We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa della Fonte
Nearby Hotels
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
$384
$288
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$213
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$244
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
$311
$262
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$320
$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$193
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$474
$363
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
$181
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
$148
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Palazzo Naiadi(Rome)
$409
$381
Autograph
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
106
48
10
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
48
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiazza santa mariaguest housetrastevere neighborhoodbreakfast in bedrooftop terraceenjoyed our stayrestaurants and shopsyogurtstay there againstayed here for nightsdecent sizeamazing locationaround the cornerhamtaxivaticanfountain
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 169 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The location at Santa Maria Square is excelent, especially the evening atmosphere is fantastic. The room, the beds and the bathroom were very good. The cleaning and maintenance of the room was perfect. The service in general was very friendly and very helpful. The terrace is gordious both for breakfast and for relaxacation at afternoon and evening. It would be nice if it was still unlocked after 22 o'clock. We also recommend some comfortable chairs for afternoon use. Breakfast was ok except that the coffee was not hot. We recommend thermobottles for the coffee. We had a perfect vacation: Starting the days with the highlights in Rome, then back to Villa della Fonte to relax for a couple of hours and finally have the dinner in Transtevere.
Best Regards, Kirsten, Amanda and Niels Jørgensen

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niels J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I am a frequent visitor to the Eternal City. My family is from the Trastevere neighborhood so I try to stay there as much as possible. I had tried several hotels/B&B's in an attempt to immerse myself in Roman lifestyle while at the same time giving myself the American comforts I have (unfortunately) become accustomed to. After years of hit or misses I have finally found my home away from home. Villa della Fonte is as close to perfect as it gets. The rooms were modest but spotless, comfortable, cool (a not so small miracle in July) and charming. The staff was unbelievable. From the front desk to the maids to the delightful old woman who made us our cappuccino and cornetti. They were truly magnificent. On top of all this, the hotel was just off of Piazza Santa Maria in Trastevere. For those of you who want to be within walking distance of the major attractions, but want to experience la dolce vita of the old Roman neighborhoods, this is the location for you. My home may be in the United States, but my heart will forever and always remain in Trastevere. I have only one bit of advice....do not hesitate, don't think about it, stop questioning, and BOOK THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

well if you like comfortable beds and clean outside surroundings, this is not a place for you. We were already tired travelers and these beds are like sleeping on the floor. While it's a cute small "villa", it's in a plaza that is so busy and crowded that it's hard to enjoy b/c it's so overwhelming. Too many people doing nothing in the piazza and while you are just around the corner from the action, you can sometimes hear it all night long along with the hourly church bell rings. The rooms look like décor was bought at the goodwill (used) and the patio is cute but has little shade and no service (no cold drinks or anything to help cool down and relax). The people are nice and helpful and they do give you whatever you want to eat for breakfast with declicious coffee but you must order it the night before. The outside area is filthy b/c of so many people living, touring there so be careful.
If you walk to the right away from the plaza, just around the corner there are very inexpensive restaurants with very good food and I think it's where the locals go. If you exist to the left to the Sta Maria piazza it will be pricey and touristy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelpnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villafonte, Proprietario at Villa della Fonte, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you for choosing Villa della Fonte for you stay in Rome, and for your positive comment on our home-made coffee.

We are very sorry that you didn’t enjoy our furniture's, because, due to the antiquity of the building (XVII century), our furniture is made by specialize craftsmen.

Regarding the noise during the night, Villa della Fonte is located close by one of the most important historical square in Roma, Piazza Santa Maria in Trastevere(pedestrian area), one of the principal meetting point for turist and italian people.

For this reason, our beautiful neighborhood has been chosen by many foreigners as a residence or point of reference, because Trastevere with its narrow streets, its squares, and its varied colors always gives magical atmosphere.

Our Best Rgard,
Villa della Fonte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife, mother-in-law, and I stayed here for 5 days and we loved it. From the quaint rooms to the amazing breakfast on the terrace, it was a little slice of quiet in a busy city.

We like staying in Trastevere because it is away from many tourists and more Roman than the tourist traps. Good local food is nearby. Rooms are small, but not cramped.

Laundry can be done around the corner.

Don't be put off by the entry of this place. Graffiti does not indicate a bad area. This holds true for many areas of Europe.

Room Tip: Room 1 will give you a view of the square.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A fantastic little hotel very well located on a quaint side street in Trastevere. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was truly memorable, especially the generous chocolate croissants!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobynK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews