We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs”
Review of Hotel Oceania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Oceania
Ranked #145 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Bed bugs”
Reviewed May 8, 2007

The first time we stayed here, we really enjoyed it, although I got multiple bug bites. I didn't know what they were, and didn't think it was related to the hotel. I recently stayed here again and woke up at 3 am with bug bites and found 2 brown bugs crawling on the sheets. We showed them to the person at the desk. He said he didn't know what kind of bugs they were, but that he would tell the maid to do a better job...

When we arrived back to the States, we had the bugs in plastic baggies and found out they are bed bugs. The bites don't affect some people, but I had HORRIBLE reactions, and even worse, you can bring them home in your luggage and infest your home.

I am going to make a complaint to the hotel, but don't know whether or not anything will be done about it, so at this point, I would recommend finding somewhere else to stay!

Other than this massive problem, the hotel is lovely and seems to be clean. Staff is friendly and helpful.

STAY AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!


  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cali_Cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    203
    52
    21
    5
See reviews for
164
242
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dallas texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2007

If you have traveled to Europe before, you understand that hotel rooms can be very small, and you are lucky to have a bathroom on the same floor as your room! Hotel Oceana has large rooms and a wc in each one of them.
They offer a continental breakfast each morning consisting of bread, coffee, tea, tortes, packaged toast , various jams and some pastry. The Orange juice is simply the best OJ I have ever had!
Internet is available on the lobby computor, but time is limited. You may only access it from 9 am to 1 then late afternoon. I still have not figured that one out!
After chatting with Anna (our hostess) I found out that this building is owned by the Methodist Church and is occupied by several small business', individual apartments and 2 Hotels. Hotel Oceana is on the third floor and consists of 15 rooms (I think) the hotel is accessible via the stairway or the small cage style elevator. If you have the stamina, take the stairs... Its faster at times and not quite as scary.
I was only disapointed by a couple of things. First I read somewhere that laundry facilities were available, they are not. Even though there was a washer and dryer on floor. Second was the window in our room. Call me an overprotective mom, but our 4 year old son was traveling with us, and the window was very easy to open and had no screen in place, it did have an outer levered wood hinged screen, but again, it was easily open with just a small hook keeping it closed. My son wanted to drag a chair to the window to look out on several occasions. With nothing to prevent him from falling out the window 3 stories high, I was more than just a little stressed. Main thing is if you are traveling with a young one, dont even acknowledge the window and you should be fine.
I would also suggest that you bring an extra pillow if you like them fluffy.
My father inlaw had a fit about the towels, THEY ARE NOT TERRY TOWELS. So be warned. These are very absorbant towels, but if you want warm fuzzy towels, bring your own.

Easy walk to several restaraunts. Ask them for directions to Da Giovanis (great food and very reasonable...... for Rome) Another great little spot is just down the street from the hotel and is perfect for a late night snack. I cant remember the name but,
when you exit the hotel and turn left, you will see a small bistro cafe on the right about half a block down. Just a quick note, they are open late and you can grab a late night Mozerella and Procuito Panini if you didnt have a chance to get dinner or are too tired to go out. The owner will even pop the cork on a small bottle of wine so you can take your meal back to the hotel.

Easy walk to the bus stop and the main terminal where you are off and running.
They say it is within walking distance to several attractions, primarily the Trevi fountain. You can walk if you are in shape to do so, but it is a hike and some of the hills can be quite steep.

Overall, I thought Hotel Oceana was a charming place with wonderful hosts. I really hope to visit it again (maybe with not so many travel companions next time!)

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Towels and windows
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank binky63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2007

We just got back from a 2 week trip in Italy, and one of our favorite hotels along the way was Hotel Oceania. The property is beautiful, and has a cozy, peaceful feel - a great respite after an exhausting day of navigating Rome and seeing the sights. We found the location to be excellent, a 10 minute walk from Termini (where you can catch the inner-city Metro) and about a 10-15 minute walk to most of the major sights.

The staff (Radu, Anna, Michael, and everyone else) were very friendly and they work hard to make the hotel feel like 'home.' The rooms are very clean and beautifully decorated, and have a lot of small touches that the owner, Stefano, takes pride in. For instance, the towels are not the normal 'hotel terrycloth', but instead are a very high-quality, expensive Egyptian cotton. They feel very luxurious and dry very fast (and are replaced with fresh ones every day).

Overall, we were extremely pleased with Hotel Oceania. Rome is a loud, busy city, and after spending your day out with the masses and walking all day, this hotel is the perfect spot to unwind. Highly recommend it!

  • Liked — The friendly staff and the beautiful rooms.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank HowieRoll09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2007

Good location, near subway and Termini station.

Quiet, friendly, corteous staff - good recommendations for restaurants.

No kettle in room, no Tea or coffee facilities in the evening. Unstocked mini-bar in room, so you can buy in your own refreshments.

Breakfast basic continental, no meats or eggs - rolls, jams, cakes, cheese, biscuits.

Would stay here again - with a travel kettle!

  • Liked — quiet & clean
  • Disliked — lack of tea / coffee facilities in evening
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank mckcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2006

Excellent location, near train station, subway and buses. Close enough to Termini to walk to hotel with roller bags. Very nice rooms, large for Europe. We stayed 3 nights in early November, paid 110 Euros per night, cash. Only complaint is that breakfast was not served until 8 AM, which was too late for us the morning we wanted to get in the line early for the Vatican Museum (Sistine Chapel).

English-speaking staff. Free internet access. Nice small lobby with newspapers in the morning.

  • Liked — Location - near train station, subway, buses, walk to many sights.
  • Disliked — Breakfast served too late - 8 AM.
  • Tips/Secrets — Book on their website direct, ask for cash rate - cheaper than credit card.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank GVMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2006

We enjoyed the room so much, that we rebooked for a night on our return home. The hotel is located near palacial government buildings and blocks from the main train terminal and metro. You were always a few steps away from being home (important when carrying large shopping bags). The room had its own temp. control & it worked beautifully. The 24 hour staff was very helpful - checking train schedules, calling taxis, and making dinner recommendations. The quality of the hotel was more than expected for such an affordable price. We were thrilled.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Breakfast was prompt but nonsubstancial
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank CageBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2006

This hotel is located by the termini train station. It is an easy walk if you know where you are going. You can also walk to the other attractions. There is also 2 metro stations very close to the hotel that you can take to the major attractions for 1 euro/pp.

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning and the end of our vacation. The first room we had was #15 and it was great. very clean and the coldest AC I've had in Europe. The second time we checked in we had room #2 (on the other side of the hotel) and it was not nearly as good, but still clean.

The downside of this hotel is that the TV is very small and the remote control didn't work. It advertises sat. TV but I didn't see it and we didn't have any channels that were in English. The elevator is a little scary as well. The hotel also advertises that laundry facilities are available...which is tru...but it is a laundromat about 20 mins away!

I would generally recommend this hotel and it is a good value.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank homebody222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#143 of 1,261 in Rome
1,280 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#110 of 1,261 in Rome
817 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#121 of 1,261 in Rome
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#175 of 1,261 in Rome
406 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#69 of 1,261 in Rome
719 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#96 of 1,261 in Rome
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oceania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oceania

Property: Hotel Oceania
Address: Via Firenze 38, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#188 Family Hotel in Rome
#196 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Oceania 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Oceania since 1975 is located in an 19th century building in the historic and commercial heart of Rome, within walking distance from the Trevi Fountain, the Quirinale Palace, the Spanish Steps, the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, Piazza Barberini and Via Veneto. Anna, Kira and Roberto, leaded by Stefano, work hard to maintain a caring family atmosphere, provides lots of thoughtful extra touches and lead the guest to a true travel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Oceania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceania Hotel Rome
Hotel Oceania Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing