We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Panda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Panda
Ranked #576 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't beat location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located right around the corner from the Spanish steps and on a street with some great little shops and restaurants. It's also perpendicular to Via di Corso, one of the main streets in Roma that leads to most of the attractions. I had a package delivered and the staff had no problem holding on to it for me. They also held our suitcases on our last day after we checked out so we could go to breakfast without carrying them with us. I would definitely return here again!

Side note: if you're facing the doors, the restaurant directly to your left is fantastic- the owner is adorable and loves to help you pick your meal. Gluten free pasta option as well!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    193
    60
    23
    11
See reviews for
87
187
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I'm a little sky-blu bunny glob trotter:
London and Paris , then Rome!

So I stay at Pensione Panda, in the heart of Rome: Via della Croce is just near Piazza di Spagna.
I found this little hotel many years ago.
It's tiny, clean and nice but also not expensive, and then -last but not least- it's SAFE!!!!

Infact I had a bad experience in a chip bad hotel in the heart of Paris ( see my last review about that) where I have been robbed of some clothes were locked up in my room in the closet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
No assistance from the management (sure of the “absolute reliability” of own staff).
I have got nothing else that an invitation to report the matter to the police (ABSURD! being in Paris three days to see Eifel tower and Louvre and then spending a day at the police station.
This has been the worst experience in my traveller life.)
So I worried something alike also in Rome..
Instead in Rome there is this tiny and nice "Pensione Panda": it is perfect for me.
I know this place since many years and doesnt't never get me disappointed.
It's ok! Signed: Puni Puniglietto

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Very good location near the Spanish steps , Piazza del
Popolo and Villa Borghese.
My room was small and clean with a double bed ideal for a single traveller and shared bathroom is very small . I had a very quiet back bedroom . One thing is there is no lift and on the 2nd floor .
Excellent value for money .

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willington, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is exactly what we were looking for; cheap clean room that slept two. We upgraded to have our own bathroom which in our opinion was well worth it. We didn't want to pay a lot for a room because we were in Rome, we wanted to spend our money and time out exploring the city. The location was perfect, short walk to the Spanish Steps and many great restaurants. The metro station is located next to the Spanish Steps which made traveling to all the city sites that much easier. Free Wi-Fi was great for looking up reviews of local restaurants and we even had a TV in the room which we weren't expecting. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom wasn't anything special but worked perfectly for what we needed. The only downfall was that breakfast was not included, but we just grabbed something from the café next door. Definitely will be staying here again and would recommend to anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was our second stay at the Panda (first was in 2010). The price was the highest we paid on our current trip (covering Rome, Barcelona, Paris, the Riviera, Bordeaux and Provence) but it was still only 108 Euros for a great hotel in the center of Rome. Even so, we still averaged $100 US per night for the month.
The Panda is in a great location; you can walk everywhere: Forum, Colosseum, Vatican, Travestre area, Spanish Steps, Pantheon and Trevi Fountain
There is an elevator but you need to go up a short flight to get to it and it still leaves you a short flight to the hotel entrance. So pack light, like you should. The stairs work fine if you don't like small elevators
Both trips we had rooms overlooking the street in front of the hotel. It is primarily a pedestrian street but cabs can get you to the hotel (or close enough). There is a little noise in the morning from the street cleaning, etc. but it's a small price to pay for being able to lean out the window and watch people walk, eat and mingle. Plus you could close the window, I guess. We like to keep them open to feel that we are a small part of the city.
The staff was excellent as always. They speak English and helped us get a car each time to take us to the cruise port.
We had room 31 (I think). It was great for the two of us plus it had a small loft up with a single bed that we used to store our luggage but would be great for a small family.

Room Tip: our room had a nice loft with a single bed in addition to the double bed. might have been room 31...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nimbin2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel in a fantastic location. One minute from everything. It's true there are stairs but they are comfortable and there is a lift. Loved the quasi renaissance sculpture in the bathroom. Rooms a good size. Felt like discovering a terrific secret.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

In the years I have been visiting Rome I have stayed at Hotel Panda three times. The only reason I have not stayed more often was that I was unable to get a room at the time I was going to be in Rome. As other reviewers have said, Panda is a buget hotel in the historic centre of Rome, close to the Spagna Metro and surrounded by bars, restaurants and markets in and around Piazza di Spagna. "Budget" does not mean the staff don't look after you - they do. Every time I have stayed there I have found the manager and the team welcoming, accommodating and helpful. The rooms are clean and well looked after. Panda is a hotel for the serious traveller looking for a quiet and comfortable space in this lively city. Short of something terrible happening, I will be staying at Panda on my next visit to Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with bathroom facing the inner courtyard if you want a more quiet space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#285 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Forte
Hotel Forte
#250 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Palace
Condotti Palace
#510 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
#409 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Katty
Hotel Katty
#505 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#282 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panda

Property: Hotel Panda
Address: Via della Croce 35, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in Rome
#330 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Panda 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pensione PANDA is one of the most well established within the center of Rome occupying two floors in a 19-th century building only 50 metres from the Spanish Steps. Due to its enviable location, clients of Pensione PANDA are able to visit on foot all the historic attractions of Rome, moreover they can take advantage of the wide range of high-fashion boutiques, excellent restaurants, cafès and bakeries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Panda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Panda Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing