We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this one”
Review of Hotel Stella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Stella
Ranked #684 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Booked by travel company for a 3 night stay prior to a cruise. Room was EXTREMELY small, could practically touch all four walls, double bed fitted in just, about 12 inches either side, could not close bathroom door if sitting on the loo !!! Breakfast room was too small for the number of guests, had to wait for a seat each morning. Requested another room,but receptionist was rude and said "that's what you paid for." I was willing to pay extra for a larger room but didn't get the chance. There was a 2 star hotel next door which looked better.
Only good thing was it was centrally located and we found a great restuarant a street away.It was called Steak House, and although the name doesn't sound Italian, it served local dishes and very inexpensive, 3 courses + coffee + wine 30 Euros for 2.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bryce d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 539 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed here with 3 friends - 4 bedded, ensuite room, for 4 nights. It was a comfortable corner room with two windows and 4 single beds with a bedsde table at 3. Bedds and pillows were comnfortable and very clean. Bathroom was big enough and clean, with fresh towels. It didnt feel cramped and the wardrobe was big enough for a short break. Quiet location but in walking distance, even with cases, to termini (we got dropped of here on the airport bus). Easy to walk to most of the main attractions, but we did get a 3 day bus ticket to hop on an off on a circular route which was excellent value and saved our feet in the heat of August. However, we walked back several times.
The lift was old but worked ok and the breakfast was basic but for the money we weren't complaining (included in the room rate) - typical continetal breakfast which filled a gap until lunch, quite adequate.
The reception was small but the staff were fairly helpful; rang up about an excursion for us and booked us a taxi back to the airport for our return journey. Had a safe so we could leave passports, money. laptops etc. Could buy bottled water too which was handy - there was a fridge in the room which we found invaluable.
Hotel was 100 euros per night in August 2012. I would recommend this hotel and would definately stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Our 4 bedded room was on the second floor but I cant remember the number. I think it was directly ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maxine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and i stayed for 2 nights and it was just what we wanted, it was walking distance for everything including getting the Metro. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would go back there but would ask where my kettle was in room for making a brew !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDM451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Had an overnight stay on my way to a cruise the next day.

Pros
Good location, walking distance from Termini, about 10 minutes with luggage and hotel easy to find.
Good rate for a single 60 euros including breakfast, free wifi, tea&coffee facilities in room and a safe.
Room was really large and overlooked the street, I didn't have any issues with the street noise.
Rooms were very well maintained. 
Building had an elevator, this is a big plus for me
Decent breakfast, I had the coffee and cereal. The bread roll wasn't very nice.

Cons
What's with the linen towels? Seriously they do not absorb anywhere near the capacity of an 'normal' towel, was not a good experience.
Be aware that the building isn't just the hotel and people can wander in from the street.  When I was there a guest had her handbag stolen from the 2nd floor breakfast room. I had breakfast in there about 15 minutes later and the breakfast attendant didn't mention the incident and I also left my bag at the table to grab some cereal

The good outweighed the bad but when you're travelling alone, security/safety is the number one issue so I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allblacks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

All in all the best thing about this hotel is the location - 5 minutes away from Termini station - and on the right side of the tracks. The staff are very friendly, and you will often find someone who speaks English - during the day!! Small elevator, but this is what you would expect for central Rome - and having stayed in many places in Rome - the rooms are actually a little larger than usual!

A tiny bit more expensive than what you can get if you are looking hard but still a safe bet and good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is a 5 minute walk from the termini station and about a 15 minute walk from the coleseum. It's quite basic inside and breakfast wasn't very imaginative, however the rooms were always kept clean and were a decent size.
I would be happy to use this as a base again and you are close to countless pizzerias and cafes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gem419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Great location 5 mins from termini station, stayed only the one night. We arrived in the evening and left again again in the morning so we didn't want to pay too much. Paid €70 for a double room with breakfast. The Air conditioning great, room basic but clean, for that price it was great value. Breakfast basic but quite adequate, staff helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rlo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#271 of 1,270 in Rome
971 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#730 of 1,270 in Rome
281 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Katty
Hotel Katty
#542 of 1,270 in Rome
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#1,030 of 1,270 in Rome
955 reviews
Esquilino
Astoria Garden
Astoria Garden
#390 of 1,270 in Rome
688 reviews
Esquilino
Domus Sessoriana
Domus Sessoriana
#300 of 1,270 in Rome
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella

Address: Via Castelfidardo 51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #684 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $51 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Stella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Hotel Rome
Hotel Stella Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing