We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel that could feature in a romantic movie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa San Pio
Ranked #78 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is very quiet and tranquill. The neighbourhood of this hotel is classic Italian with old ocre-coloured villa's and pinetrees. My room had a balcony to complete the romantic feeling.
However, I was on a businesstrip (the hotel is close to the FAO headquarters) and it is conventient for businesstravelers as well, with free WiFi, and a desk. What was missing though were sockets for electric plugs...
The breakfast room is spacious and there is enough choice. They make really good espresso for you. Just down the road there is a quaint restaurant with good Italian food for a good price.
The Metro (Circo Massimo) is 10 mins walk and takes to anywhere in Rome, the central train station is a couple of minutes by metro. I took the train from the airport (30 mins) and then the metro. Much easier than getting stuck in traffic with a taxi.
I can recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Try to avoid rooms on the ground floor as they might not have a windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meijerink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear guest
Thank you very much for having explained so clearly your experience with us and also for advise of other potential guests.
Refering to the object of your comment, as a matter of fact Woody Allen, during his serch for a good location of his last movie,
Our hotel Villa S. Pio is located in the exclusive residential area of Aventino hill and for that reason is quiet and out of the Roman traffic but in the meantime near to the most interesting sightseeing, Coliseum, Roman forum, Plaza Venezia,Circo Massimo.
We do have different rooms and some of them are with balcony where you can have a nice view of the city.
All the rooms are well furnished and in all the hotel there’s free WiFi and internet with cable, it’s easy to get the connection and be update every day.
We serve buffet continental breakfast in a gazebo which is comfortable and spacious. Our barmen make a good Italian espresso and a tasty cappuccino.....which best way to start the long day around the eternal city?
Just few steps from our hotels there’s the famous district of Testaccio full of particular and typical roman restaurants.

Looking forward to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

There is an uncomfortable discrepancy between the over-done antique show furniture that fills this hotel in an almost laughable fashion, and then the actual feeling of what it is like to stay here. The front desk, as noted by other reviewers, is staffed by officiously efficient people who push up against the definition of just plain rude. In the bar and breakfast area, on the other hand, the waiters are excessively friendly and get in the way of privacy. The breakfast itself is mediocre. And the breakfast room is overrun with the large, loud tour groups that seem to favor this hotel. It is pleasant in the early evening to sit in the garden and have a glass of wine, but that's all. The room I was given was very small and neither particularly comfortable nor clean. The cleaning staff itself is inconsiderate in the extreme. When I returned to my room each day around 5pm for a nap, my room was still not made up and when I complained I then had to wait while the maid did her job. Early mornings outside my room, even as early as 7 a.m. cleaning staff would assemble and bang furniture around. Not sure what the point of this hotel is. I was glad to leave.

Room Tip: Do what I should have done. Go back to the front desk and tell them you won't stay in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Michael from California,

It's such a pity to read that you were happy to leave Rome, because, Rome can create unforgettable emotions and desire to stay absorbed in history and charm. Probably, we assume that you were not in the right mood to enjoy what our hotel has to offer, since, almost nothing you enjoyed during your stay, and we are sorry about it. The point of our hotel ( I am explaining, just because, it was asked) is to offer in the centre of Rome, surrounded by the archeological sites, the atmosphere of the Roman Villa, in a very exclusive and prestigious neighborhood, with a lush and relaxing garden, personalized baroque rooms and the warm feeling of a " Home away from Home " .
Our antique furnitures, that you disliked are a precious and added value to our property, that we offer generously to the sight and to the contemplation of our valued guests, while roaming around in the hotel.
The wooden and golden chandelier, the antique chest, the grandfather’s clock, the Chinese carpets , the antique paintings, the marble chimney decorated frame, the huge murano chandelier in the gazebo and all various decorative ornaments are part of our family collection, which we are very proud of, and we are happy to display in memory of old times !
Regarding the reception staff, I am sorry, if you had the impression that they were rude and not as friendly as the bar staff. But, probably, because, it’s their daily task and their problem solving process is much more complicated , dealing often with strikes, lost luggage, pick pocketing problems or basically other problems related to billing issues or reservations, which needs efficiency and concentration.
Sorry to contradict you, but our hotel does not accept the “groups of series “ especially, because, it’s impossible, for the big tour buses to reach the hotel, since, we are very close to the major archeological sites and buses are not allowed. The breakfast area, sometimes, can be noisy and loud, as friends gather together happily to enjoy their morning break during their vacation.
Being a “ city hotel” and not a “ resort hotel “ ,usually guest leave early in the morning and come back late at night after a full day of sightseeing, therefore, our cleaning service occurs from 8.30am to 5 pm. It would have been possible to clean the room in a different time at your convenience , if we were asked.
I apologize for the noise in the hall in front of your room and I understand that it can be very annoying and uncomfortable and definitely we will take immediate action to correct the behavior of our housekeeping staff.
The room given to you was a bit small compared to other ones, but that was the reason why you enjoyed a special rate with breakfast, which is good deal in high season.

Anyhow, hopefully, we cleared all your queries and sorry again for all the inconveniences you have experienced.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Away from crowds in a safe quiet part of the city, yet close to the colosseum and a nice 20-30 minute walk to other main sites like the trevi fountain and the pantheon. The breakfast buffet was delicious and with lots of variety to please many tastes. The staff was friendly and available for all questions. The hotel is beautifully decorated with an antique feel. If you book a month or more in advance you get a discount. I would also look at prices at different times of the year because they can vary quite a bit. I would definitely return.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Domfas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear guest,
it’s a pleasure for us to read such a beautiful comment. We appreciate you liked your stay in our hotel Villa S. Pio.
if you have the chance to book in advance you can really appreciate the competitive rates.
As a matter of fact, the best solution is to book as quicker as possible because you can have our best prices and also a nice room. we do have different type of rooms of course if the reservation is made in advance you can also have one of the nicest.
The staff and I are very pleased to know you appreciate our services and our help in finding your way in the busy Rome.
Hope to see you for your next visit in the eternal city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here in August during our Honeymoon. We had our own balcony which we drank wine on late nights and the hotel also has a terass. It was very clean and had beautiful surroundings. The area was safe and nice. We recommend Pizzeria San Remo that is nearby, the best pizza we have ever tasted!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ester R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Ester
Thank you very much for your feedback about our hotel Villa S. Pio and we are happy you remember us after 3 months!
It’s nice to know you appreciated our hotel and our service during your special occasion here in Rome.
We always make the best to satisfy all the request and to make each stay unforgettable.
Our rooms with balcony or terrace are the top selling rooms and are good to enjoy a cocktail or a drink after a long stay around the eternal city, especially if it’s too warm as in August.
Thank you again for your visit and hope to see you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We booked this hotel for a 5 day stay as it is close as it is close to my aunt's flat. We found this an ideal base - close enough to walk to a lot of the main attractions, but in a quiet area of Rome. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast provided a good start to the day.

The hotel doesn;t provide evening meals, but gave great advice re local restaurants, and we weren't disappointed with any of the recommendations, most being traditional roman trattorias.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Nigel,
Thank you for posting such wonderful reviews!
The staff and I are very pleased to know that the service received during your stay meet your expectation. This encourage us to do always the best for our clients!
We are glad you had a great and unforgettable experience with us.

Looking forward to your next visit in Rome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Hotel San Pio is located in the Aventino, one of the seven hills of ancient Rome and one of the best residential neighborhoods of modern Rome. Aventino is very green, quite and discretely stylish, as only upmarket residential areas can be. And so is Hotel San Pio, a nice boutique hotel surrounded by a pleasant garden. The hotel is conveniently located at less than 10 minutes by car to the very center of Rome and 10-15 minutes’ walk to the Roman Forum and to the Colosseum. Rooms are wide and quite, with nice renaissance style replica decorations and wooden floors; they are modern and well equipped. Beds are comfortable and bathrooms are state of the art with both showers and Jacuzzi. I strongly recommend to get a room at the fourth floor with a terrace: terraces are very wide and you can enjoy a nice view of Rome from the above. There is a fairly nice buffet breakfast in a separated building on the other side of the garden. Staff is discrete, kind and very helpful. The only minor negative is that there is no free Wi-Fi as you should pay for it. Recommended both to the business traveler and to the tourist. I have enjoyed staying there with my family. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for the fourth floor, with a terrace and a view on the cirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulus_diaconus61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Paulus,

Thank you for sharing with the community of Tripadvisor your experience in our hotel Villa S. Pio. The staff and I are very pleased to know that the service received during your stay met your expectation. Sorry to contradict you, but we do have free WI FI connection, you just have to get the username and password at the reception: only when the client does not have a laptop or a tablet then, can use our internet point and it costs 5 euro for 1 hour otherwise the other connection is totally free.

The rooms with terrace or balcony are definitely are most charming, especially in October when Rome is marvelous and can be very pleasant as it's still warm, sunny and the city has a special atmosphere and a natural light that enchants its beauty and character.

Hope to see you again in our eternal city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have just spent two nights here. Everything was good, from reception, to when we left. We checked out about 10am, but they looked after our cases and ordered us a taxi for that evening, to take us to the airport. Breakfast was simple, but plenty of variety and enough to set you up for the day. Our room was perfect for what we needed, not enormous, but clean, well furnished and quiet.
The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the Colosseum. We walked everywhere, so i can't complain about the location. Hotel is perfect for a couple, and has a romantic feel to it. Would recommend it to anyone. It was Good value too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marion3034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Marion,

Thanks for your positive feedback about our hotel and the staff. We are also happy that you had a wonderful stay. The staff and I are very pleased to know that the service received during your stay meet your expectation.

Hope to see you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#62 of 1,269 in Rome
971 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#43 of 1,269 in Rome
1,168 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#94 of 1,269 in Rome
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa San Pio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa San Pio

Address: Via di Santa Melania 19, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Rome
#62 Family Hotel in Rome
#69 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $79 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa San Pio 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa San Pio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Pio
San Pio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing