We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Ranked #122 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Myself and boyfriend have just returned from Villa San Lorenzo. After reading lots of positive reports i was very much looking forward to my stop and i wasn't disappointed. The hotel is located around the university area.
The area its self is not the best, looks wise but don't let it throw you.
The tram lines 3 and 19 are at the end of the road which was brilliant. Was so easy to access the Colosseum and the Vatican city via this line. All other tourist areas are easy to visit in walking distance from the Colloseum,
The hotel was lovely and staff were so helpful. We had a room on the 4th floor with a balcony overlooking the courtyard of the hotel.
We had a lovely big bed, with TV, large bathroom and hairdryer. Plenty of wardrobe space and our room was cleaned every day with fresh towels.
Breakfast was great. Plenty of fruit, yogurts, cake, croissants, toast, cheese and ham selection and if there wasn't something out you wanted they are more than happy to get you something.

Getting to the hotel is easy. From the airport Campino we got the shuttle bus which was 4Euros to the Termini train station. We then got a taxi to the hotel as it was late. The taxi cost 12euros.

Rome its self is easy to get around. The one thing i would recommend is the ROMA pass which
is 30Euros which includes all travel (bus,trams and underground) for three days along with two free tourist attractions of your choice the rest are then discounted. A lot of things you will visit are free which is great but the Roma pass does allow a cue skip at the Colloseum which is more than worth it when you see the cue.

I would be more than happy to return to the Villa San Lorenzo again. Thank you :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichieRich_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Proprietario at Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Please allow me to show my gratitude for the extensive review you have written about The Villa San Lorenzo.
We try to make the hotel as comfortable for all our guests so they can feel at home when away from home as you described.
Our locations makes us the perfect hotel whether you stay for business or leisure.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will remember us next time you come to Rome.

Best regards
Famiglia Piroli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    323
    83
    25
    10
See reviews for
202
463
79
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

cannot say enough wonderful things about this charming hotel in a cool university neighborhood...

loved the staff! they made dinner reservations, held our bags while we were out of rome, got us silverware the moment they saw us walking into the hotel with takeout pizza, printed maps, patiently explained bus routes...on and on and on. and they were all so genuinely nice and such a pleasure to talk to! reservation was in a japanese name, and they had even learned the word for "room key" before we arrived. gotta love that.

the hotel itself is 60 seconds from streetcars that run directly to the manzoni subway station, the vatican, and the colosseum. grocery store filled with italian goodies is right next door.

the place has character (look at the pictures), and the neighborhood does, too.

great complimentary breakfast! even though the coffee's self serve they still go out of their way to fix it for you. warm baked goods, cold cuts, sweets, and yogurt - you'll be held over very nicely until lunch. and my wife reminds me that the blood orange juice was really tasty.

downsides? not really... i would have to say that for an american the shower seemed pretty tiny, but i guess that's it.

anyway, we have never written a hotel review before, but really wanted to for everyone at villa san lorenzo. thank you all for a great stay in rome! we'll be back. ciao!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tokyo-no-futari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Proprietario at Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you staying with us and reviewing your stay on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you had such a great weekend, and enjoyed our location and
we find it wonderfull to hear that you think we are a clean, very comfortable and friendly hotel serving a fantastic breakfast.
Your comments about our staff are much appreciated and are glad that you would decide to stay with us again.
We hope to see you back soon!

Best regards
Famiglia Piroli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I spent in this hotel a week and I really appreciate it. It is well located, there are several buses to rich all the most important sites of the city. I was in the 205 room. It was really clean and the chambermaid changed me the pillow case every day. I spoke with her and she was very nice with me. The breakfast was delicious specially because I really like the home-made cakes. If I had to come back, I would definitely choose this hotel again.
P.S. the young receptionist who we found in the night was very gentle and nice, explaining me everything I needed

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francy60766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Proprietario at Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Francy,
Thank you for your 5 star rating and complimentary words about our hotel!
We are so glad to hear that our receptionists took such great care of you. We are very lucky to have them on our team. Our Housekeepers also work so hard and it is really nice to see them get recognized. I hope you come back soon.

Kind regards
Famiglia Piroli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel twice and both of our experiences are very enjoyable. Breakfast is good,espcially the coffee! While having your breakfast remember to talk with the general manager Antonio, he will give you some really helpful tips about your plan for the day. A supermarket is nearby where you can buy drinking water or some snacks. Public transport including tram no.3 to the metro station then you can take the metro system to almost everywhere you want! Overall, this hotel is great value for its price and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WENPENG Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Proprietario at Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. It sounds like you had an amazing time in Rome and we are so glad that we were able to make it that much more special. You provided a lot of great suggestions for the readers which we are sure they will appreciate.We couldn’t wait to share your praises about the staff, everyone works so hard and it is really nice to see them get recognized. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Famiglia Piroli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The staff of Villa San Lorenzo Hotel, particularly Antonio, the manager of the hotel made my stay so enjoyable that I can highly recommend this cozy and calm hotel to you who appreciate budget friendly price, descent breakfast, relaxed atmosphere and Venetian style interior. The location of the hotel is optimal to you who have something to do closely to La Sapienza University premises. If I still will and I hope, when I will visit Rome, I will definitely stay in this hotel. If you consider to stay in Villa San Lorenzo Hotel I recommend you to book in advance the Terravision- shuttle-bus (http://www.terravision.eu/rome_fiumicino.html ) from the airport and back, since the bus stop of shuttle bus is much closer to the walking route than the track of the train coming from Fiumicino to Termini railway station. My recommendation is also the following walking route that is comfortable particularly, if you have wheeled luggage: Via Marsala > turn left to>Via Castro Pretorio>turn right to>Viale Pretoriano>turn left to>Via Dei Ramni>turn righ to>Via Dei Marruccini>straightly to>Via Dei Sardi>turn right to> Via Dei Liguri. At the corner of the Via Dei Liguri (20-25 minutes by walking)

The shortest walking route to the hotel following the direction of the railway track is not very comfortable due to partially narrow pavements but that's not the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari189934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Proprietario at Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Kari,
Thank you so much for your review.You offered the readers some great suggestions as well. Our employees enjoy reading the comments and they will be very happy to see that they had such a positive impact on your stay. I hope during your next visit to Rome you stay with us again.

Best regards
Famiglia Piroli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great place to stay. It is located a bit outside of the tourist traps near the University. For this reason there are many nice restaurants that are reasonably priced (where Italians would actually go to eat). The hotel staff was very accommodating and happy to point us toward the highlights of home as well as recommend nice dinning spots in the area. The breakfast was simply but nice italian fare. We would definately go back to Villa San Lorenzo for our next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I'm visiting Rome usually twice a year. This hotel was my best choice. You need 15 minutes walk form Termini railway and metro station to get there. And then you can move in time to the begining of 20th century and feel like at you favourite aristocratic pension. Hotel is in very nice, comfortable villa in quiet place. Staff is very helpful, rooms are very clean and very comfortable with rococo style. Good breakfast with sweets and fruits. The best accomodation when you're coming back from the centre of the city with head full of impressions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#91 of 1,256 in Rome
1,340 reviews
Villa Pirandello
#89 of 1,256 in Rome
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Poggioverde
#127 of 1,256 in Rome
308 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#120 of 1,256 in Rome
1,266 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#100 of 1,256 in Rome
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel

Property: Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Address: Via dei Liguri 7, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Rome
#59 Business Hotel in Rome
#91 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#94 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Lorenzo Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing