We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too far!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Ranked #120 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was our first trip to Italy and rome, and I was disappointed in the location of this hotel. Not only is the neighborhood far, but it is quite run down with graffiti on every building. While there is public transportation It was very crowded in the morning, and due to the neighborhood we were not comfortable taking it in the evening. We spent at least 100 euro on cabs in 2 days! The staff always had a problem for us that never seemed to happen. The first day they said there would be a transit strike and it would take at least an hour to get to the Vatican if we left early(the day after arriving in Italy). The next morning after waking up 2 hours before we really wanted to the strike was not happening! The next day we had a scheduled trip to the colosseum and roman ruins. They told us there was a huge demonstration and riot and we would not be able to get to the colosseum. We called the tour company and they were unaware of any problems. We took a cab(the hotel told us public transportation was not running) and there was not riot and people were using the subway and bus system!!!!(If we had listened to the hotel staff we would have missed out on the colosseum, and not been refunded our money for the tour!). The hotel was clean, and once you are inside the gate it does look like all the pictures. It is inexpensive, but I would have been happier inside the city center, or by the Vatican.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynneagro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our first trip to Europe, not speaking or reading Italian, we arrived at this hotel somewhat overwhelmed and anxious. Right away we were greeted by Antonio who spoke good English, made us a couple of cappuccinos and took a lot of time to show us on a map how to get around Rome. By using the public transportation, which was very close by, we were able to easily visit all the sites we wanted to see during our two day stay. The entire staff at the hotel was very kind and always available to answer any questions. The hotel was very clean and the grounds well maintained. We felt very safe and comfortable. Breakfast each morning was excellent with a wide range of choices. If you are looking for a place and like or need a little extra attention to help you get the most out of your stay, Antonio and his staff will be there for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My partner and I chose this hotel after reading the good reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed as Antonio, the manager, and his staff are so helpful in giving advice on transport, restaurants etc whilst staying in Rome. The hotel is in the San Lorenzo district which is located near to the main railway station but it is a bit too far out to walk into Rome so we caught the local bus which will take your right to the heart of the Vatican and Colisseum. The bedroom and bathroom were of a good standard and the hotel has a lovely little courtyard and outside area where you can sit and have a drink and relax. The price included breakfast and this was an added bonus as there was a good variety of food on offer. Thank you for a pleasant stay, Antonio.
Sue and Harry

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bartonbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Pleasant room overlooking a very nice courtyard, well kept property and building. Staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel is about a mile from the train station, a twenty five minute walk to the Spanish steps/Trevi fountain. The neighborhood is a little less than desirable, and there was not much around other than a supermarket. I would recommend staying here, as it very quiet and it was nice to sit outside and have a beer at the end of a long day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were looking for a hotel not too far from the rail stations in Rome and Villa San Lorenzo met that requirement. Check in was easy and we were made to feel welcome by the staff. Antonio made some restaurant suggestions for dinner and explained the tram and bus options near the hotel. Although I was a little put off by the neighborhood at first, we found excellent restaurants and after wandering around for a couple evenings felt quite comfortable.. The hotel room was clean, quiet and we both slept well. The hotel breakfast was plentiful, fresh and good. The hotel has pleasant common areas and we spent a good deal of time drinking cappuccinos on the terrace and just enjoying ourselves in the warm environment. Antonio and company made us feel at home and well taken care of. The hotel is a good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vashonwestside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

From the first step into the hotel we felt very comfortable. Thanks to Antonio who greeted us warmly, made us cappuccinos and explained in detail how to get around Rome. We felt a big load had lifted off our shoulders as we were concerned as to safety in Rome. Although the surrounding area looks rough at first, we felt totally safe walking through it at all hours and found many friendly and helpful people, who we asked for directions. The restaurants around the hotel serve authentic Italian food and are not a tourist trap. We spent three nights and went away on a cruise for 9 days and booked again on our way back for one night. That really felt like we were coming home.

Room Tip: 401 or 402 are the only ones we stayed in but I am sure they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We just spent 13 very pleasant nights at the Hotel Villa San Lorenzo in Rome.I made my choice of hotel based on the many wonderful reviews I discovered on the web.I would say our experience was even better than we had expected.At first glance,the neighborhood looks rather rough,but in reality it is quite safe,even at night walking to and from the hotel for public transportation,or to one of the many good and inexpensive restaurants that are in close proximity of the hotel.
Manager,Antonio,is a skilled and attentive proprietor.His entire staff are all very friendly and helpful in every way.Antonio and Alessandro were marvelous in helping us with public transportation,the sights to see and suggestions on side trips out of the city.
The hotel is as quaint and charming as it appears on their web site.The rooms are equipped with all the necessities one needs,the free continental breakfast is well done and offers a variety of cereal,fruit.cold cuts,breads,sweet rolls,coffee,tea and juice.Renaldo is always ready to serve you a cup of coffee or tea. The bar is available 24 hrs. A day for drinks,wine and coffee.
After a long day of sightseeing,it is a pleasant relief to sit in the lobby and enjoy a coffee or a drink.
I believe the hotel offers good value for the cost,and the best part is the staff make you feel at home.I would definitely recommend them for your stay in Rome.I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the front court yard & was a very pleasant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Re di Roma
#156 of 1,271 in Rome
1,327 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#447 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#212 of 1,271 in Rome
1,072 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#76 of 1,271 in Rome
1,434 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#161 of 1,271 in Rome
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel

Address: Via dei Liguri 7, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#54 Family Hotel in Rome
#59 Business Hotel in Rome
#91 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $51 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Lorenzo Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing