We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty and peaceful in garden setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa San Pio
Ranked #90 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty and peaceful in garden setting.”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This hotel is located in the beautiful area of Aventino - a short trip or long stroll in to central rome. Perfect for those who want to stay somewhere quiet. Pretty garden setting and the service is excellent - lovely, professional people. The only drawback - the bed was too hard and uncomfortable. But, I still highly recommend and very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StKildaCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,
we are so happy to know you enjoyed the peace and quietness of our garden, our service and the romantic decor of our property. A little disappointed though, you didn't let us know about the unconfortable matress because we could have easily provided, with no trouble at all, a matress softner for your comfort and for a good night sleep.
We are looking forward for your next visit and for holiday season!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    453
    70
    16
    13
See reviews for
275
569
49
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We spend 6 nights at hotel san Pio in Rome this July and we had a great time. it is a beautiful hotel with a special garden that gives it a romantic touch. Every morning we had our breakfast in the garden and it was fabulous. aventino, the area where the hotel is, is very close to colosseum and the Forum Romana on food but also to many other areas such as Trastevere with its nice shops and restaurants.
We had a great time at Hotel San Pio and we would definitely stay there when back to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mp74523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for this wonderful review about our property, it is such a pleasure for all of us to learn you had a wonderful experience and especially you were able to enjoy the magic of the Aventino hill and our lush garden during the summer holidays.
We are looking forward for your next visit to the Eternal City and we can't wait to pamper you again in our romantic hotel Villa San Pio.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here in late October 2013. The staff was great, from the desk staff who helped us find a store to buy clothes and lent us an electric converter (luggage lost at Rome airport overnight), to the breakfast crew (who noticed one morning when we came in later than usual), to the cleaning crew who left sweet grazie notes for our tip. The residential location is a respite from the hordes of tourists visiting the Eternal City. The quiet at night was amazing for a city the size of Rome, and we left the windows open at night. Would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesmusic91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear guest from California,
thank you so much for this review! We are very glad that you enjoyed all our staff kindness and courtesy from the reception desk to the bar and the housekeeping department. Moreover we are very pleased that you loved our enviable location, like an oasis in Rome, so peaceful and relaxing.
We are really excited for your next coming to Rome!!!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I loved our late September/early October 2013 stay at the Hotel Villa San Pio in Rome. We were greeted at check-in by a helpful attendant who carried bags and gave us chilled juice as the English-speaking check-in person handled our reservation with swift competence. The staff is top notch: carefully attentive, English-speaking, full of useful advice on public transportation, and catering to us with cheerful enthusiasm. Our room was spacious with private bath and a very large balcony overlooking a quiet, leafy street. Of particular note are the beautiful breakfast room and garden, where one can enjoy breakfast outdoors. Drinks are available there in the evenings, which makes a pleasant end to a busy day. Our drinks server (Agapito) was particularly helpful with good service and transportation information. The hotel is also wonderfully located, just 15 minutes walk out the door to the left to major attractions (Circo Massimo, the Colosseum, the Forum) and 10 minutes walk out the door to the right to a wonderful public transportation (buses and subway). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnicksMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
we really appreciated your lovely words regarding our Hotel Villa San Pio and above all, our Staff..
We always take care of our guests in order to make their stay smooth and pleasant.
Moreover our hotel location enriches the Roman experience of everyone..!!
We wish you to come and enjoy our beautiful Rome very soon in our Hotel Villa San Pio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Me and my husband stayed one week in this lovely and calm villa located a few steps from the city centre. We had our breakfast in the garden every morning while reading the papers, the staff was friendly and helpful and our room was finely decorated. Defenetely a spot to remember And to suggest.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Mrs.Dominique,
thank you so much for your kind words posted on Tripadvisor.!!
I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.. relaxing yourself in the garden, reading the papers.!! The first good step to start the new day..
I really appreciate your comment about the friendliness of my team..and they are so proud to hear that their efforts have been highlighted..!!
We wish a lovely autumn, hoping to see you soon for your next trip in Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Returned to this quiet hotel in leafy Aventino for second time last week with a friend for short trip. As I remembered, the room was comfortable and elegant and it was nice to return from crowded sights to somewhere calm and relaxing.
The staff are knowledgeable and helpful and a special mention for the lovely man who chased up the coat I had left in a taxi.
Sorry that they have stopped serving dinner but the recommendations offered were all up to the mark; authentic places full of character and serving tasty and good food to meet all tastes, within walking distance of the hotel.
My friend was equally charmed by the San Pio and we will both return in the future.

Room Tip: I would go for a room on third or fourth floor for views across the city and to reduce risk of chatt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for such a positive review about Hotel Villa San Pio.!!
We are so delighted you enjoyed the fabulous Aventino hill, an oasis of calm surrounded by ruins of ancient Rome all within the hustle and bustle of this vibrant city.!!
Please do let us know when your travels bring you back to the eternal city..the entire team and I would be delighted to welcome you back again.!!
In the meantime we wish you a very fabulous autumn and remain..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#64 of 1,257 in Rome
945 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#41 of 1,257 in Rome
1,146 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Villa Pirandello
#91 of 1,257 in Rome
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa San Pio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa San Pio

Property: Hotel Villa San Pio
Address: Via di Santa Melania 19, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Rome
#62 Family Hotel in Rome
#69 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa San Pio 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa San Pio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Pio
San Pio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing