We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its not that bad”
Review of Hostel Beauty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Beauty
Ranked #787 of 1,100 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Its not that bad”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This place ticked the boxes for out family trip to Rome to watch Scotland in the 6 nations. It was cheap and it was central. Once in the room the beds were comfortable and the room was clean and fresh.

The downside it the stiars leading to the hostel, which must not be owned by the hostel. There was obstructions on the stairs like scaffolding and buckets. There was also power cables hanging overhead. Walking up these stairs set the expectation of my family pretty low and gave me a sinking feeling that I had booked a dud.

Once you get into the receiption the feel its much better and the staff are excellent and went above the call of duty for our visit. this improved feeling was cemented in place with the clean, comfortable and airy room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captain_Chunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    39
    46
    33
    71
See reviews for
16
30
55
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Hostel Beautiful for five days over the New Years period of December 2010 to January 2011 and overall we found the quality of the hostel to be quite poor. It should be noted that we are not particularly picky travelers and Hostel Beautiful does have some redeeming factors, however I would certainly not choose to stay here again nor recommend it to friends. To start with the good, the location is excellent, situated no more than two minutes from Rome's major train station Roma Termini. The staff are also extremely friendly and were quick to help us out and make suggestions for our first visit to Rome. Unfortunately, this is where the good ends as the remainder of the hostel facilities are rather run down and the state of cleanliness questionable. Now, this alone would not be a deterrent to us as we were more than ready to deal with what is rather typical of low end Italian hostels. The real killer for Hostel Beautiful is that it was simply impossible to get a good sleep here - and this is the one major quality we really look for in a hostel.

We had booked ourselves into a twin room which ended up being located right next to reception. The room was quite spacious, if not sparse, and the bathroom was located at the opposite end of the hall meaning one would have to travel past reception every time they needed to use the bathroom. Again, this is no big deal, but hardly ideal. The biggest problem here are the beds which are truly the worst we've ever slept on. They were tiny, dingy little things with springs that slumped down deep in the middle causing horrible back pain. As if this were not enough, the mattress was very thin and broken springs dug sharply into our back. This alone would make it difficult to sleep, however the reception staff - friendly though they are - were unimaginably loud at all hours through the night, talking to one another as though they were located at opposite ends of the room. Obviously our proximity to reception couldn't have helped, but it would have been nice for them to be more conscientious from 12:00am onward.

The remainder of the facilities, as previously discussed, were all equally as run down and a bit grimy, however certainly still usable. The hostel is located on the second floor of the building, and it is worth noting that taking the stairs is possibly the best option as the lift looks extremely hazardous. The warmth of the staff definitely helps in a place like this.

The saving grace of this hostel is certainly it's location. Hostel Beautiful is only two minutes (if that) from Roma Termini station, offering connections to anywhere in Rome. The place is easy to find and you can even walk into the city center in about twenty minutes or so. With any luck, you might find as we did that the central location and beauty of the city is enough to forget about the terrible nights sleep you had just endured. Either way, looking back, it's surprising we managed a full five nights.

The bottom line is that Hostel Beautiful might just have been your average Italian hostel and even recommendable despite it's other flaws if it had just offered a good nights sleep. Perhaps we were just unlucky and ended up with the worst beds in the house. I can only hope that was the case. If you do manage to get yourself a good room, then this is a middle of the road, no-frills hostel, but a steal at the price range. It really comes down to whether or not it's worth the risk. In our opinion, we would have gladly traded a little extra money for a good nights sleep which, in the end, is all you really want out of a hostel. Until Hostel Beautiful upgrades its beds, however, I would not recommend this place to my friends.

Room Tip: If possible, ask not to be near reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Klaipeda, Lithuania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed at hostel Beautiful this autumn. The bathrooms were dirty and the hot shower was available only from 9 am. Nobody told us about that, of course. So we wasted some time. Besides, the water stream in one shower was very weak, you can't take a shower actually... They didn't give us any towels.

The lift was not working and we had to take our heavy luggage to the 3rd floor.

The only good thing about this hostel is its location. It is near Termini station.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ju r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

This hotel is located on the 2nd floor according to the website. But we had to walk (because the elevator isn't reliable: USE IT AT YOUR OWN RISK!) all the way to the 4th floor to get to our room.

Our bed was hairy (for a bald guy like me that's strange) and we needed to make up our bed ourselves.
The AC didn't work because we had no remote. When checking out the receptionist told us that we had to ask for the remote, but he didn't mention that when we checked in.
When checking in he was really unfriendly. We also couldn't see our room before payment. I think we were very lucky with the room after reading all the other reviews.

But the 'beautiful' thing about hotel Beauty is this: when checking out the receptionest was really really kind (is he shizofrenic???). And he begged us to write a good review about the hotel because there are so many bad reviews on the internet.

Now we know why!

Room Tip: Don't book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Raf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Rome isn't known for its great hostel, but this one isn't that bad at all! The room was okay-clean, the bathrooms not so much, but don't expect to much from Italy! The place is well situated, probably 25 minutes of walking to the city center. The staff was very friendly, especially the man who owns the place (he lended us his computer!!). There is a kitchen, but you can't really use it.... Overall it is a nice quiet place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emiliebolduc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

This is really a case of if you pay peanuts you get monkeys. We stayed here for 4 nights last september, paid a nice cheap rate and it was very basic accomodation - small rooms, very small rather grotty kitchen and slightly weird smelling loos - but it was well located near the central termini and in walking distance of pretty much most things in Rome. Don't be put off by the grimy staircase/hallway, the hostel rooms themselves are pretty clean and the staff welcoming. Very far from hotel standard but good basic hostel standard if you're a student/backpacker and we had a great trip anyway.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finbarjc421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stayed at this hostel for 2 nights, it's hard to call it a hostel when it seems more like a small hotel. We had a private room which was spacious and had a couch. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom updated (although the toilet was in the same space as the shower, but this kept it clean:) ). It is on a street where not much is happening but is only a 5-10min walk to the Coluseum so the location is not bad at all. Was a touch worried about reading some reviews regarding the staff but the ones we encountered were great, especially Solomon! Not sure what the dorm rooms were like but if you are going for a private room then overall I would recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparky2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Melting Pot Rome
Melting Pot Rome
#101 of 1,100 in Rome
67 reviews
Esquilino
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
#45 of 1,100 in Rome
990 reviews
Esquilino
Freedom Traveller Hostel
Freedom Traveller Hostel
#154 of 1,100 in Rome
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hostel Starlight
Hostel Starlight
#788 of 1,100 in Rome
56 reviews
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#14 of 1,100 in Rome
174 reviews
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#18 of 1,100 in Rome
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Beauty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Beauty

Property: Hostel Beauty
Address: Via Napoleone III 35, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #787 of 1,100 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Beauty 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Beauty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Beautiful Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing