We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
Ranked #646 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good price”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This place was very clean and friendly. The rooms were large with plenty of space for everyone staying. The staff was polite and attentive. Good price with a clean atmosphere, the only thing was the beds squeak A LOT! Otherwise, this place was worth the money!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaux L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    65
    21
    15
    4
See reviews for
5
23
56
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We booked this place for approx EUR70 night back in September 2010 (not November 2011, but that was the earliest date trip advisor would allow me to select). It had a shared bathroom which wasnt an issue given we never even saw our neighbours. It was located down a side alley off the main street behind a number of big secure doors and we felt very safe, i think it may have even been located near some consulates or embassies? It was within walking distance from the main train station in Rome (depending on your fitness levels) and close to an underground station, making sightseeing around Rome very easy. As we were advised when booking, it was about a 300 metre walk from the main Hotel reception where you check in and you get a bit worried thinking "where are they taking me"? Once we got to the rooms, it was a decent size and pretty basic, but when theres so much to see and do in Rome, its a good room, in a good location, and somewhere to rest your weary head at the end of a hard days sightseeing!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela_Apted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We had a good room, though it could have been cleaner, however from what I could gather, we were lucky, some rooms were much worse. The bathroom window was simply a hole in the wall with no curtain, which was slightly off-putting, especially as the shower faced the "window". The staff were not overly helpful and there was no kitchen! However, it is a good location and the price was very reasonable! Plus you get to be in Rome!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danidawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at Carlito's Way. Stayed here for two nights in the building next door to the embassy. The rooms are old but very spacey. Shared the bathrooms which were clean and tidy. Handy location, only a short walk to Roma Termini or there's a metro line just at the end of the street. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keels13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed for 10 days while we roamed around Rome, Fantastic value and nice room. really enjoyed our stay. would highly recommend. Very close to Termini train station and metro...excellent connections.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This hostel wasn't that bad, but it had its problems. First, you check-in at one place and they tell you that your room is in a building 3 blocks away.... It isn't very well situated but it isn't that bad either (30 mins of walking to the city center). The beds were uncomfortable, it gave my friend sore neck. The bathrooms were okay, cleaner than the rooms which is not very common! It is a very quiet hostel so if you need to sleep, this is the right place. There is no kitchen or computers.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emiliebolduc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed here in August 2009 and August 2010. The staff were friendly and the room was clean although not very modern. You'll have to check in at Hotel Des Artistes and then they'll show you to the hostel which is a 3 minute walk away. It's a great location as there is a metro station just around the corner. It's also really close to many restaurants, internet cafes and the Termini Station. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LemonHair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#441 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cressy
Hotel Cressy
#851 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Hotel Lodi
#266 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albergo Laura
#1,074 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Resort la Rocchetta
#260 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#286 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlito Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlito Hotel and Hostel

Property: Carlito Hotel and Hostel
Address: Via Villafranca 18/a, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Carlito Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlitos Way Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing