We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay Very Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Ranked #121 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
leicester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay Very Clean”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Stayed at the Villa San Lorenzo Maria on 24-26 April as a surprise gift for my 50th birthday. We got off the bus at the termini and walked to the hotel which took 2 hours as we were in the right area just could not find the right street so take directions or grab a cab.
The hotel is on a quiet street set back with nice courtyard to the front of the hotel,the hotel is very clean and the reception staff very helpful they gave us a map and told us what bus to catch and where to get the metro, this advise was so helpful.
We had a bedroom facing the front of the hotel on the 4th floor, it was very clean with wardrobe dressing table and a very large comfy bed,TV with loads of channels, decor not to my taste but traditional Italian style . The en suite was well equipped with shower,bidet etc, plenty of hot water and shower caps, gel and towels supplied also a hairdryer.The only thing missing was tea/coffee making facility in the room.
The breakfast was very good bread rolls,warm croissants,meat and cheese,boiled eggs,cereal,yoghurt's etc , tea,coffee and juice. There was also a bar in the hotel any drinks bought were added to your bill.There is a Spar shop on the same road as hotel which was great for a bottle of red and a snack to relax with in your room after a hetic day.
The hotel was a little way out but a the end of the road you can get the number 3 bus which takes you to the Colosseum or you can get off earlier at Manzini to get the metro, bus and metro are really frequent and so cheap.
We saw most of the sites but will be going back again for a more relaxing time and will return to the Villa San Lorenzo Maria .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    323
    83
    25
    10
See reviews for
201
463
79
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This hotel is really good for the money you pay / you should book 2 - 3 months earlier/, especially if you are not used to live in 5-star hotels - it is a little bit old, like the area where it is and Rome itself - but nicely decorated' with good bathroom /new tiles and everything/' very clean, very good breakfast,' comfortable beds and pillows. Me and my daughter occupied the room on the 5th floor and the view out of windows was not great at all - some old shabby roofs but I really did not care about this because we came in the evening so tired we wanted only to have a rest and we were full of beauties we saw during the day so...But if you are lucky and get the room facing the small patio or the small garden at the entrance - still better of course. the personnel was also very friendly and polite, all of them know English and if you try to say something in Italian - they will be still more friendly. The only difficult thing is that the hotel is rather far from metro station, but you can take the bus 3 and go to Termini or Manzoni station and from there you go where ever you want. We sometimes walked in the morning but in the evening you will be too tired to do that.And something else - before travelling print a big map of the area near the hotel - to find it easily. And try a pizza in one place we discovered - it is in Tiburtina street -near the hotel. 5 minutes on foot- it is called somehow #pizza la economica# and they make it in front of you in an oven with woods. The prices are good. They also serve some appetizers as different types of salami with marinated vegetables and a lot of other things. Open in the evenings only. The area is OK and safe a little bit shabby because a lot of buildings need painting - but that is all. In the end you may like it more.

Room Tip: Ask rooms facing the patio or the garden at the entrance of the hotel? surely not 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsarmuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

my partner and I spent 2 nights in this hotel recently, and even if the rate was relatively low, we actually spent quite a lot of money for what we got. the hotel looks nice from the outside, but inside the rooms really need some fixing.
the first room we were given had a terrible smell when we stepped in: we realised it was the mould on the bathroom ceiling. we asked to change the room also because there was a dirty t-shirt left by some previous guests in one of the drawers.
the new room was better, but only one central light, no table lights near the bed (and one bedside table) so no chance to read in bed (the central light had to be switched off only from near the entrance, so you had to get out of the bed).
the bathroom was small and with some tiles to be fixed: the small window on the top of the wall difficult to open.
but the worst was the breakfast room: the first morning we were eating with ants running on our table. one of the waiters needs for sure some training: he hardly speaks Italian, and he lacks the rudiments of his job. tables are put in an incredible way: when you seat you may share your table with other gustes which is not a problem, but because the space is limited you will probably have to disturb the people sitting with you to go to the buffet.
as for the area, not too bed, but not so special...
we will not stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marikendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Great little hotel in a quiet area. We had a couple of small problems on moving in but these were resolved quickly and without any fuss. Reception staff were very helpful but could have been a little more friendly. Don't worry about comments regarding the area. We had some good meals in some friendly local restaurants within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTripper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey, İzmir
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We were three families traveling in Rome and also nice cities in Tuscany, Umbria, Emilio-Romagna, Lombardy regions. Villa San Lorenzo was our base camp with reasonable price. It has good location for us ( we hired a Mercedes Vito for three family). Staffs were very polite and sincere. Almost every nights we drank our own vines and smoke cigars in the garden and we were given glasses, plates what ever we needs free of charge. Receptionists were very friendly and polite too. As a result, we liked hotel, staff, price (85 Euros for a family-three persons including breakfast) and all.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indianbungee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

This stylish 3 star hotel was very nice.The rooms are a little small but adequate. the bathroom was clean.It is in a quiet neighbourhood - not central nor walking distance to central Rome.
However there are bus and tram services close by that can take you all over and connections are good.We could get to the colleseum, vatican and a sunday market from the hotel.
Even late evening buses are available but need to check the times.
The breakfast was adequate and simple.There is a small lift to the upper floors but u can also walk up the steps.
There is a supermarket close by but not too many restaurants that are open till late.
I would recommend this hotel if u r watching your budget- resonable rates for Rome

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatima027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#90 of 1,256 in Rome
1,339 reviews
Villa Pirandello
#101 of 1,256 in Rome
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Poggioverde
#125 of 1,256 in Rome
308 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#132 of 1,256 in Rome
1,266 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#98 of 1,256 in Rome
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel

Property: Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Address: Via dei Liguri 7, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Rome
#59 Business Hotel in Rome
#91 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#94 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Lorenzo Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing