We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa della Fonte Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa della Fonte Guest House
Ranked #544 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our stay for 6 nights in this hotel was an excellent starting point for all our expeditions into old Rome. The room was nice and very clean, staff very friendly and service minded. The hotel is small and it feels like coming home after a long day walking, a lot of nice restaurants in nearby area, busy piazza buzzing of life and artists gives you a feeling of real Italy. I will for sure stay there for my next visit to Rome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VAJacobsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    45
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
73
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

A darling little 5room hotel in the heart of Trastevere, just immediately
Off of Piazza Santa Maria. Comfortable everything. I stayed with a Friend in Oct. /0-3 for 9 days.
The one draw back is the noise. The Piazza is alive until wee hours
And the din was incredible... If you don't mind roman street noise
This is a charming place to stay, but bring ear plugs and wear them
All night. Never mind bringing a clock as the clock in the square lets
You know the hour at 15minute intervals. Aside from that, the staff
Couldn't be more wonderful. Even with the racket, we loved it.

Room Tip: There are only 5. The are small, with nice bathrooms as long as you Are not very large. The entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slipsett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

From the moment i rang the door bell, i was greeted by the very hospitable Claudio. He made my stay enjoyable and comftorable, nothing was too much trouble. He even came to find me when i called lost in the middle of Rome!! Going way beyond the call of duty. Thank you Claudio, i would never had got to the villa otherwise. The location great, rooms clean and everything you need, definetly will be back at villa della fonte,loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripWithNia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Went to Rome for a combination of work and vacation, and stayed here for 6 nights in September with a friend. Lovely location next to the beautiful Piazza Santa Maria, friendly staff and homely atmosphere. We enjoyed our breakfast on the nice and airy patio, as well as afternoons with take-away antipasti and prosecco. The room was very clean and decent. We stayed in room no.5. Noise from the piazza and the bar outside, but it did not bother us, on the contrary it brought some flavour of everyday-life and was one of the reasons we stayed here and not in a bigger hotel in the centre. Many good restaurants nearby. A superb place to stay when exploring Rome!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here in May for 4 nights. The hotel's strongest plus is its location as you are in the heart of a lovely area of Rome where there is plenty of life and character. It was slightly noisy in the square nearby at night but that didn't bother us. It was more than made up for by the number of places to eat nearby and the ability to walk to many of the major sights.We walked to the Vatican, the Coloseum, Piazza Novona, Trevi etc from here.We are happy little wanderers!

The hotel tself is small, only 5 rooms, so you don't get public areas and much contact with other guests apart from breakfast on the terrace, which is very pleasant if the weather is good enough. The breakfast itself is a little basic, like many in Italy, and needs to be chosen the previous night but that is a minor niggle from someone who likes a big and varied breakfast-and I know that many others aren't so bothered.

Everything is clean and comfortable and the staff are helpful. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merriott-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was my first trip to the Eternal City, and I couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. Villa della Fonte is tucked away in a little alleyway off the piazza, and whilst Trastevere is full of tourists, there are plenty of well-priced little restaurants and hidden corners to discover that feel as if they haven't changed for centuries. The staff were very friendly, willing to share great restaurant recommendations and help with anything we needed. Breakfast is varied, with plenty of options that you can select from the day before (cereals, croissants, juices, bread rolls, coffees, etc.), and can be eaten outside on the beautiful little terrace in summer. We stayed in Rooms 4+5, which were fairly spacious and had air-conditioning and double-glazing on the windows, which meant that noise was never a problem for us. Trastevere was a welcome home-from-home after hours of traipsing through busy Roman streets, and after a simple supper and some gelati, Villa della Fonte was a fitting place to rest our weary feet - I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Rooms 4+5 appear to be quieter than the others, and are in a separate wing - perfect for 3-4 people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillerød
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The location at Santa Maria Square is excelent, especially the evening atmosphere is fantastic. The room, the beds and the bathroom were very good. The cleaning and maintenance of the room was perfect. The service in general was very friendly and very helpful. The terrace is gordious both for breakfast and for relaxacation at afternoon and evening. It would be nice if it was still unlocked after 22 o'clock. We also recommend some comfortable chairs for afternoon use. Breakfast was ok except that the coffee was not hot. We recommend thermobottles for the coffee. We had a perfect vacation: Starting the days with the highlights in Rome, then back to Villa della Fonte to relax for a couple of hours and finally have the dinner in Transtevere.
Best Regards, Kirsten, Amanda and Niels Jørgensen

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niels J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#511 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel La Rovere
Hotel La Rovere
#245 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#286 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
#517 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa della Fonte Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa della Fonte Guest House

Property: Villa della Fonte Guest House
Address: Via della Fonte d'Olio 8 | Trastevere, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#158 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa della Fonte Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Della Fonte Guest House Hotel Rome
Hotel Della Fonte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing