We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”
Review of Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Virginia Hotel
Ranked #827 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel was 10 minutes from Termini station. It's located in an old building with a cafe downstairs. The rooms were quite large for Rome. The bathroom was spacious. We had some issues with the leak in the bathroom. They were not able to fix it so our bathroom floor was wet all the time.
The wifi was pretty strong in the room.
My only other issue is the cigarette smell. Our room was located near the reception so whenever the staff smoked, we can smell it in our room.

This is a decent hotel for someone traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 364 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in Aug 2012, and I must say that I expected more regarding the reviews. The biggest disadvantage is its location, it is located only few streets from the Termini station and like near any other train station in the world there are many (suspicious) people around the streets. Even tough at the reception they convinced me that it's very safe neighborhood I couldn't be convinced. But it's not bad hotel overall, our room was not big but there was enough space for me and my girlfriend however. There are number of bus lines that drive directly to the Trevi fountain, and if you prefer walking, it shouldn't take you more than 20 minutes. Under breakfast coffee and croissant were included. Hotel was clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Overall, not bad for the price, but I believe that there are better hotels for the same price tough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinoo1898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

good hotel, friendly people, not too far from the subway, nice terrace on the street for breakfast, good working airco

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Henk d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The location of the hotel is very good - 10minute's walk from Termini, but if you don't like this route, there are 2 metro stations (both lines) accessible within the same time range.
The hotel itself is OK. The reception staff is very friendly, rooms are cleaned every day and there was air conditioning and a fridge in my room. If you book directly with the hotel, a small breakfast is available in a bar downstairs. There're are lots of eating places in the neighbourhood (avoid a small osteria round the corner - the worst spaghetti carbonara I've eaten in my entire life).
On the negative side: the hotel is a bit run-down - the wallpaper was peeling off in a few places,there were small patches of mould visible in the room and toilet. The curtains and laces in the room need washing. The toilet is rather small and clean. There is no wifi in the place, but you're informed about it while booking.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onia o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel as mentioned by others is a part of an old building a few minutes away from Termini. Compared to other centrally located hotels in Rome, I'm confident to say that this one was certainly one of the most clean and well preserved hotels. Yes people the furniture is a bit outdated and the rooms are quite small, but when in Rome I'm sure that you won't be spending too much time in your hotel room but instead you'll be outside sightseeing. I'll give it a 10 for cleanliness as our towels and sheets were changed every single day during our stay and the girls always tidied our room. Really helpful staff, always willing to help us and on top of that delicious breakfast (order the caffe latte)! What more would you ask for 40 euros per night? It's an unbeatable price for what it is on offer! Enjoy Rome :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yiota V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Clean, utilitarian hotel. Located within a 10 minutes walk from Termini Station, it is at a great location for connectivity to all major tourist attractions. The proximity to Termini ensures a means of transport if you need one (especially at night, when you're tired after all that walking!) The rooms are small, but sufficient. Importantly, they are clean, and the room is made everyday. Bathroom is the standard European style small bathroom, but is clean.
Breakfast & Wifi is included in the hotel cost. For breakfast, you get a voucher for 2 items from the bar/cafe downstairs - 1 food (Cornetto/Cake/Croissant) & 1 drink [Coffee (any style)/Tea/Orange Juice] - perfect to get you going in the morning! The hotel locks the outside doors at 10PM, but there is somebody at the desk all night, and they will let you in when you press the buzzer.
One downside with the place is that the bar downstairs gets pretty noisy at night. We would usually get back to our rooms only around midnight, but the noise from the bars (mostly people-voice - talking, laughing, etc, & not music, thankfully!) would go on until 2:00-2:30 in the morning. We were always tired enough after all the walking during the day (and the glass or two of wine afterwards), and so fell asleep regardless, but I can see how this could be a concern. Apart from this, a good place to stay at. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandS08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
#676 of 1,273 in Rome
144 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Il Papavero
Hotel Il Papavero
#1,003 of 1,273 in Rome
375 reviews
Park Hotel Ginevra
#630 of 1,273 in Rome
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Versailles
#682 of 1,273 in Rome
185 reviews
Esquilino
Locanda Otello
Locanda Otello
#1,091 of 1,273 in Rome
61 reviews
Resort la Rocchetta
#259 of 1,273 in Rome
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Hotel

Address: Via Montebello 94, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #827 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $34 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Virginia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing