We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful surprise”
Review of Hotel Philia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Philia
Ranked #1,120 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a beautiful surprise”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I Spent in this family-run hotel 3 days in November. The room was great, it was very clean and everything worked Well. The TV worked even if it has just italian channels, the wifi work properly, the heating was super and at the end of the Day I could take my shower in a Marble Jacuzzi shower... I really loved it!!!! the staff was great, they gave me a lot of good advices! I recomend it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Selene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    37
    36
    42
    80
See reviews for
37
83
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I only paid 40$ a night, but i still think this hotel sucks.. Its clean, but old, and nothing works.

We had cold water for 5 days and tv did not work.

The area is ok, but not great. Pretty far away from the attractions but close to the termini, main metro and bus station

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasper C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lolly89, Proprietario at Hotel Philia, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hello Mr Casper,
I'm very sorry for your experience but I'd like to remember you that you choosed a B&B and you arrived here, in a 3 stars, just because they had an overbooking. We hold your booking without changing conditions.
I can understand you were disappointed but we always try to offer to our guests the best service we can do! We immediately fixed the problem with the hot water.
We use to check the conditions of our rooms everyday to avoid inconvenience to the guests.
I hope to see you again in our hotel in order to change your opinion
Best Regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The pictures online of this hotel are completely different then the actual hotel. The area of the hotel is not great and definitely not safe after dark. Our rooms had no A/C, TV didn't work, and we had to have phones brought to our room. The cleaning staff spent a total of 5 minutes cleaning the room. You must be buzzed into your floor for security purposes. The doors to the third flood appear to have been broken through because the glass is shattered. This is not a family friendly hotel. Very Noisy, Smelly, and hot!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radstock
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Hotel Philia is in a reasonably central situation, just a few minutes from both the main railway station/Metro (Termini) and Metro (Castro Pretorio). The Metro is seemingly always crowded and one rarely gets a seat. However, a MetroBus ticket for a week only costs 24 euro. If you enjoy walking, then all major sites of interest are within fairly easy reach.

The building in which the hotel is situated has other hotels within but the security is pretty good with CCTV in various places and access to various parts of the hotel is governed by doors that are unlocked by reception when the door buzzer is pressed. The single lift can be a bit of a bind to wait for - it only caters for 2 people at a time.

Our room (402 on the 4th floor) was very clean (done every day), nice large comfortable bed, changes to bedding frequent, shower/toilet cramped but no problem with hot water. We were above the road Viale Castro Pretorio - traffic was noisy even with the windows firmly closed.

Breakfast (not a cooked one) was superb with plenty of choice. All staff were most pleasant and helpful. The bracket on which the shower head hung had broken but was fixed the next morning after reporting it.

Bars etc in the area are generally averagely priced - 3 to 5 euro for a half litre of lager, although we did find a basement wine bar quite close to the hotel which charged only 3 euro for a 66cl bottle of Peroni Nastro Azzurro.

Overall a wonderful week's holiday, certainly helped by Hotel Philia which we fully intend to use again.

Room Tip: Try to get close to the ground floor so that you don't have to rely on the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coffeeandjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lolly89, Proprietario at Hotel Philia, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Coffeandjuice,
We always try to do our best for our guests and we are really proud of ourselves when we read that you had a "splendid treatment".
Thank you for the kind words and I do hope to see you once again in the future if you ever decide to return to Rome.
Warmest regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Me and my girlfriend spent three nights at this basic and poor tasted lodging. We had the worst experience, especially from the service given. We did not have hot water in our shower and though we alerted the staff about it 4 times, nothing was done. Each time we were given a different excuse. At the last time the owner of the place explained us plainly that if we are the only one complaining then there must not be a problem, thus calling us liars. He didn't even gave us the courtesy of checking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eyal_nnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lolly89, Direttore at Hotel Philia, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
We usually use to trust to our guests and we also use to check if there is something wrong with the rooms or if they have a problem. We checked your room and there was the hot water, you and your girlfriend were the only two guest in the hotel to complain about that. We were fully-booked so we should think that probably the problem didn't exist. Nobody else complained about hot water!!!
We never accused a guest to be a liar. I'm very disasppointed. You also came here a lot of times asking for a special price or a discount, we gave you the best deal we had and you got all the service like breakfast, hot water and all the others that we use to give to our guest.
Regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Finding a decent hotel in Rome can be quite difficult. What we really like about Hotel Philia is its excellent location (near the train station and the Metro station Castro Pretorio). All mainstream attractions of the eternal city are easy to reach, but also less touristic places like our beloved "San Lorenzo" (the university's neighborhood http://www.feelhomeinrome.com/rome-blog/index.php/san-lorenzo/). Also the "Pizzeria del Secolo", in the same street, is probably one of the best to-go pizzerias in town. The hotel is not the Ritz, but if you are going to spend most of the time out of your room (as you should if you are in Rome!) it is quite OK. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is superb. So overall all you need for a comfy stay!

Room Tip: You can ask to see a couple of rooms in advance when you check-in. If the hotel is not full you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights as it was close to Termini Sation (300m). It is clearly a budget hotel and had many young people staying. Our room was clean and tidy, and the staff were very helpful. The breakfast that was included was excellent and was a great start to the day. It was relatively close to the major sites with the Colosseum a 20 minute walk away and the other sites all within walking distance. The Vatican was a 30 minute walk (We like walking as we see more)
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davo_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#918 of 1,256 in Rome
424 reviews
Esquilino
Ventura
Ventura
#1,098 of 1,256 in Rome
28 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cambridge
Hotel Cambridge
#767 of 1,256 in Rome
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#982 of 1,256 in Rome
315 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#705 of 1,256 in Rome
156 reviews
Hotel Baltic
#1,069 of 1,256 in Rome
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Philia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Philia

Property: Hotel Philia
Address: Via Palestro 88, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,120 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Philia 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Philia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing