We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfy and a good value”
Review of Hotel Panda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Panda
Ranked #594 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, comfy and a good value”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I am still amazed at how affordable Hotel Panda was. We were close to everything, had AC, our own bathroom, balcony overlooking the courtyard and friendly service. It was a nice respite from the hot, crowded Roman streets and really felt like a home away from home.

This was our best hotel experience in Italy. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in room 35 and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ValtotheJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    194
    60
    24
    12
See reviews for
91
188
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Panda for 3 nights at end of July 2012 based on a friend's recommendation. We arrived early morning after a long-haul flight. Our room was not yet ready when we arrived so they kindly kept our luggage while they cleaned the room. They told us it would only be about 30min and suggested we go for breakfast at a nearby cafe. The room was ready when we returned and they had already put our luggage in the room.

There is a lift in the building but only services every other floor and not from the ground level. So you need to carry your luggage up/down a number of stairs. Be warned the lift is tiny!

Our room was at the very end of the corridor facing a back courtyard. It was surprisingly spacious (we expected it to be tiny based on other reviews) with a double bed as well as additional single bed and ensuite. There was plenty of room around the bed, plus a table and chair as well as wardrobe. The bathroom was small but adequate. The room was cool and very quiet as there were double-glazed windows, shutters and aircon.

The room does not include breakfast and we found the best option to be Don Chisciotte - just downstairs on the corner (this is not the cafe that Panda offers vouchers for). Excellent coffee and pastries for just $2.30 Euro when you stand at the bar. The other gem on via della Croce is the gelato and tirimisu cafe, Pompi.

The location is excellent, an easy walking distance to everything Rome has to offer. Staff (especially Mel) were very helpful in making suggestions and also calling to reserve restaurants. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Request for a room overlooking the back courtyard - very quiet and good airflow from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gogohonkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

perfect location, cheap for being in central Rome...
Friendly and helpful staff.
Very small but good enough rooms.
Good aircondition,
Quiet but central location, walking distance to most attractions.
Shower was the only thing to complain about- low waterpressure,
but ok...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svein L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I laughed when I walked the room I’d been given. It was TINY. Like a piece of corridor with a bed only just fitted into it. Thank goodness for a window alcove so I had somewhere to place my bag. No that’s not entirely fair – there was a perfectly adequate wardrobe as well, several coat hooks and a handy table. The long shelves above the bed were also handy.

But I got quite used to my little room and found it clean, comfy bed, not cold (it being early spring), and peaceful – with the exception of a neighbour who yelled angrily at her husband every morning with stunning regularity. (Only once did I hear him answer back sullenly, and boy did he cop it.) The bathroom was overly small and at one stage I thought I had jammed the shower door while in the shower. That could have been awkward.

But the good things made my 6 night stay most worthwhile. The friendly reception staff; the excellent free WiFi which I took great advantage of in my room; the discounted breakfast voucher at D’Angelo downstairs (best blood orange juice ever, and most enjoyably surly waiter); and oh my goodness, the LOCATION. It was too amazing to have the Spanish Steps just up the road. Very handy to the metro, and to boutique window shopping, and a good mid-city point to set off exploring in any direction.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed in this little hotel for 4 nights.
Pros:
1. Location: very close to Spanish steps and metro station Spagna. This gives you a liberty of going back tot the hotel if feeling tired (the temp was above 36 degrees when we travelled). The shopping street Via del Corso is a stone's throw away and lot f restaurants in the lane of this note
Are open till late. So you can catch a bite any time of the day.
2. Price: for given location the price is really modest.
3. Good staff. A guy named Mel at the reception was really nice.
4. Air conditioner
5. Cleanliness

Cons:
1. Bad smell in the toilet
2. Very bad sound isolation: you can actually hear you neighbors or people on the street speaking. Can be disturbing at night.
3. Really small bathroom. A hand shower could have been helpful.
4. Virtually useless elevator. (count as if it's not there)

Overall a good choice for backpackers but not for family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaushik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Never mind worrying about the name; its in a brilliant location and its cheap.
We spent a couple of nights in a tiny tiny ensuite room with no room to swinging the cat. But it was fit for purpose, clean and quiet.
The staff are surly but harmless.
Theres great coffees at café downstairs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Woodinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We have been to Rome twice and both times stayed at Panda.. last time we travelled with an infant... this place has an incredible location and makes up for the fact that the rooms are small. But the rooms are clean and the staff are friendly..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#297 of 1,256 in Rome
268 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Forte
Hotel Forte
#289 of 1,256 in Rome
748 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Palace
Condotti Palace
#524 of 1,256 in Rome
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
iRooms Spanish Steps
iRooms Spanish Steps
#482 of 1,256 in Rome
261 reviews
Campo Marzio
Suite Condotti 29 A.C. Hotels S.r.l.
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#315 of 1,256 in Rome
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panda

Property: Hotel Panda
Address: Via della Croce 35, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in Rome
#330 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Panda 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pensione PANDA is one of the most well established within the center of Rome occupying two floors in a 19-th century building only 50 metres from the Spanish Steps. Due to its enviable location, clients of Pensione PANDA are able to visit on foot all the historic attractions of Rome, moreover they can take advantage of the wide range of high-fashion boutiques, excellent restaurants, cafès and bakeries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Panda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Panda Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing