We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID THIS HOTEL IT IS A NIGHTMARE”
Review of Windrose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Windrose Hotel
Ranked #320 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I booked this hotel through Expedia and dont be fooled by the web photos. On entering the hotel it stank.... the hotel desk manager was arrogant and rude, no friendly welcome.... dont be conned by the free WIFI there is no WIFI, I spoke to other guests and they said they have no internet...... when I pushed and pushed the man at the desk said oh he thinks the internet is broken and maybe tomorrow it will be fixed - I doubted it. Our room key kept on disabling so we could not get in the room. After 2 hours we checked out - unfortunately we could not get our money back. We then went to another hotel with gorgeous staff, no stench and great internet. The room was the size of a matchbox too - I would not go near this hotel - absolutely awful!! There is also a lot of maintenance work going on in the stairwell with all the tools lying around. There is an ashtray outside the lift full of old cigarettes - disgusting.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel, the three stars is self rated, it is NOT 3 stars, more like minus stars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cheryl130661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 640 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

First the good news. A clean and quiet hotel not far from the Shuttle bus stop and Termini train and bus stations Lady on the counter very helpful with information. (provided you can keep up!)
Breakfast included, as was free Wifi, although this was struggling to reach the 4th floor Reception was fine in the lounge, however There was also a pleasant outdoor seating area.

Now the not quite as good news The hotel recommended Green Line Tours (I'll say no more - look at there Trpadvisor entry!) We told them our experiences so if they are still making this recommendation shame on them

Also the hotel across the road is very good food but is the only hotel we went to in Rome which added 15% to our bill - some sert of service charge I assume,

So overall, perfecly OK

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just five minutes walk from local buses and train station, the hotel is easy to find and is on a side street which makes it relatively quiet despite its central location. The rooms, although small are perfectly adequate, they are spotlessy clean as is all of the hotel. The staff are friendly, professional and willing to help with any queries. The breakfast room is small considering the size of the hotel and the breakfast is nothing exciting but enough to set you up for a day of sightseeing. We had a pleasant stay and would definitely return, it is a very nice city hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

As everyone has commented this hotel is ideally situated for transportation and sightseeing, so here’s our basic line up of Pro’s and Con’s for our stay in mid June:
Pro’s:
*Location (close to Termini and within walking distance of most major sights);
*Free WiFi (reception give you an automated code which lasts 72hrs – you can request another after this has expired);
*Mini bar in your room is fairly cheap (there is a “local corner shop”- turn right out of hotel door, take a left on the main road, shop is a few feet away.) Comparison price: small 33cl beer from yr minibar 2.50Euro / “corner shop “ 1.70Euro for 66cl;
*Nice sweet pastry available at breakfast;
*Clean and tidy – both the main hotel and room
*Friendly staff

Con’s
*Rooms are small
*Tv is of no use as only accessible English channel is BBC World News and Tv is about a 12” in size;
*WiFi not fast enough to stream/download and slow internet;
*Bar facilities very limited in both variety of drinks and space (no seating at all)
*Veranda (also a smoking area) only accessible during day /evening. We were told at half past midnight that it would be closed;
*Shower cubicle space is tiny;
*No tea or coffee making facilities in room;
*Terrible tea and coffee at breakfast – if u enjoy a “good cuppa” first thing take your own tea bags and coffee granules
*Mattress hard and only one pillow per person;

Room Tip: The lift seems to take forever - so request a low floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was my 2nd visit within 7 months. Stay for 1 night on 3rd Jun 2013. No hassle check-in and check-out, comes with free broadband WiFi and everying else you need and expect from a a 3 stars hotel. Serve the same breakfast as last time and nothing to compalin about. Will stay again if I ever visit Rome in the future!

Room Tip: WiFi ID and Password will be given FOC. Do request multiple ID & Passwords if you have serveral...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YongK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Many travellers to Rome are quick to dismiss a hotel choice near the Termini train station, but many don't appreciate the significant advantages of such a choice, if mated to a good hotel. Hotel Windrose on Via Gaeta, on the northeast side of Termini Station, is a good choice in this area, and has very few, if any, significant shortcomings. First of all, the logistics: coming from FCO Airport, the hotel is 200 meters from the SIT Shuttle bus stop across from the Royal Santina Hotel on Via Marsala; 450 meters from the Terravision bus stop further along Via Marsala in the direction of the Termini station; and 650 meters from the ATRAL bus stop along Via Giolitti on the southwest side. The platforms of the Trenitalia Leonardo da Vinci airport train are about 750 meters distant (along the Via Giolitti side of Termini). The Museo Nazionale Romano-Terme di Diocleziano and the adjacent Palazzo Massimo alle Terme are within three minutes on foot. The Windrose is on the somewhat "quieter" side of Termini Station, and away from the seedier areas off of Via Giolitti. The streets immediately around the hotel are fine, and there is no sense of danger, apprehension or uncertainty. Via Gaeta is narrow and relatively quiet, and the hotel rooms are quiet too, especially those facing the rear.

While the rooms themselves are smallish and somewhat spartan in lack of decoration, they are squeaky clean and have functioning, individually controlled air conditioning, flat-screen TVs, frigobars and updated bathrooms with small shower stalls. There is an elevator to all room floors, and a large lounge behind the check-in desk. The breakfast room is smaller than what it should be for a hotel with 52 rooms, although the wall-sized mirrors give the area a larger impression. The breakfast itself is plenty in quantity although slightly lacking in quality and variety: in particular, I note the lack of quality/variety cold cuts, cheese and cereals, and no eggs. The juices are also not of high quality (although acceptable), but the warm croissants (one per person, delivered to the table) are better than average for a hotel of this category. Certainly, because most visitors probably stay only one or two nights, these breakfast shortcomings are quite forgettable. Service is friendly and professional.

The primary downside to staying in a hotel near Termini Station, when compared to other areas of town, is lack of "atmosphere" and "character", especially when strolling around after dinner. Nevertheless, visitors who just want to go to sleep after a long day of sightseeing and who prefer the convenience of being close to public transportation/airport connections (especially for early-morning departures and late night arrivals) will appreciate the Windrose for its no-nonsense practicality, cleanliness and moderate rates. I plan to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have just returned from a 5 nights stay in this hotel. I spent 2 weeks inter-railing around Italy and this was by far our least favourite hotel:

- Although very near the train station, too far away from the main attractions
- Breakfast was very basic and the same everyday. The breakfast room was far to small and somethings had to wait for a table. Once you were seated, it was very hard to get up to go the buffet as the tables were too close together
- There was building work going on our floor (3rd) and the workman would start drilling and hammering at 8am.
- Very small room, bathroom and shower
- 2 Single beds rather than 1 double.

The room, however, was clean and we got fresh towels everyday

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Exe Domus Aurea
Exe Domus Aurea
#304 of 1,271 in Rome
611 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Camelia
Hotel Camelia
#142 of 1,271 in Rome
863 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Alexis
Hotel Alexis
#399 of 1,271 in Rome
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Galileo
Hotel Galileo
#365 of 1,271 in Rome
520 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel California
Hotel California
#288 of 1,271 in Rome
889 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#259 of 1,271 in Rome
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windrose Hotel

Address: Via Gaeta 39, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#287 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $72 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windrose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windrose is a three stars superior hotel located in the centre of Rome. Our structure is born of the renovation, made with attention to each detail, of an historical building located in a convenient and prestigious position, so that it offers comfort and tranquillity to its hosts. The Hotel is placed in a strategic position in the heart of the town and it is very close to the Termini Station and well linked to all the most interesting historical, artistic and commercial sites of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Splitty, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Windrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windrose Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing