We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Private external bathroom"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Margaret Rome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Margaret Rome to your Saves list
Hotel Margaret Rome
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Antonio Salandra 6, 00187 Rome, Italy (Ludovisi / Via Veneto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #806 of 1,285 Hotels in Rome
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"Private external bathroom"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I really liked this hotel. I chose it because of the close location to the central train station (we walked to the hotel from the station carrying our luggage over the bumpy Roman footpaths). The elevator was cool, the staff were really lovely and welcoming (one had excellent English, another had less, but was very friendly anyway), free Wi-Fi, and our bedroom was very spacious (one double bed and one single bed). BUT we had to use a bathroom that was just off the reception and it was TINY! While sitting on the toilet, my knees would almost touch the door. The shower was right next to the toilet. But oh well. It was a good price for a good location. The restaurant across the road was excellent, and the owners/waiters were very friendly and the food was delicious. There's also a good gelato place not far away.

Room Tip: The room with the private external bathroom is a triple that is quite spacious. However, you have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJTAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    50
    39
    16
    10
See reviews for
25
64
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

For Rome, the price was reasonable and the location good. It is in a nice, safe neighborhood and we had no reservations walking around at night. Its proximity to the sites is unbeatable. Like the other reviewers said, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Best of all we found the beds very comfortable and clean. But you are basically renting a dorm room - complete with dorm furniture. Breakfast was basic. The coffee from the machine appallingly bad - actually undrinkable. It is the Roman version of a Motel 6.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtnartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atene
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My room was next to the breakfast room, so noise was terrible every morning from 6.30 a.m. I asked them to give me another room, but there were not any available. They should not have had a room there any way. The staff was ok or most of them. Location is perfect for my standards: 6 min. walk to Termini, 20 min. to Fontana di Trevi, 15 min. to Piazza di Spagna, 30 min. to Ppiazza Navonna, 30 min. to COlosseum, 40 min. to Campo dei fiori, depending of how quickly you can walk. Tv does not show many channels, but you dont really need this in Rome. Before you book, make it sure that you dont get the room next to the reception.

Room Tip: Avoid ABSOLUTELY the room 7 (if I remember right), just next to the breakfast room. It is tiny and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aektsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
3.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Manchester, ME
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed for one night because we were looking to add one night to our stay in Rome but our other hotel was booked for the extra night. We decided on Hotel Margaret because it was affordable and located near-ish to where we wanted to be for the night. Walking distance to the Borghese Gardens/Museum.
The staff was VERY helpful and assisted us in finding the buses we needed to get elsewhere in the city.
The breakfast was sub-par. A hard roll, croissant, and some grapefruit juice. The espresso/cappuccino/coffee was from a machine, not ideal while in Italy, so we got some elsewhere.
The room was very small, which was okay, but the bed wasn't very comfortable and the room felt really stuffy and damp. The bathroom was probably a 5 or 6 out of 10. It was a bit old and smelled pretty bad. It was really damp in the bathroom, as well.
Again, the staff was great and made it a good stay. They allowed us to keep our bags at the hotel after we checked out so we could explore the city some more until we went to our next destination.
The elevator was small but worked great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ribsmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed for five nights with a friend.

Pros: the hotel is located near the main tourist attractions. The price we paid was low and the staff friendly and helpful.

Cons: Te rooms are very small and noisy. The breakfast was rudimentary and of poor quality. Theoretically, our room was claened daily; however there was a lot of dust below the beds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giorgos208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I came here time ago, I was travelling with friends and family. I chose the hotel because of the location. During the days we stayed the lady said that they won´t offer breakfast because they had some stuff to repair in the kitchen.

The place looks very old and not maintained. The rooms are dark, noisy and the shower room are very tiny! It takes quite a while to get hot water.The sheets looked old also and the bed was pretty uncomfortable. I was very ashamed with the people I came with because I was the one who selected this place.

The price is very high for what they really offer....I have seen cleaner hostels or posadas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lunita_desertica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed in Hotel Margaret for four nights on a short break to Rome with my partner and 12 year old son.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable and the beds were made up daily.
I was concerned that it might be noisy but didnt find it noisy at all.
It is close to Termini station and there is a metro stop nearby so it was easy to get to all the major sites in the center if you didnt feel like walking too far.
There was wifi available. The breakfast was okay but basic, just croissant, bread roll, jams, cornflakes, coco pops, fruit squash and a tea and coffee machine available to use.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Be aware that some rooms dont have a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AnyTipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#701 of 1,285 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Esquilino
Nardizzi Americana
Nardizzi Americana
#334 of 1,285 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Louisiana
Hotel Louisiana
#539 of 1,285 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Sallustio
Hotel Sallustio
#955 of 1,285 in Rome
3.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Hotel Versailles
#571 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#651 of 1,285 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Margaret Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margaret Rome

Property: Hotel Margaret Rome
Address: Via Antonio Salandra 6, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #806 of 1,285 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Margaret Rome 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hotel margaret had changed the owner and the imagine of all structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Margaret Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaret Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing