We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Loved the staff!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Margaret Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Margaret Rome
Ranked #738 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the staff!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

My mom and I stayed at this hotel in September of last year. We wanted a budget hotel and this one fit our budget. I loved this spot because of the staff.

I've read some of the reviews and if you are looking for a high end resort style hotel, then don't look in this price range. For 80 euros per night, it was perfect. It is very close to the train station (a few minutes walk away which wasn't bad even though we had backpacks).

We were backpacking and this was our first stop and we fell in love. Monica is absolutely amazing! She is just such a beautiful woman!! She speaks great English and is so helpful with the tourist attractions in the city. She's a true gem.

Every morning we woke up to fresh baked croissants made by the same lady who was in early to make them and then to clean the rooms. They were so delicious and had a light dusting of icing sugar. Plenty of tea, coffee and juice at all hours!

The rooms may be small and the bathrooms outdated but it's clean and everything else makes up for it and really, you're in Rome...who cares :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linleymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    56
    41
    16
    11
See reviews for
26
73
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Very nice place to stay in Rome, good location close to train station. Clean and tidy room (traditional decor), very helpful staff and excellent breakfast included in the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank lp2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

This was my first time in Rome - a great hotel for a short stay, cheap, clean and with really friendly and helpful staff. Easy to find from Termini Station too. I have already booked back in for a slightly longer stay next time I am travelling through Rome.

Room Tip: The single room is very small - go for a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank ianandjoc4y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Excellent budget accommodation with abit of style and feeling of an hotel. We stayed for 3 nights and we werent expecting to much. It's reasonably clean and is tidy every day. Yes the bathroom is small but for 87 euro it's excellent there is wifi and small breakfast 2 pastries and serial simple machine coffee and juice with packet toast. It's on the 4th floor but with elevator and close to buses from termini station (ie bus 84) and to repulic square metroe. We are a young coupe 26 and 27 and we walked from the hotel to all of ancient Rome district including colosseum for example the trevi fountain is approx 1.4 km away and it's a nice walk. Another plus is that it's just off from the tourist area and some nice budget resturAnts in the area. To conclude this is 2 star hotel is perfect for our needs and hate backpacker hostels. If your looking for a4 star hotel keep in mind this is not the place.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

It's situated on the 4th floor of a large building & served by a small (2 person but rated 4) old, cage lift. Not easy access for the disabled. My room was small and overlooked the street which was noisy from about 6am, but double glazing did help. Had air con, and shower en suite. TV had no Engish language programmes, which I would liked to have had for News. Breakfast is continental but orange juice was from powder and coffee from machine was! well, not to my liking, had to drink tea. Rolls were nice though.
However the staff were really helpful and the room was comfortable enough. Good little resturant (Giovanni's) opposite. For the price it was good value. I would use it again.

Room Tip: rooms 1 - 5 overlook the street, try to avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank LondonMurph65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Rome is an expensive city so it was difficult to find a spot in our budget. Thus, we landed at Margaret on a tip from Rick Steve's book. Sure enough they had a room available on the same day. Room was a bit older with some stains throughout, but you learn to accept that in Europe. Cleanliness was ok, not the cleanest place I have stayed but not the worst. Location was good, close to Termini and other public transport, as well as an easy hike to the sites. Breakfast was ok, a few cereals and pastries to choose from. Best part of the stay was the girl who worked the front desk, great to chat with!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erin77nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

3 day visit to pick up on sites missed on previous trips. Hotel Margaret is an easy 10 minute walk from Termini Railway Station. It's also a short and interesting walk to Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. Metro stop 'Repubblica' three minutes away. Also bus stops 1 minute away including the express buses which serve all the major sites. If staying for three days buy 25 euro Roma Pass, we were in profit after 1st day. Hotel is on 4th floor of typical Roman appartment building, with lift available. Room and ensuite were comfortable and clean, linen and towels changed daily. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast is light continental, enough to keep you going before indulging in a Roman lunch. Would not hesitate to use this hotel for future visits.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gashead_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Louisiana
Hotel Louisiana
#494 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Esquilino
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#717 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#689 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#718 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Hotel Versailles
#604 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Giotto Flavia
Hotel Giotto Flavia
#1,058 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Margaret Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margaret Rome

Property: Hotel Margaret Rome
Address: Via Antonio Salandra 6, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #738 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Margaret Rome 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hotel margaret had changed the owner and the imagine of all structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Margaret Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaret Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing