We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming old Rome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa San Pio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villa San Pio
Ranked #92 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming old Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel is traditional but well-appointed and air-conditioning in a charming quiet area of rome. We wrre travelling with a car and this was accommodated without difficulty. The hotel has a quiet cool garden for a drink and breakfast. There is no restuarant, but it is close to the Testaccio quarter which has a wide range of places to eat and drink, as well as the renowned delicatessen, Volpetti. The express bus (30) to the centre of Rome goes from Via Marmorata at the bottom of the hill. Contrary to other reviews the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank True1453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor community.!
Reading your nice words about our Hotel Villa San Pio, we are happy to know that you appreciated all your stay in our special roman villa.
Hoping for your pleasant summer break, we will wait you as a precious guest for another trip in the eternal city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    433
    69
    16
    12
See reviews for
259
549
47
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Beautiful room and good breakfast. Walking distance to major touristattractions and also the less known gastronomical area of Testaccio. Only drawback is the lack of friendliness in the reception - they deal with you fast enough, but without smile or charm.
Great value though!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Katrin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thanks for appreciating the room and nice buffet breakfast. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the area and surroudings.

Sorry to know that the front desk could not dedicate more time to be friendly with you. I apologize for this and I'll take the necessary actions to improve the behavior of the concierge.

Thank you and we look forward to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My review reflects the positive remarks made by most reviewers so far. I'd just like to make a few further points regarding the position of the hotel and the front of house management. The first of which is only a problem if you want to be close to the main sites/sights, the second because it wasn't in keeping with what I would consider acceptable protocol.

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a trip to Croatia. We loved the position because we like exploring on foot and this was a perfect place to do so. Each day we set off for the whole day and at the end got a taxi back to the hotel for a very small cost. We ate out locally each night, which was a bit hit and miss, so I wouldn't go so far as recommending anywhere to eat.

The room was lovely and we had a large terrace balcony to sit out and enjoy the garden views in the early morning and evening. Just what I'd hoped for. The bed was rock hard which I don't mind but by the 3rd night I felt as though I'd been stretched on a rack.

I only had 3 dealing with the front reception, on check in and check out and once when I needed change for a taxi. Each time it was simply functional, not a smile or word other than to complete the transaction. What threw me on check in was the remark by the gentleman at reception that the "boy" would be along shortly to deal with the bags. I imagined a youngster picking up some holiday work but no, the "boy" was a mature man of Asian descent, as we're all the workers in the hotel. Very poor taste San Pio. Your staff made our stay comfortable and welcoming, unlike your front of house staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room. If you want a twin room, specify or you'll end up with double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulajoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thanks for taking time to write a positive review about our hotel VILLA S. PIO. We are all happy that you appreciated the neighborhood and the nice room with terrace assigned for you during the stay.
Sorry to know that you did not fin
d the front desk friendly and welcoming, but only efficient. I sincerely, regret for it, but, sometimes, they are quite concentrated in solving important and delicate issues such as missing passports, flight itinerary changes, lost baggage’s during clients’ checkout time, which requires a lot of time and attention, this makes them very functional, lacking some spontaneity.
The fact, that the concierge called his colleague boy, instead of gentleman, it’s definitely, not lack of attention or lacking respect towards him, but simply a distraction, not noticing the change of the shift between one porter and the other. Believe me, that there’s lot of mutual respect, collaboration and the atmosphere between the staff is very friendly and pleasant.
Anyhow, we hope to have again as our guest in our hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Nestled within a quiet residential area close to the centre of Rome Hotel Villa San Pio is an excellent choice for visiting the main attractions and Vatican City by foot.
The service by staff is excellent and amply breakfast to set you up for a busy day visiting Romes famous landmarks.
The rooms are of good standard and free parking is offered.
For the money this is a great Hotel and is highly recommended if you are thinking of visiting Rome. I would certainly not hesitate to return to this Hotel in the future.
Many thanks to Sergio (waiter/porter) for being fabulous, he greeted us with a cold drink on arrival and escorted us to our room, his customer service skills were excellent, well done!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bungalowliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the nice words about our Hotel Villa San Pio.
We’re glad you found the staff excellent.! We like to work in this way, making feel the guests at home. Sergio and we the staff are very proud about your nice words: we try everyday to do our best, keeping high the quality service, with the satisfaction of our guests.!
Thank you for recommending our Hotel Villa San Pio, so don’t hesitate.! We will wait for you again for another unforgettable trip in the eternal city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
92 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hotel Villa San Pio is situated in Aventine, one of Rome’s seven hills. It is a quiet residential area with beautiful, large houses in ochre and terracotta colours, brightly coloured bougainvillea vines, and umbrella pine trees, which give shade. The Pyramid metro station is a 10 minutes’ walk. The hotel consists of three buildings in a pleasant garden. My wife and I stayed in a spacious room, furnished in old Italian style. It was good to have air conditioning, which we used in the hot afternoons. The room had T.V., but we could not find any English news channels on the T.V. There is internet access in the rooms, but no Wi-Fi, and therefore, we could not use an iPad. There is Wi-Fi in the restaurant area, but slow, under 1Mbps. The breakfast is delicious, and the breakfast area is very charming and cosy. The service is fine, and the staff friendly. My wife left in the early morning, and since I left in the evening, I was happy to get a late checkout.

We had one disappointment in this beautiful hotel. One morning, the bathroom sink fell to the floor. We reported this to the receptionist who seemed to be confused. Could the sink be repaired on a Saturday? And if so, when could it be used again? Should we get another room? We were not offered another room, and not before late at night were we able to use the sink.

We like this hotel, and can recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Mr Thilsted,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor community.!
We are very happy you appreciated our Hotel Villa San Pio and the good atmosphere that you found here.
We are glad you enjoyed the delicious breakfast in the garden and generally you appreciated the good service of the Staff. you were completely in touch with it.!
We are sorry about the incident with the sink in the bathroom and that we were not ready to solve the problem quickly to avoid you inconveniences. The Hotel was full that night so we couldn’t move you to a different room. We sincerely apologize if the maintenance team took time repair it.
We hope in the future to have you again in our Hotel Villa San Pio, for your next trip to the eternal city.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pretoria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The location may not be in the centre of everything but if you enjoy peace and quiet, this is a winner. Rooms are big enough for families. Décor might be slightly overdone but the bathroom facilities are good. Beds aren't too comfortable. Breakfasts are good. Reception staff have a bit of attitude which is the only negative part of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawry-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Mr Lawry,
Thank you so much for recommending our hotel to those guests who are looking for peace and quiet away from roman caos. It’s a pity, though, you didn’t have the chance to experience the warmth of our front desk staff that are usually very friendly, helpful and try hard to make one feel comfortable and at home.
Thank you for your preference and for staying with us during your Roman stay.!!! Hoping to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
126 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We went back to this hotel having been there 15 years' ago!
It is a great location only 400 m from what I call the Ben Hur stadium,the Circo Maximo. It is not much further to all the major sites and central Rome so we walked everywhere.
The rooms are excellent, gardens lovely and it is so quiet at the top of the Aventine hill.
The staff are very friendly, efficient and helpful, you could not ask for better service.
We have recommended this place to many friends who all agree it is the place to stay from which to see Rome on foot!

Room Tip: If you are only looking to use it as a base it does not matter much which room you get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eamesrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your excellent experience on Tripadvisor community.!
We are glad you came back to us after 15 years and you have high consideration about our Hotel Villa San Pio.
All the staff is happy to hear your words: we consider guests as our treasure, taking care everyday, helping and trying to give the best quality service we can.!
Walking from this special area called Aventino hill, you can go down in history, breathing a special atmosphere in every corner, discovering new hidden places.!
Thanks for recommending our Hotel San Anselmo to your friends and we hope to have you again as a precious guest, for another memorable trip in the eternal city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#62 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#49 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#73 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Villa Pirandello
#96 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#91 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa San Pio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa San Pio

Property: Hotel Villa San Pio
Address: Via di Santa Melania 19, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Rome
#62 Family Hotel in Rome
#69 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa San Pio 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Villa San Pio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Pio
San Pio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing