We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Hotel Oceania in Rome”
Review of Hotel Oceania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Oceania
Ranked #156 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
BLOOMINGTON
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay at Hotel Oceania in Rome”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

One word: EXCELLENT! My wife, mom, dad and I really enjoyed the staff and location of Hotel Oceania. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Rome. We are a walking family, and we walked everywhere, from the Coliseum to Vatican City.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JimCodn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    201
    52
    20
    5
See reviews for
160
239
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Saw Rick Steve's Rome video where he stayed at Hotel Oceania. We booked a superior double room for 4 nights before our cruise. There was plenty of room since we had a bedroom and sitting room to spread out. It was our first visit to Rome and we were very pleased with our hotel choice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was good and plentiful and free internet. Bathroom very clean and received clean towels everyday. Close to Metro, buses and Termini station. Would stay at Hotel Oceania again.

Room Tip: We were in room #19 facing the court yard - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Staying at Hotel Oceania was absolutely perfect and would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a small, comfortable, cozy hotel where the staff treats you like family. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and spotless with a large bathroom and very hot shower. The staff is exceptional and willing to help with anything from additional towels to tips on Rome sightseeing. Right off of Via Nationale in the center of the city, the hotel is steps from Termini Train Station, Place de Republica and all metro/bus lines that lead anywhere in the city. Breakfast is served every morning and includes delightful cakes and treats, as well as fresh baked bread, tea, coffee and juice served by the generous staff. This hotel is a gem that you shouldn't miss while spending time in Rome!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 6 nights traveling with friends, short walk to bus,metro and very easy access to all we wanted to see in Rome. Room 12 was clean large and housekeeping brought extra blankets without being asked when temps dropped. Our bathroom was clean as check in each day with spotless linens and mopped floor. Lobby area nice to gather with friends to plan the next day. After 39 days touring Italy it was our best breakfast and staff warm and helpful. Well run hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

the location was great. the stairs up to the ancient elevator a problem. located on 3rd floor. bathroom tile very dangerous,easy to slip and fall. we left before the breakfast and the one to go was sub par.

Room Tip: avoid a lot of stairs with luggage. tiny antique elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcs2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Small, crisp, cozy, pleasant breakfast, helpful staff. 3 short blocks to bus/Metro. 5+ blocks to Termani train station. Given the price, you will not be disappointed.
We enjoyed the nice front room where we drank wine and compared notes with other travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I am terribly belated in writing this review. My sister and I stayed at Oceania for four days in Rome this past August. WONDERFUL hotel. It's near the train station rather than the more touristy section of Rome but we did not find that to be an inconvenience in the slightest. The room was very roomy, the bathroom a dream, the owners and staff sooo welcoming and the air-conditioning in 100-degree-plus August a gift I have no words for. There is a delightful bar that serves the best cappuccino we had during our entire visit to Italy (we ate breakfast at the hotel, had our double-caffeine jolt around the corner and then started our day). The hotel was just lovely, the price fit our budget and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bp188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#132 of 1,256 in Rome
1,266 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#97 of 1,256 in Rome
801 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#98 of 1,256 in Rome
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#60 of 1,256 in Rome
708 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#133 of 1,256 in Rome
1,170 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#94 of 1,256 in Rome
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oceania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oceania

Property: Hotel Oceania
Address: Via Firenze 38, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#117 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#188 Family Hotel in Rome
#196 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Oceania 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Oceania since 1975 is located in an 19th century building in the historic and commercial heart of Rome, within walking distance from the Trevi Fountain, the Quirinale Palace, the Spanish Steps, the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, Piazza Barberini and Via Veneto. Anna, Kira and Roberto, leaded by Stefano, work hard to maintain a caring family atmosphere, provides lots of thoughtful extra touches and lead the guest to a true travel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Oceania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceania Hotel Rome
Hotel Oceania Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing