We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Quiet Hotel on Aventine Hill, Jan. 31-Feb 3, 2008”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa San Pio
Ranked #76 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2008

My husband and I just spent three nights in this charming small hotel. When checking in we were asked if we minded being on the ground level. We were shown a room in a lush garden with our own little patio and wrought iron table. The room had a comfortable canopy bed, stenciled wall paintings and an arched brick ceiling. Very charming! Shower, toilet was fine and all was very clean. There is a lovely glass conservatory where the large, fresh breakfast buffet is served and this is also a restaurant in the evening. There is a fixed price menu of Euro 20 PP as well as other a la carte menu choices. We found the staff extremely helpful and efficient. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the Via Marmolata, an area with restaurants, bars and shops. Another 10 minutes walking takes one over the bridge to the Testevere neighborhood. The Metro station Piramide is also 10 minutes walk and we walked back from the Colosseum area in about 20 minutes. I booked this hotel through this website for 89 euros a night through hotel.com in the "Check Rates" dropdown menu. It was the off season though.

3  Thank Reets7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2008

My husband, 12-year old daughter and 15-year old son and I spent three days at Villa San Pio and we really loved it. We had a large double room (Room 530 on 4th floor) with a large terrace that had tables and chairs to sit and view the Aventine Hill and smell the wisteria and jasmine blooming everywhere. Hotel is in a beautiful residential area. The room was large, beautifully decorated, comfortable beds and a gorgeous, marble bathroom. Breakfast was included in our room rate and it was by far the best breakfasts we had in a month stay in Europe. They included all types of breads and croissants, jams, cereal, yogurt, meats, cheese, juices and delicious local fresh fruit - cherries, pear, kiwi, apricots and wonderful canteloupe. They served "American coffee", which we found too weak, so we ended up getting their double espresso or cappucino instead. This was served in a beautiful courtyard full of wisteria, jasmines, magnolia, oleander and palm trees. Was also a great place for an afternoon glass of wine after a long, hot day of sightseeing. It was hot while we were in Rome and air conditioning worked great and they also had wooden shutters you could close to darken the room for a nap. We found several good restaurants nearby on the Via Marmorato, as well as a take-out gourmet food shop called Volpetti, where we got wonderful take-out food one night and ate on our terrace. Staff were fine - they arranged for a car to pick us up from the airport. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and my husband plans to stay there again this summer for a short trip to Rome. I'm already jealous!!

  • Stayed: June 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tennisc-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2008

This gem of a hotel is tucked away in a quiet up-scale residential area on the Aventine Hill, just a short walk from two metro stations, the ancient Roman Forum and many other sights. It's about 2 miles from the Vatican. (The hotel is on a hill so you need to be able to comfortably walk at least 2-3 miles a day up and down hills!) It is also within easy walking distance of over a dozen restaurants and some decent shopping. The hotel provides a handy list of nearby restaurants and their locations on a map of the area. The staff, with few exceptions, were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was served in a charming on-site restaurant, and had plentiful fruits and assorted other breakfast foods. You can settle in and really feel at home; the location for archeology lovers couldn't be better!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Jayarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Located on the historic Aventine Hill, this beautiful hotel sits right in the middle of a beautiful upscale neighborhood in "Real Rome". Far enough from the touristy areas to feel comfortable, but still close enough to see the sights with a short walk or ride on the metro. We stayed here over the christmas holiday with family and loved every part of our trip. Rome is a fantastic city and the Villa San Pio is a great place to call home while visiting. P.S. The breakfast and staff are great and really make it hard to leave.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Racecar666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2007

We just returned from our Italian vacation a few days ago. We spent three days in Rome at this hotel. We booked directly through the hotel based on the reviews from tripadvisor and we are so glad we did.

We obviously stayed in the off season and were able to book a quadruple room for only 180 euros a night. The room was spacious and luxurious. I can see how some would say the beds were a bit hard, but we like a firm mattress and were very pleased.

The hotel staff was helpful, especially the service in the restaurant. We were able to have cocktails or coffee and any hour, even when the "restaurant" was closed. The answer to our every question was always "YES". Just a wonderful staff.

Our room was always clean and well provided for. The location was perfect! A 15 minute walk to the Colusseum, The Roman Forum and the Arch of Constantine. The hotel recommends several restaurants in the nearby area, which were very excellent. Definitely go by their choices, as some of the other places are touristy and the quality is not there.

I read complaints about the long walk up the hill. It is definitely hard after a long day of sightseeing. We are a "fit" family with two teen-agers and they were even moaning a bit. Don't let that stop you - grab a cab if you need one. We did not and we were just fine. The neighborhood is a beautiful, upscale, residential neighborhood. It is lovely to walk around here.

Let this hotel be your first choice in Rome. I will always come back to it!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Shannon2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2007

Web site is accurate
Breakfast above average
Room spacious and comfy
Well located
competitive price
Would return anytime

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marioOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2007

This hotel was amazing. The only reason I was hesitant about booking this hotel was the fact that I couldn't find walking directions directly to the hotel. I'm the type of traveler who likes to know exactly where they're going, and have a map. It was raining when we got into Rome, and it was a little tricky to find, but if someone needs directions, I wrote them down from the Metro Stop Circo Massimo, so don't hesitate to e-mail me and ask. Otherwise, this hotel was a gem. Great breakfast. A little bit of a walk. Like I said, tricky to find, but well worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AlainaMRZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#66 of 1,271 in Rome
979 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#97 of 1,271 in Rome
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#85 of 1,271 in Rome
2,531 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#79 of 1,271 in Rome
2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa San Pio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa San Pio

Address: Via di Santa Melania 19, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Rome
#62 Family Hotel in Rome
#69 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $81 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa San Pio 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa San Pio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Pio
San Pio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing