We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the best value for money"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa San Pio
Ranked #83 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Maybe the best value for money"”
Reviewed May 25, 2010

This is certainly one of the best budget-hotels I stayed in in Rome. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated. The location is wonderful, peaceful and quiet, nothing indicates that you're only a few minutes afway from the city center. The continental breakfast is good, the food is tasteful and there's plenty of it. This hotel delivers everything I expect in this budget, but the real gem is the staff. They're extremely friendly and helpfull, every request is kindly fullfilled (as long as you keep it decent that is).

Would I reccomend this hotel? You bet I would.

Johan

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan_1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    463
    72
    17
    13
See reviews for
293
583
50
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We recently stayed at the Villa San Pio for a full two weeks. A very decent value given Rome’s high prices. While it’s a bit of hike to the nearest Metro station, the trade-off is getting to stay in an upscale residential and relatively quiet (for Rome) neighborhood. The grounds were pretty, our room nice, the staff largely (see below) friendly and helpful, and the guests-only restaurant decent. My only criticisms would be (a) the WiFi in the lobby worked fine, but we could never get it to function in our room (possibly due to our own technical inadequacies), (b) the continental breakfast was fine, but it was literally the same every day, and (c) the night clerk was a bit gruff. All in all, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbirkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We stayed here for three nights in May 2010. It is in a great location close to the Colloseum and in a very nice, fairly quiet neighborhood. You can walk to all major attractions. The room was pretty big for Europe and ours had a huge terrace. Bathroom was big and updated. Bed was big but a bit hard for my tastes. Breakfast was included and was good-continental type. The staff was helpful and friendly. They have a car that will take you to the airport for Euro 55 which we used as it was an early flight. Taxis from airport to center are fixed price Euro 60 and to airport from center are Euro 40. Taxis to major attractions if you don't want to walk are not too bad from the hotel-E10- E20 I would say. I would stay here again in a second. The neighborhood doesn't have alot of traffic going past it and there are many restaurants within a 10-15 minute walk. The place is a bit pricey but that's Rome and you can't beat the location and cleanliness. If you have your own laptop internet is free but if you use their computer it's Euro 5 per hour which is robbery.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

We just returned from 9 days in Italy and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. It was so quiet and peaceful (in contrast to where we stayed in Florence, where we had to wear ear plugs). We had a room with a balcony and a beautiul marble bathroom. (Hair dryer was weak, bring your own if you have long or thick hair!) The breakfast was by far the best, with ample amounts of protein. And a beautiful garden room or patio to eat on. As other reviewers have noted, it is a bit hard to find. We did alot of walking!! Used bus #23 to get to the Vatican but did not have much luck finding the bus back late at night, so walked. Call or email early to get the best deal. We booked in March for the end of April and paid 224 E for the first night, and 165 E for the second night (triple room). The gal at reception said they change their rates weekly, and if they are filling up they charge a higher rate. Enjoy!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WAneedsumsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

This hotel was a real 'find'. It is in a peaceful location on the Aventino hill, close to the Colosseum and Forum and with stunning views from the hilltop over the Tiber and Vatican.
The hotel is a series of magnificent villas interspersed by tranquil gardens. The service was excellent and the restaurant a delight. I stayed during the 'volcanic ash' flight disruption and had to book 2 extra nights after checking out. This was no problem and the hotel was able to rebook me with minimum fuss.
If I go back to Rome, this is where I will stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

You will be fine at the Hotel Villa San Pio and on top of that you will be very happy. We were stuck in the ash cloud scenario leaving Lake Como and were scheduled to be flying through Munich. We made the call to go to Rome and got hooked with this hotel. At 150 Euros, it is not cheap...but nothing in Rome is. If you want cheap...you'll get it because Rome is like NYC and every other major city in the world where it is going to be expensive.

What you get for 150 Euros is:

1. VERY good and friendly service. In the midst of this ridiculous ash cloud fiasco (the airlines want to fly and have proven they can and Eurocontrol is trying to do something bizarre), the staff here is dealing with people leaving, coming back, booking and not being able to show up...yet they are still friendly, helpful and informative without being frustrated t all.

2. Location: Wanna walk to the Forum? Check. Wanna walk to the Colosseum? Check. Wanna walk to Trastevere? Check. The Avantine is a GREAT neighborhood and it's quiet and you can get anywhere. Not for everyone, but we also walked to The Vatican, and as far as Piazza Poppolo and the Spanish Steps. Great location.

3. Rooms: Clean. Clean. And Clean. With great beds, and decent space for a European hotel.

All in, this is absolutely a place I would recommend and would have no problem sending almost anyone here (don't end your friends that have no issue paying Four Seasons type pricing here. It's not that you can't...you could and most would find the place just fine. But don't expect Rita, Four Seasons at a place like this.) What you are getting is way above the star rating the San Pio has probably received.

Awesome breakfast. For Americans this probably big deal. Yep, unbelievably...it's free (like most rates in Europe it includes breakfast) and it's pretty solid. Yogurt, fresh fruit, juices...plenty of water (something that is hard to get in Europe) and the rest of the pastry family.

BONUS: If you are a runner, there is a great run from here that takes you through the Avantine and out towards the Forum and up to the Colosseum. Really good 30-60 minute runs from this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44cuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Well - - I created the phrase "When in Rome I chose only to stay at the Villa San Pio" ! That was after my 3rd or 4th time staying here - last year. I have just spent 5 nights at the San Pio and I am happy to report that the standards are still high, the leafy location superb and the staff most helpful and attentive ! I still love it ! Oh - and the breakfasts remain varied and plentiful. The breakfast coffee - dark and rich ! And nobody minds when I sneak a sweet croissant from the warmer, on departing breakfast - to have with my 11am coffee at work ! And the added bonus since my last trip - the Internet (cable supplied) is now free !

Special mention to staff member "Rita". I arrived late on a wet and cold Sunday night. And was put in room 302 that resembled a "honeymoon suite" being a massive ?king? size bed and very little floor space ! Next morning, on request to the lovely Rita, I was moved to room 285 - largish single bed and lots of room - so I can work at the desk, with garden views ! She was so helpful - finding me a room where I could sleep well AND work. Lovely lady.

There have been a few negative comments re surly staff. I find them all ever-attentive and ever-smiling. From cleaners to desk staff to concierges. Always there at the gate - to give a big "hello" or "goodbye". Never a surly one to be found !

So - I will be back, as soon as possible to continue monitoring this gem of a hotel. This trip - it scored 4.5 out of 5, in my estimation ! Thanks - the Villa San Pio !

The cat

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C-for
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#59 of 1,261 in Rome
960 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#40 of 1,261 in Rome
1,157 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa San Pio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa San Pio

Property: Hotel Villa San Pio
Address: Via di Santa Melania 19, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Rome
#62 Family Hotel in Rome
#69 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa San Pio 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa San Pio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Pio
San Pio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing