the area around the outlets was extremely dusty and kind of yucky, so it was very unpleasant each time we had to use them. I realize that in an older building the outlets can be in inconvenient locations, but it would be nice if it had been cleaner and not so dusty around them.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OliverHinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 181 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I used Adler as our home base for exploring Rome for 4 days in July 2012. Our selection of Adler was based on Rick Steves' recommendation, TripAdvisor reviews, and comparisons with other Rome hotels.

Two things stand out: First, the location is ideal - near the train station (Termini), a metro stop (Piazza Repubblica) and a bus stop (Repubblica). Second, the breakfasts were outstanding.

Two things were about average. The staff was friendly and helpful, although the language barrier was a bit difficult at times. The room was old, with a semi-comfortable bed, a small bathroom and shower, no English TV channels (not that it should matter), no dresser, and no safe. However, it was clean, relatively noise-free, cool (with the AC running constantly), and the staff accommodated wake-up calls and stored our valuables in their own safe.

We would recommend based on price and location, though we have no basis for comparison within Rome.

Room Tip: We stayed in 201, right next to the desk/breakfast area. Noise was not an issue, but I'd check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TSlats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Bruno & staff are very accommodating , caring & informative. It is like a home away from home.
The breakfast was good & cappuccino EXCELLENT! The room was clean & quiet. I felt very safe staying here & the location was excellent to bus, metro &
Termini Train Station. We will definitely
Return here again. Great hospitality. Thanks Bruno & staff. The shower could have been a little bigger but I do not know how they could do that.....very clean bathroom though.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Hotel is very close to the Metro and in a quiet neighborhood. Be wary of the vendor at the neighborhood fruit stand who is there all day into the late evening. We did not eat the included breakfast , as it was a hard roll, juice, and coffee. We walked from the train station to the hotel , but got lost. First visit, take a cab until you get your bearings.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josiestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We were three couples travelling Italy together, and were most happy with the accommodations at the Adler for the 3 nights we stayed. The rooms were clean, roomy, well-appointed and with comfortable beds. The staff was most accommodating, from the welcoming check-in to making recommendations and reservations for dinner to opening up the breakfast buffet a little earlier to accommodate our tour plans. The Adler's proximity to the Termini train station as well as to the Metro's Republicca stop made it a great home base from which to explore Rome. An added bonus was the little garden terrace off the breakfast room, where we enjoyed a glass of wine at the end of a busy day of sight-seeing. The only down-side for some might be that, like many of the hotels in this area, it is on the 3rd floor, but with the lift it was an easy matter to get the luggage up to the hotel level. After that, we appreciated the walk up and down the stairs to wear off some of the delicious food in which we'd been indulging!! Two excellent restaurants we tried that are within a 10 minute walk of the hotel were La Pentaluccia and Da Giovannis.

Room Tip: Our three rooms were on the street side, so the early morning garbage collection disturbed the sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I have previously written a positive review of this hotel's sister hotel, Bellesuite. However, I had booked the Bellesuite for one night at the end of our 3 week trip and for some reason Bruno stuck us in this dump. He did give us a 20 Euro refund, however as it turns out it wasn't nearly enough.

The air conditioner didn't work at all, the shower was tiny (anyone reasonably large person couldn't have fit), the shoiwer head was stopped up, the shower drained extremely slow and the bedspreads were torn and tattered.

Avoid this place!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cowboytack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We chose the Adler based on Rick Steves' recommendation. We took the Terravison bus from the airport (also a good choice) and walked the very easy 3 blocks from Termini to the hotel. Although we arrived quite early, our room was ready and we were able check in and to freshen up after our overnight flight. The front desk staff was extremely helpful, recommended a wonderful restaurant nearby, and greeted us warmly every time we left or returned. The breakfast was the best we had in our entire trip- delicious assortment of pastries and cereals, great cappucino, and a beautiful terrace to enjoy as we planned our day. The room not fancy at all, but was very clean and comfortable. We were able to control the temperature as there was an individual air conditioning unit. Great central location- we walked everywhere and never had to take a cab. The Adler is a good choice if you are traveling on a budget and want the personal touch that their staff provides

Room Tip: There only seemed to be 5 or 6 rooms. Ask for one at the far end of the hall, away from the entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4C's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#453 of 1,271 in Rome
299 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#6 of 1,271 in Rome
6,963 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#112 of 1,271 in Rome
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#223 of 1,271 in Rome
665 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#337 of 1,271 in Rome
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adler Hotel

Address: Via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #744 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $82 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Adler Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ADLER is a two stars hotel, situated in an elegant building which has been recently restored, in the heart of the historical centre of Rome, in a quiet and safe area. The Hotel is within walking distance from the most charming "Roman history areas" like Fontana di Trevi, Quirinale Presidential Palace, Piazza di Spagna, Colosseum, Foro Romano, Piazza Navona, Vaticano, Via Veneto and is well connected to many public transport routes like subway, taxi, buses and train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Adler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adler Hotel Rome
Adler Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing