We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Margaret Rome
Ranked #756 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My mom and I stayed at this hotel in September of last year. We wanted a budget hotel and this one fit our budget. I loved this spot because of the staff.

I've read some of the reviews and if you are looking for a high end resort style hotel, then don't look in this price range. For 80 euros per night, it was perfect. It is very close to the train station (a few minutes walk away which wasn't bad even though we had backpacks).

We were backpacking and this was our first stop and we fell in love. Monica is absolutely amazing! She is just such a beautiful woman!! She speaks great English and is so helpful with the tourist attractions in the city. She's a true gem.

Every morning we woke up to fresh baked croissants made by the same lady who was in early to make them and then to clean the rooms. They were so delicious and had a light dusting of icing sugar. Plenty of tea, coffee and juice at all hours!

The rooms may be small and the bathrooms outdated but it's clean and everything else makes up for it and really, you're in Rome...who cares :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Linleymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 171 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2011

Very nice place to stay in Rome, good location close to train station. Clean and tidy room (traditional decor), very helpful staff and excellent breakfast included in the price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank lp2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

This was my first time in Rome - a great hotel for a short stay, cheap, clean and with really friendly and helpful staff. Easy to find from Termini Station too. I have already booked back in for a slightly longer stay next time I am travelling through Rome.

Room Tip: The single room is very small - go for a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank ianandjoc4y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Excellent budget accommodation with abit of style and feeling of an hotel. We stayed for 3 nights and we werent expecting to much. It's reasonably clean and is tidy every day. Yes the bathroom is small but for 87 euro it's excellent there is wifi and small breakfast 2 pastries and serial simple machine coffee and juice with packet toast. It's on the 4th floor but with elevator and close to buses from termini station (ie bus 84) and to repulic square metroe. We are a young coupe 26 and 27 and we walked from the hotel to all of ancient Rome district including colosseum for example the trevi fountain is approx 1.4 km away and it's a nice walk. Another plus is that it's just off from the tourist area and some nice budget resturAnts in the area. To conclude this is 2 star hotel is perfect for our needs and hate backpacker hostels. If your looking for a4 star hotel keep in mind this is not the place.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

It's situated on the 4th floor of a large building & served by a small (2 person but rated 4) old, cage lift. Not easy access for the disabled. My room was small and overlooked the street which was noisy from about 6am, but double glazing did help. Had air con, and shower en suite. TV had no Engish language programmes, which I would liked to have had for News. Breakfast is continental but orange juice was from powder and coffee from machine was! well, not to my liking, had to drink tea. Rolls were nice though.
However the staff were really helpful and the room was comfortable enough. Good little resturant (Giovanni's) opposite. For the price it was good value. I would use it again.

Room Tip: rooms 1 - 5 overlook the street, try to avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank LondonMurph65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Rome is an expensive city so it was difficult to find a spot in our budget. Thus, we landed at Margaret on a tip from Rick Steve's book. Sure enough they had a room available on the same day. Room was a bit older with some stains throughout, but you learn to accept that in Europe. Cleanliness was ok, not the cleanest place I have stayed but not the worst. Location was good, close to Termini and other public transport, as well as an easy hike to the sites. Breakfast was ok, a few cereals and pastries to choose from. Best part of the stay was the girl who worked the front desk, great to chat with!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erin77nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

3 day visit to pick up on sites missed on previous trips. Hotel Margaret is an easy 10 minute walk from Termini Railway Station. It's also a short and interesting walk to Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. Metro stop 'Repubblica' three minutes away. Also bus stops 1 minute away including the express buses which serve all the major sites. If staying for three days buy 25 euro Roma Pass, we were in profit after 1st day. Hotel is on 4th floor of typical Roman appartment building, with lift available. Room and ensuite were comfortable and clean, linen and towels changed daily. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast is light continental, enough to keep you going before indulging in a Roman lunch. Would not hesitate to use this hotel for future visits.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gashead_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Louisiana
Hotel Louisiana
#507 of 1,271 in Rome
269 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#893 of 1,271 in Rome
422 reviews
Esquilino
Nardizzi Americana
Nardizzi Americana
#269 of 1,271 in Rome
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#708 of 1,271 in Rome
160 reviews
Esquilino
Giorgina
Giorgina
#714 of 1,271 in Rome
216 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Albergo Piave
Albergo Piave
#500 of 1,271 in Rome
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Margaret Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margaret Rome

Address: Via Antonio Salandra 6, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #756 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $50 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Margaret Rome 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Margaret Had Changed The Owner And The Imagine Of All Structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Margaret Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaret Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing