We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb little hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa della Fonte Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa della Fonte Guest House
Ranked #544 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2008

Very impressed by this hotel located just off the a beautiful square, which comes alive at night with restuarants and people milling around the fountain - just as imagine Rome to be! Lovely staff who are extremely helpful - despite my poor Italian! The breakfast is also v good - served on the terrace part of which looks out to the square. Rooms are well fitted out and v clean. Location is also excellent, being a 20 minute walk along the river to the vatican and easy walking distance to many of the other sites, with the added benefit of being 5 minutes from a the major bus routes.
All round you just cant fault it

  • Liked — Excellent room, staff, location
  • Disliked — Nothing, all better than expected for the money
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knightyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    45
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
73
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

When I was planning my trip through Italy I had the most difficult time choosing a hotel in Rome. While I thought traveling off season would provide better rates, I was surely mistaken so I was a bit defeated in the idea of paying upwards of $200 a night for a not so great hotel in Rome, particularly when I booked a top 4-star hotel in Nice, France. Needless to say, I read a review about this B&B from another poster and booked it right away.

The rate I received was decent; it averaged just under $150 per night and I thought that was great considering the area. We wanted to be close to central Rome but still wanted a neighborhood type feel with many restaurants within walking distance. Villa della Fonte was the perfect fit, although it will not work for everybody. While this is not a B&B, it is not a hotel either, it's something in-between. So, the quarters are close, don't take large pieces of luggage becuase you'll have a hard time with the narrow staircase. And the rooms are a decent size but still small.

Villa della Fonte is located right off Piazza Santa Maria. Be mindful, some cabs will drop you off just outside of Piazza Santa Maria, I guess cars are not allowed, although we did see a couple a few times. It was by pure luck that I choose the right street to walk down, so we had no problem finding the hotel. So, keep in mind, either get dropped right near the Piazza or walk to the Piazza. You'll see the Santa Maria church, diagnoally there is a cafe (can't remember the name), the hotel is right around the corner, there is a sushi restaurant right before you hit Villa della Fonte.

You will have to ring the front desk to open the door, and you'll need to leave your key each time you leave the establishment. We never encountered a problem of the front desk clerk not being there. As mentioned before, the staircase is very narrow but the rooms are nice and clean. The bathroom was rather larger and we had zero problems with noise from the Piazza, but we did hear noise within the establishment. It was quiet for the most part except in the morning, you really can hear everything in the morning, so no sleeping in. The bed happened to be the best bed we slept in throughout our trip, even better than the hotel in Nice.

Overall, we were pleased with our choice and I would recommend it for a couple or single traveler.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing Really
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dewtrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2007

A two-night weekend stay, this is a fantastic little gem. Friendly staff, nice clean rooms and a tasty breakfast brought to your room. Great location in Trastavere with some fantastic little shops and restaurants. Decent sized bathroom and comfy bed.
A great restuarant nearby is Alle Fratte di Trastvere. Would be sure to stay again if we return to Rome.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank NZgirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2007

This hotel is located in a great part of Rome called Trastavere. The hotel is surrounded by great cafes and restaurants. You can spend the day roaming the streets of Trastavere, or take a short walk over the river to Campo dei Fiori for some good people watching and amazing baked goods. If you want a hotel that is perfect for a relaxed, cafe frequenting trip to rome, this is the hotel for you

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hard Bed
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank michaelmelton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burntwood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2007

my friend and i stayed 5 nights at the villa della fonte in september. The hotel was spotlessly clean and our room was spacious and comfortable.The location is brilliant for all the major sights especially at night with so many bars and restaurants close by .
We also felt very safe at night being two ladies on our own.We would highly recomend this hotel and would stay there again

  • Liked — location roof terrace
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank annandronBurntwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2007

We stayed here for 5 nights and found the Villa della Fonte to be better than we had expected. The room was quite a good size and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom was a reasonable size and very clean. The hotel staff were very helpfull and our room was cleaned thoroughly every day. As the hotel is situated virtualy on the Plazza Sants Marie we were a bit concerned about the noise, however once the windows were shut there is little or no noise. The major attractions of Rome are within 15-20 min walking distance and we had little trouble finding them.
We would certainly stay here again and would highly recommend the Villa della Fonte

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcb-au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2007

I loved the Villa Della Fonte! Located in Trastevere, off of the Piazza Santa Maria, the location is ideal. While Trastevere is a bit far from some sights in Rome, it is a great way to feel like you're part of a neighborhood and the nightlife is never wanting. Restaurants are spectacular and reasonably priced.

As for the hotel, I had a single room, which was large and very clean. Every single person who works at the hotel is nice and will talk to you about where to go, what to do, etc. Rarely have I encountered such a helpful and friendly hotel staff. I felt like I was part of their little "family" after 6 nights. Breakfast is included as well--coffee, juice, croissant...on a beautiful terrace. The street is quiet, but only a block away from an extremely active nightlife.

My only complaint would be that the air conditioning isn't as cool as it could be, but the other attributes of the hotel more than made up for this small defect.

I will definitely stay there again the next time I am in Rome!

FYI, I booked the hotel through the lonely planet website and it required a 10% deposit.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and location
  • Disliked — The air conditioning isn't that great
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank tripc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#511 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel La Rovere
Hotel La Rovere
#245 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#286 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
#517 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa della Fonte Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa della Fonte Guest House

Property: Villa della Fonte Guest House
Address: Via della Fonte d'Olio 8 | Trastevere, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#158 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Villa della Fonte Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Della Fonte Guest House Hotel Rome
Hotel Della Fonte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing