We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location”
Review of Hotel Oceania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Oceania
Ranked #116 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just finished a 3 day stay at this hotel. Good location (away from the city center congestion but close enough to walk to all sights). Since we had some heavy luggage, having an elevator to the 3rd floor (where the hotel is located) was helpful.Breakfast was included (mostly sweets and rolls). Wi-fi worked fine which allowed us to use our laptop to arrange for tours. Our room faced Via Settembre which was a little busy but traffic noise not too bad. Air conditioning worked fine.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WoodsBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    200
    50
    19
    5
See reviews for
156
235
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Good sized rooms in an older building, we had 3 single beds plus a small sofa/bed and still lots of room. The elevator is small but nice option with luggage. The staff was very helpful with recommendations and provided service for breakfast. The breakfast room is very nice with pastries, rolls, juice, and coffee to order. There is a small balcony/walkway with tables and chairs that overlooks outdoor atrium and makes a great place to relax. The location was on a side street, convenient to the Repubblica metro stop, and can easily walk Santa Maria della Vittoria and even Trevi Fountain. Our only trouble with our stay was how small an area the shower was in the bathroom. It's an older building so bathroom was probably added later. It's a small bathroom already, but shower area was a drain in the floor with just a curtain to go around you. Floor gets wet all around and it was just a really small space. Not sure if other rooms have similar small showers. We would stay here again, but maybe ask for a larger bath/shower if available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with bigger bathroom and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LLL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this lovely hotel. Its location is 5 min walk from the Termini, we walked everywhere and didn't use any public transportation. The staff were very nice, helpful and welcoming. The breakfasts were wonderful with lots of cakes and pastries, serving the best coffee in Rome!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

For our first time together in Rome my boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights. It is in a great area close to Via Nationale and Termini train station which was the main reason we chose it. The hotel was simple, clean and had a beautiful traditional design. The bedroom was a really nice size, and the amenities to be like that of a 3 or 4 star hotel They offer a free breakfast which we found to be very ample... fruit juice, coffee, pastries and the like. This was a great value for our experience, and I would absolutely stay here again.

Two tips: Firstly, I am a very light sleeper and we were in the room closest to reception, so you could hear people come in... if you are like me, request a room further down the hall. Secondly we found some of the best wine we had in Italy right down the street at a small cafe that does a simple business of pizza and pasta... very traditional and not touristy.

Room Tip: for less noise ask for a room down the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My son, my husband and I stayed at Hotel Oceania in August 2012. It was fantastic! We walked everywhere. The staff were extremely friendly. The breakfast was great! We were even awakened by trumpets every morning, which was wonderful! We would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vacationfun4160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family just got back from Rome and I have to give this charming hotel a great review. You will feel transformed to a different era with the tasteful decorations and the unique configuration of the rooms. We rented 2 rooms that were across the courtyard and we felt like locals in our room waving to our daughters on the other side. The breakfast was wonderful and the hotel was very clean and efficient. The location is ideal as we walked to the coliseum and Fountain of Trevi several times during our stay. I would highly recommend this great find!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manarch51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in February. Very convenient location, 10 minutes from Termini bus and train station, can walk anywhere! Stefano, Ana and the staff make you feel at home immediately. European breakfast in the morning (rolls, different cheeses, jams, pastries), delicious coffee and juice. My room was very clean and quiet, WiFi works in common areas. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank siazykova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Esquilino
Aberdeen Hotel
Aberdeen Hotel
#259 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#62 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#119 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Esquilino
Residenza Cellini
Residenza Cellini
#58 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#98 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oceania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oceania

Property: Hotel Oceania
Address: Via Firenze 38, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#119 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#188 Family Hotel in Rome
#196 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Oceania 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Oceania since 1975 is located in an 19th century building in the historic and commercial heart of Rome, within walking distance from the Trevi Fountain, the Quirinale Palace, the Spanish Steps, the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, Piazza Barberini and Via Veneto. Anna, Kira and Roberto, leaded by Stefano, work hard to maintain a caring family atmosphere, provides lots of thoughtful extra touches and lead the guest to a true travel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Oceania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceania Hotel Rome
Hotel Oceania Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing