We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value, tastefully decorated with attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
River Chateau Hotel
Ranked #312 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent three nights in the hotel and couldn't have been happier with our room. It was 4+ value. The varied breakfast thoroughly satisfied all our hearty appetites. We were concerned that it may be too far from downtown Rome but found the trip by public transport took no longer than 20 minutes. We also enjoyed dining at night at some of the local hot spots. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunniwagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 373 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have just returned from a three night stay at this hotel and the quality of the stay was certainly 4 star+. We had as suggested asked for a balcony room and room 409 overlooking the front exceeded our expectations.The hotel is out of town but a short walk over the Milvio bridge and you come to the bus and tram terminus. A 1.5 Euro ticket takes you by tram to Popolo from where you can walk down the Via De Corsa or catch the Metro to the Coliseum. We ate in the Hotel the first night and enjoyed the meal and the wine. There is also a bar whch serves drinks and free Tapas in the evenings. The hotel arranged a very efficient transfer back to the airport for 55 Euros.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myrnandbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent 5 nights here at the beginning of September. I was wary about the location of the hotel but found that the transport in Rome is good enough to warrant being a little bit out of the centre. We got a CIS ticket from the Metro station and this meant we could travel by bus, tram or metro for a whole week for only around £24 each. There are two ways to get to the hotel, either get the Metro line A to Ottaviano and then catch the number 32 bus until you get to the Milvian bridge and the hotel is less than 5 minutes from there. We preferred to catch the number 2 tram from the Piazza del Popolo which stopped at the other side of the bridge, that just left a short 10 minute walk to the hotel across the beautiful bridge.
The hotel itself was of an excellent standard, the rooms were beautifully finished to a high standard and cleaned thoroughly each day. We had a Standard double room which had a lovely little balcony. We even had dressing gown and slippers.
The breakfast was fantastic, I ate so much smoked salmon each morning. There was a lot of variety and everything was perfect, I recommend the Caffe Latte to drink with your breakfast.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanyaLouise11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have spent three nights at the hotel. We have paid that little extra to have a bigger room with balcony. As we arrived late in the evening and got our room key, the balcony was not to be found. Room was nice and specious and the bathroom was really nice with a tub and a separate shower. They couldn't provide us a room with balcony until the day after. We finally got one but it was much smaller and I doubt it was what we paid for. Nice restaurant just left from the hotel. We took a bus 224 to the metro station or simply all the way to the city centre. Nice hotel but I wouldn't pay the full price for it.

Room Tip: Room 209 had a fantastic bathroom and a huge bed if you do not need a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnitaMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I booked a suite for two periods: 3-6 september and 11-15 september, about 2 months in advance, and got confirmation thereof.
But, at my arrival, on 3rd september 2012, they said to me: 'Unfortunately, there is no room for you', and carried me to another hotel, about 7 km far from there.
I think it is lack of reliability.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank goodboy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRiverHotels, Direttore generale at River Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry that we were not able to confirm your reservation at the River Chateau Hotel. We did our best to solve the problem of your booking. We booked a room for you at our sister hotel (River Palace Hotel), which I'm glad you liked. The River Palace Hotel is located 4 Km south on Via Flaminia close to Popolo Square.
I do understand that this situation might be frustrating, but we tried very hard to give the best assistance possible.

I hope you'll give us a new chance in the near future.

Michele Scandellari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We booked this hotel based on reviews and weren't disappointed. The only down side was that we had tickets for a concert and had to forgo it as it would have been impossible to get back after the concert was over. Don't believe Google Maps - the hotel was placed close to Piazza del Popolo on Google Maps. It's nowhere near there.
There are plenty of Restaurants nearby. We also ate in the hotel one night. Food was excellent although choice was a little limited. Breakfast was great with a choice of hot or cold food. We had a room with a balcony and enjoyed sitting out with a glass of wine on a warm summer evening.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveanddore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Myself and my fiance stayed at this hotel for 3 nights recently. I had booked it based on reviews on trip advisor and it lived up to my expectations. However the major drawback to this hotel is it's distance from the centre of Rome. Our trip started badly as we were ripped off by a taxi driver who brought us from Termini to the hotel. We asked him before we got in how much it would cost to the hotel but he would not give us a straight answer and it transpired he didn't know where the hotel was. He never turned on the taxi meter and when we finally arrived at the hotel he charged us 35 euros for a trip that should only have cost 15.
From then on we used public transport, getting a tram from Flaminio to Popolo and then the metro to get around everywhere else. We found that this would add about an hour on to our travel each day and you couldn't really go back to the hotel during the day for a rest as it was too much of a trek. I can't really complain though as we knew in advance what to expect.
The room we had was beautiful and very big for a Roman hotel, with a beautiful balcony. It was very clean and the bathroom was beautiful.
Breakfast every morning was great with a large selection of cold meats, fruit and pastries.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ai0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Farnesina Hotel
#1,035 of 1,271 in Rome
182 reviews
Grand Hotel Fleming
#465 of 1,271 in Rome
1,321 reviews
Flaminio
Residence Sacconi
Residence Sacconi
#773 of 1,271 in Rome
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Maria Regina
#608 of 1,271 in Rome
344 reviews
Flaminio
Villa Glori Hotel
Villa Glori Hotel
#213 of 1,271 in Rome
778 reviews
JC Hotel
#436 of 1,271 in Rome
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Chateau Hotel

Address: Via Flaminia 520, 00191 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Business Hotel in Rome
#147 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#164 Family Hotel in Rome
#167 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $110 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Chateau Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Splitty, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your River Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Chateau Rome
Hotel River Chateau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing