We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel in quiet area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa San Pio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa San Pio
Ranked #93 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in quiet area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

A delightful hotel on the Aventine. Street is very quiet but hotel called for taxis and we never waited more than five minutes. Close to Circus Maximus and Pyramid Metro stations as well as many buses.Walkable to sights and Trastevere. Many restaurants within ten minute walk.
Service was good and desk very helpful. The breakfast area is delightful and would be even prettier in the warmer months (outside tables). It also serves as a bar in the evening. It is one of three hotels in a group and I suspect they would all be good options.
Only downside is the room was due for an update and the shower a bit shabby but it was all functional and charming and didn't bother us.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet.There is a quad available(queen bed and two twins) which is rare in Italy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuball12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear guest,
we would like to give you a special thanks for your positive and nice review about our hotel!
We are very glad to learn that you manage to discover our strongest points: the perfect location, the kind service and the charming atmosphere. Sorry to know you had a problem with the shower and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced with it! We wait for your next return in the Eternal City and in the meantime we wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    435
    69
    16
    12
See reviews for
260
549
47
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

If you like your hotel in Rome to look like a converted villa, with all the gentility and quirks that go along with this (staff who wear uniforms, a Venetian tapestry on your bedroom wall, shutters that don’t quite shut, bedspreads from the 1970s), the Villa San Pio is the hotel for you. Gorgeously located in the tree-filled hills and quiet streets of Aventino, the ambience is more like an elegant suburban B&B than a 3-star hotel, but in a good way – it combines the virtues of both. The floorboards no longer creak and the bathrooms have been updated. I seem to recall it used to be known as the ‘San Pio Annex’, designed to accommodate spill-over business from the nearby San Anselmo Hotel, but it has grown into a mature hotel with its own distinctive character.

Breakfast is in a lovely location – a glass conservatory overlooking the beautifully maintained garden – with prompt service, though the quality and diversity of the breakfast buffet never seem to quite live up to the surroundings. There is also a patio in the garden with metal tables and chairs or, when it’s cold and wet, a lounge area with solid wooden furniture where newspapers are available in 3-4 languages and coffee (Americano, cappuccino, espresso, macchiato...) can be ordered while you peruse the news.

The Villa San Pio has a special deal with the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organisation, whose headquarters is a brisk 10-minute walk away, so the hotel tends to be populated by consultants and delegates attending global conferences about – well, food and agriculture. Nonetheless, it is still charming and quintessentially Italian enough to be a good choice for couples on a romantic break in the Eternal City.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dromedaryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your generous feedback about our property on the Aventino hill!!
The Hotel Villa San Pio is infact a converted villa and you can easily feel the atmosphere of past time and is surrounded by antique fornitures, golden chandelier and historical pictures of ancient Rome..in a exclusive and elegant leafy neighborhood!!
I am glad you enjoyd our delicious breakfast in our conservatory, where is fantastic to start the day in a peaceful and relaxed ambience before getting in the busy and fashinating city..and the service of our professional and attentive Staff!!!
We really hope you can enjoy again in the nearest future the charme and hospitality of our hotel..!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

This hotel is located in the beautiful area of Aventino - a short trip or long stroll in to central rome. Perfect for those who want to stay somewhere quiet. Pretty garden setting and the service is excellent - lovely, professional people. The only drawback - the bed was too hard and uncomfortable. But, I still highly recommend and very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StKildaCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,
we are so happy to know you enjoyed the peace and quietness of our garden, our service and the romantic decor of our property. A little disappointed though, you didn't let us know about the unconfortable matress because we could have easily provided, with no trouble at all, a matress softner for your comfort and for a good night sleep.
We are looking forward for your next visit and for holiday season!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We spend 6 nights at hotel san Pio in Rome this July and we had a great time. it is a beautiful hotel with a special garden that gives it a romantic touch. Every morning we had our breakfast in the garden and it was fabulous. aventino, the area where the hotel is, is very close to colosseum and the Forum Romana on food but also to many other areas such as Trastevere with its nice shops and restaurants.
We had a great time at Hotel San Pio and we would definitely stay there when back to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mp74523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for this wonderful review about our property, it is such a pleasure for all of us to learn you had a wonderful experience and especially you were able to enjoy the magic of the Aventino hill and our lush garden during the summer holidays.
We are looking forward for your next visit to the Eternal City and we can't wait to pamper you again in our romantic hotel Villa San Pio.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here in late October 2013. The staff was great, from the desk staff who helped us find a store to buy clothes and lent us an electric converter (luggage lost at Rome airport overnight), to the breakfast crew (who noticed one morning when we came in later than usual), to the cleaning crew who left sweet grazie notes for our tip. The residential location is a respite from the hordes of tourists visiting the Eternal City. The quiet at night was amazing for a city the size of Rome, and we left the windows open at night. Would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesmusic91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear guest from California,
thank you so much for this review! We are very glad that you enjoyed all our staff kindness and courtesy from the reception desk to the bar and the housekeeping department. Moreover we are very pleased that you loved our enviable location, like an oasis in Rome, so peaceful and relaxing.
We are really excited for your next coming to Rome!!!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I loved our late September/early October 2013 stay at the Hotel Villa San Pio in Rome. We were greeted at check-in by a helpful attendant who carried bags and gave us chilled juice as the English-speaking check-in person handled our reservation with swift competence. The staff is top notch: carefully attentive, English-speaking, full of useful advice on public transportation, and catering to us with cheerful enthusiasm. Our room was spacious with private bath and a very large balcony overlooking a quiet, leafy street. Of particular note are the beautiful breakfast room and garden, where one can enjoy breakfast outdoors. Drinks are available there in the evenings, which makes a pleasant end to a busy day. Our drinks server (Agapito) was particularly helpful with good service and transportation information. The hotel is also wonderfully located, just 15 minutes walk out the door to the left to major attractions (Circo Massimo, the Colosseum, the Forum) and 10 minutes walk out the door to the right to a wonderful public transportation (buses and subway). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnicksMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
we really appreciated your lovely words regarding our Hotel Villa San Pio and above all, our Staff..
We always take care of our guests in order to make their stay smooth and pleasant.
Moreover our hotel location enriches the Roman experience of everyone..!!
We wish you to come and enjoy our beautiful Rome very soon in our Hotel Villa San Pio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#63 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#48 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#76 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Villa Pirandello
#100 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#92 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa San Pio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa San Pio

Property: Hotel Villa San Pio
Address: Via di Santa Melania 19, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Rome
#62 Family Hotel in Rome
#69 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa San Pio 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa San Pio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Pio
San Pio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing