We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Virginia Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Eurorooms(Rome)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveler rating
43
133
121
36
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
133
121
36
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini marketmin walksmall fridgesubway stationair conditionerspanish stepselevatorrepublicakeysightseeing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 367 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Clean, utilitarian hotel. Located within a 10 minutes walk from Termini Station, it is at a great location for connectivity to all major tourist attractions. The proximity to Termini ensures a means of transport if you need one (especially at night, when you're tired after all that walking!) The rooms are small, but sufficient. Importantly, they are clean, and the room is made everyday. Bathroom is the standard European style small bathroom, but is clean.
Breakfast & Wifi is included in the hotel cost. For breakfast, you get a voucher for 2 items from the bar/cafe downstairs - 1 food (Cornetto/Cake/Croissant) & 1 drink [Coffee (any style)/Tea/Orange Juice] - perfect to get you going in the morning! The hotel locks the outside doors at 10PM, but there is somebody at the desk all night, and they will let you in when you press the buzzer.
One downside with the place is that the bar downstairs gets pretty noisy at night. We would usually get back to our rooms only around midnight, but the noise from the bars (mostly people-voice - talking, laughing, etc, & not music, thankfully!) would go on until 2:00-2:30 in the morning. We were always tired enough after all the walking during the day (and the glass or two of wine afterwards), and so fell asleep regardless, but I can see how this could be a concern. Apart from this, a good place to stay at. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandS08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Overall the hotel was not bad. Management was friendly, location was great (next to Termini) and there was good food and drinks around the neighborhood.
The hotel IS a bit rundown. BUT, as long as I have a bed, an air conditioner (which isn't a given in most hotel rooms) and quiet I'm fine. The bathroom would be my main issue; ours seemed to clog up so I don't think you could exactly take a long shower before the basin would overflow, and the water pressure wasn't that great, but it's defintely not a deal breaker. Our room was clean and spacious (3 person room.)
I would stay here again. PS.- the restaurant across the street has great food.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bizkette00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The hotel has nothing to do with the photos that are displayed on the internet.The rooms are really really small, the bathroom terrible!You have to not move in order to have a shower!The place also needs restoration, the wall tepistry is faded.But the worst of all is the breakfast.It takes place in the bar downstairs.The owners of the bar not only don't speak a word of english or any other language exept italian, but they are rude and aggresive towards tourists.The serve tee in broken pottery and a misery croissant that nobody really needs.
And for this u have to pay 80 euros per night!
If you respect yourself and your money try something else!

Room Tip: Rome is expensive and for a good room you either have to pay, or find a hotel a liitle bit further of the city center.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank e p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Hotel Virginia as its been publicised on the net is actually a very average bed and breakfast. The owner (management) has definitely tried rather not too successfully to maintain its standard and pull it up trying to make it a hotel but somehow it clearly makes you feel the diffence between a hotel and a typical bed and breakfast.

The location- in terms of proximity from Termini station and Republica stations, yes the hotel is somewhat conveniently located. (10-15 mins walk).

The area- Via Montebello, the street on which the hotel is located is not the best place to walk about in the evenings as you find random run down bars, and drunk men loitering around which does not feel too great. I wouldn't deny nothing untoward that i noticed personally but it does not seem like the best residential street.

The hotel itself is situated inside a building which houses other premises too in a parallel wing. So the entrance to the building looks like some random building and not a hotel. The small reception area is on the first floor which you have to climb as the lift starts from the first level.

The rooms though spacious arena little dated and are only purpose oriented so do not expect luxury or anything close to it. The room I was in (on the 3rd floor) was relatively quieter as it was away from the main street. But everything, from the doors, to the locks, to the bed and taps made noises. The room was air conditioned but I had to collect the remote control from the reception down, who gave me a broken remote control blaming the guys checked out before me for that. The remote control for the tv was missing so I couldn't operate it anyway.

The housekeeping is probably on contract and those guys come and clean the room only in the first half, so if you miss that, you'll be left with an un cleaned room for the night.

There was no telephone instrument in our room. When I inquired down at the reception, the person claimed that its only because there was a telecom up gradation taking place, which I somehow doubt though.

The Breakfast- the saddest part about the place is the breakfast. For breakfast you have to collect a coupon from the reception on the first floor and go down on the ground floor (street) in a bar that serves breakfast, which consists of a very narrow choice of few croissants a doughnut and a choice of a hot drink. Also, it's very limited, so you don't get 2 pieces of the bread that you opted for.

Apart from that, the place can be fine for a group of friends travelling on a budget and taking a room only to spend nights. Also, I must say, that Giorgio at the reception is a very warm and helpful guy, very informative and co operative.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floor to have a quiter room away from the street and the reception.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zaheer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

First of all, the hotel is located in the worst part of Rome.. close (but not super close) to Roma Termini Station, so like a 10-minute walk (which at night can get super sketchy since there's no one on the streets but random homeless people and drunk immigrants)

Then the hotel itself is kind of old, but the accomodation itself is okay.

But what made me absolutely HATE this place was the guy at the front desk. He was super rude the whole time, not helpful, and disrespected me and my friends. When I was paying the bill on the last day, he mumbled "DONNE STUPIDE" (meaning "Stupid Women") when he knew that I spoke Italian because I'd been speaking to him in Italian the whole time. Among other things. He was just terrible

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giselle1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews