We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$830
$593
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$272
$244
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$386
$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$607
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$265
$257
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma(Rome)(Great Value!)
$212
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
$1,157
$1,047
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,102
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$329
$308
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,154)
Filter reviews
1,154 results
Traveler rating
662
355
96
29
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
662
355
96
29
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopstudent areauniversity districtmanager antonioporta maggiorepublic transportpastriesrecommend this hotelnever felt unsafethe hotel managersmall supermarketlovely hoteltermini stationbuy ticketsrestaurants in the areaenjoyable staybooked this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
528 - 533 of 1,154 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The staff of Villa San Lorenzo Hotel, particularly Antonio, the manager of the hotel made my stay so enjoyable that I can highly recommend this cozy and calm hotel to you who appreciate budget friendly price, descent breakfast, relaxed atmosphere and Venetian style interior. The location of the hotel is optimal to you who have something to do closely to La Sapienza University premises. If I still will and I hope, when I will visit Rome, I will definitely stay in this hotel. If you consider to stay in Villa San Lorenzo Hotel I recommend you to book in advance the Terravision- shuttle-bus (http://www.terravision.eu/rome_fiumicino.html ) from the airport and back, since the bus stop of shuttle bus is much closer to the walking route than the track of the train coming from Fiumicino to Termini railway station. My recommendation is also the following walking route that is comfortable particularly, if you have wheeled luggage: Via Marsala > turn left to>Via Castro Pretorio>turn right to>Viale Pretoriano>turn left to>Via Dei Ramni>turn righ to>Via Dei Marruccini>straightly to>Via Dei Sardi>turn right to> Via Dei Liguri. At the corner of the Via Dei Liguri (20-25 minutes by walking)

The shortest walking route to the hotel following the direction of the railway track is not very comfortable due to partially narrow pavements but that's not the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari189934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Proprietario at Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear Kari,
Thank you so much for your review.You offered the readers some great suggestions as well. Our employees enjoy reading the comments and they will be very happy to see that they had such a positive impact on your stay. I hope during your next visit to Rome you stay with us again.

Best regards
Famiglia Piroli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great place to stay. It is located a bit outside of the tourist traps near the University. For this reason there are many nice restaurants that are reasonably priced (where Italians would actually go to eat). The hotel staff was very accommodating and happy to point us toward the highlights of home as well as recommend nice dinning spots in the area. The breakfast was simply but nice italian fare. We would definately go back to Villa San Lorenzo for our next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I'm visiting Rome usually twice a year. This hotel was my best choice. You need 15 minutes walk form Termini railway and metro station to get there. And then you can move in time to the begining of 20th century and feel like at you favourite aristocratic pension. Hotel is in very nice, comfortable villa in quiet place. Staff is very helpful, rooms are very clean and very comfortable with rococo style. Good breakfast with sweets and fruits. The best accomodation when you're coming back from the centre of the city with head full of impressions.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tommy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were booked in here by friends for an overnight stay. What a great little Hotel .Close to the centre of town, alright it is in the University Quarter but it has it's own garden, secure and set back from the road. We were in a front facing room and were not bothered by noise at all even though we had the window open.
Our Daughter had her own room off a lovely little courtyard. The furnishings are delightful ornate and complement the building perfectly.
Showers were quite small, but unless you are 18 stone or more you are not going to notice.
Clean, comfortable and good price.
Staff were also helpful
When we go back to Rome we will definitely try to stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buckbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Villa San Lorenzo is one amazing hotel. The hotel is very close to main train station, also tram station is near so you can easily explore the city. Room was perfect, it is little small but very comfortable and very well arranged. The only thing they need to add is more channels on English and maybe a mini bar in room, expect for that nothing else ;) Breakfast was fine, stuff in hotel are very nice and very helpful.
I will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MajoR_Soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Proprietario at Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us.
I am very happy you had an enjoyable experience and thank you very much for recommending us!

Warm regards,
Famiglia Piroli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews