We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, friendly staff, basic room. Good enough for the price paid!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carlo Alberto House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1,083 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice location, friendly staff, basic room. Good enough for the price paid!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Good location as it is near train station, convenient store and cafes nearby. The neighborhood seems like a side market but the bldg is secured which somehow made us feel safe. The elavator/lift is only good for 3pax, hence for a traveller couple with luggages, you would have to take 2 trips. But those were small matters, the comfortable room and friendly staff made the stay worthwhile. Beside you can eat breakfast (bread, cereal) all you want all day from the dining area.

I would definitely book again if I will go back to Rome. That is IF we would like to be a victim of Pickpocket in Rome again :p

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zepolartim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    43
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
48
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

The boss there is a very nice person, he gives me some useful advice and information about visiting rome city. A very perfect man and having good location because it is very close to the metro station, and the room in this bed and breakfast is very clean.

Thanks you very much!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Xiao X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Carlo Alberto House was very intimate and comfortable. The owners made you feel at home. There was coffee, fruit and cakes available 24 hours a day! Sal, the owner, asked us if we knew where the largest food market was in Rome. We didn't, so he walked with us and showed us where this market was! On our check-out, since we were walking with large bags, he offered, profusely, to assist us with our bags to the train station! (We walked ourselves but wished we had taken his offer...) His wife, and I forget her name, was equally accommodating! She made sure our stay was going to be a superb one. It is an older property but truly Roman in service and accommodations! We have never stayed at a hotel where the owners were truly involved in their business!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for ensuite bathroom. We asked in our emails and they accommodated us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aiea_HawaiiMarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

A nice mix of good place,great owners, reasonable place and central location :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GabrielaBembo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

A nice mix of good place,great owners, reasonable place and central location :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We liked Carlo Alberto house for 3 special reasons: 1) The website well done, with nice photos that demonstrate some care of the details; 2) the ospitality and politeness of the owners; 3) the nice environment. We stayed 2 night and we really enjoyed the atmosphere. Personally I loved the big room with the toilet included, and the common space where to have 24h/day something to eat, coffee and some tea. Having experience of some other roma's hostels, I was positively impressed and would come again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntonioCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My wife and I spent 4 nights in this B & B. The owner Lisa is an nice lady who can speck English, she doesn't leave there, so pls make sure you call her 30 mins before your arrival, or else you will be kept outside in the cold. The room and toilet are clean, spacious, has a homely-feel. Wifi included. Best of all, it's near metro, you can check Google map to know what I mean. But be warned, the B & B is at 4th floor, and the lift is super small, it cannot fit in big guys, so if you got many luggage, be prepared to carry it up to 4th floor. And.... there is no name of the B & B outside the building, that's why you must call Lisa so that she can open the door for you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yapyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carloa2010, Proprietario at Carlo Alberto House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thanks for the positive comments. Regarding your wait, we tried our best to let you in at 8:00 am. We just got stuck in city traffic because of the bus strike. But we apologize, anyway. The elevator is super small, we agree. But if you have extra luggage, there is no limit if you need to go and down a few more times.

We hope too see you and your friends again. Ciao.

Lisa & Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,256 in Rome
2,219 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Alexis
Hotel Alexis
#401 of 1,256 in Rome
241 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#71 of 1,256 in Rome
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
B&B Domus Domas
B&B Domus Domas
#1,247 of 3,643 in Rome
236 reviews
Esquilino
Buonarroti Home
Buonarroti Home
#648 of 3,643 in Rome
328 reviews
Esquilino
Bed & Breakfast Rhome86
Bed & Breakfast Rhome86
#374 of 3,643 in Rome
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlo Alberto House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlo Alberto House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Carlo Alberto House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Via Carlo Alberto 63, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,083 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Carlo Alberto House Bed and Breakfast 1.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlo Alberto House entirely renovated in style and services in April 2012 is located 250 meters from the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore and a few steps from the metro station Vittorio Emanuele, the cozy guest house Carlo Alberto House offers rooms with high ceilings and free Wi-Fi. Our guest house is located next to Piazza Vittorio Emanuele, home to the largest covered market in the city, an outdoor summer cinema, Termini Station and the beautiful Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore. It is a 15 minute walk to the Coliseum and 10 minutes by metro to go to the Vatican. All rooms at the Carlo Alberto House are equipped with LCD TV, fridge, safe and private bathroom with hairdryer and toiletries. The breakfast buffet includes traditional Italian sweet and savory. Guests also have free coffee all day and a kettle for tea.In addition, extra services (on request) type air conditioning, complete set bath sponge, and more, all with courtesy and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Carlo Alberto House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlo Alberto House Hotel Rome
Carlo Alberto House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing