We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit on the small side but very clean and loved the service”
Review of Hotel Fellini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fellini
Ranked #151 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Nice room: very clean. Can't hear noise from the road. Rather small for 3 people but manageable. Bathroom has towel heaters!
Great service: We checked in quite late at night and the hotel starts at the 3rd (or the 4th?) floor of the building. Somebody met us downstairs and helped with the bags. Volunteered tourist info like where the spots are and how to get there. The TV/remote was broken when we got there, and somebody was immediately there to fix. Lady at the breakfast area was very accommodating and quick to refill the breakfast table.
Food was average: same everyday. But I liked that it was light (bread, pastries, cheese, jam, cold cuts) just enough for you to get out of the hotel without feeling hungry, and ready for a nice Italian meal after your first destination.
Good location: 5-10 min walk to Trevi Fountain and the Spanish steps. <5min walk to Via del Tritone (main road with the bus stops) and the metro. Well lit. Felt safe at night walking around the surrounding streets. Loved the pizza place in front. They also served chai tea. Used this as a lobby while waiting for my family to get ready.
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 795 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stated at the Fellini for three nights before leaving on a cruise. The hotel is located
partway up a cobblestone hill near the Trevi Fountain. The hotel staff were very helpful and
accomodating. There are two wonderful restaurants further up the hill which we enjoyed.
Our room was small but immaculate! Just how much time does one spend in a hotel room in Rome! If walking is an issue you might be better served elsewhere. The first floor of the hotel is one flight of stairs up and from there you take the smallest elevator ever---(my husband and I were belly to belly---good thing we like each other). Breakfast was also very good. Overall this was a very good value

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaybird66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at Fellini for just one night at the end of our trip to Rome (after the end of our cruise). Overall, we were impressed with their service--the front desk staff were all helpful, spoke English well, and they helped coordinate a very early taxi to the airport. The price of the room was competitive and we didn't have any problems getting the reservation.

The room itself, though, was disappointing. For the price we paid, we were ok with having a community bathroom, but we didn't expect to have water rain down on us when we flushed the toilet. We also didn't expect the room to have tears in the wallpaper or to have such old furnishings. The bed's sheets were old and looked used, and we didn't dare use the extra sheets in the closet. It was the standard size European bedroom, which means tiny. Compared with other B&Bs we have stayed in, it just wasn't to the same standard.

If you care primarily about great service, I would recommend Fellini; if you're looking for a nice room on top of great service, you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treader811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFellini, Owner at Hotel Fellini, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to hear that your stay was satisfactory and we look forward to accomodating you on your next visit to Rome. Moreover, I want to inform you that your nice comments have been annotated, compliments passed on to our staff, and all will contribute to the continual improvement of our property.
Moreover, regarding your negative comments about the room, we want to clarify that when you say "For having a community bathroom" you are wrong, the bathroom without being inside is for the exclusive use of the room, in fact you had the key of the bathroom and you were the only user.
Also, we would like to inform you that the water rain on you when you flashed the toilet, was probabily caused by a sudden increase in pressure of the water that we could not foresee, or for a failure of the tape that can happen in a hotel, so the maintenance of the tape have been annotated on the book of the urgent things to do. But, we are not at all in agreement with your negative comments on the sheets, indeed we reject them completely, we change the sheets every day and it can never happen that the sheets are old and dirty, because after that the maid cleans the room, these are controlled by the housekeeper and by us too.
So, this comment will not contribute to improve our property because we already do this and even scrupulously, we have a special care and treat in special way the rooms cleaning.
Last thing, you are right when you say "For the price we paid, we were ok" because we have rooms with en-suite private bathroom and Junior suite which are first class, but off course a little bit more expensive of a tiny room however dignified. Our success is due to the fact that over the years we have always done an excellent relation between quality and price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Visited the Fellini in Summer 2011
Stayed for a week
Location perfect, staff helpful and friendly every time we spoke to them eager to help and give directions.
Room was perfect, cleaned every day.
Air conditioning worked fine!
We loved the Fellini and it made our time in Rome even better.
Bit pricey, but so is everywhere in Rome....worth it overall

Keep in mind the Rome city tax needs to be paid in cash on departure.

Room Tip: Book a room with a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yikkkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

As with most hotels in Rome, expect to pay more than what it's worth. While Hotel Fellini enjoys a good location, just minutes away from the Trevi fountain and the metro station, there is nothing much to rave about the room nor the service. We booked a room with a private bathroom at 160 euros but discovered upon check-in that the bathroom was not ensuite. The staff at the front desk told us that the room rate is for external private bathroom only, which is contrary to the booking confirmation that I received. Separately, we made an online room cancellation (for the first nite) 3 days in advance, but was told upon check-in that we had to be charged for the first nite, because we probably missed the cancellation by a couple of hours. The staff at the front desk said that this was generated by the system and there was nothing much she could do, although she did waive some charges,

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

we were only five minutes from the Trevi fountain, however the map readers I was with found it a bit confusing to find. Loved the breakfast of juice coffee yogurt cold meats and crossaints. the people at the front desk were very helpful with everything. my only problem was i needed to print some tickets from the internet and was not able to retrieve them for some reason. i am now dealing with IItaly.com company. The room and bathroom was great.Also, had a refrigerator. Came in handy.Never used the bidet though. Darn!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leslie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Fellini in September 2011 for three nights. The best thing about this hotel is the location--just around the corner from a metro stop, and a very short walk to most of the attractions in Rome. The hotel was very clean and we had a large bathroom all to ourselves. The room was small, but we didn't spend much time in it anyway. The breakfast was very good, and they had plenty of options to choose from. One problem is that they are very strict with the breakfast times. We left at 6:30 one morning and they wouldn't serve us breakfast until 7am. Also, one day we got to breakfast at around 9:30 and they had run out of many things.

One downside to Fellini is the price. We paid 154 euro for the weekend nights. This is a lot for what you get, compared to a hotel in the U.S. However, this price is good compared with other hotels in this area. We also stayed one night at a different hotel in Rome on the last night of our vacation, near the Termini. That hotel was very nice as well and much cheaper, but we spent a lot more of our time getting to where we wanted to go. So, unless you are staying for a long time, I think it's worth the extra money to stay in the heart of it all.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VUKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#220 of 1,271 in Rome
1,263 reviews
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#88 of 1,271 in Rome
682 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Hiberia
Hotel Hiberia
#191 of 1,271 in Rome
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Julia
Hotel Julia
#358 of 1,271 in Rome
655 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Regno
Hotel Regno
#154 of 1,271 in Rome
1,735 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#199 of 1,271 in Rome
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fellini

Address: Via Rasella 56, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#203 Family Hotel in Rome
#253 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $66 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fellini 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fellini is located just a few steps away from the bustle and romance of the legendary Trevi Fountain, whose extraordinary surroundings have formed the backdrop for the creation of true cinematic masterpieces, such as “La Dolce Vita”. Hotel Fellini is ideally located near Piazza di Spagna, Via Veneto, and Piazza Barberini with the metro station of the same name. Other attractions in the city are also within easy walking distance: the Pantheon, Piazza Navona, the Coliseum and the Roman Forum. Hotel Fellini offers rooms and Junior Suites which have recently been refurbished down to the smallest detail and equipped with air conditioning, telephone, an ADSL socket, satellite TV and a safe. In addition it offers its clientele free Wi-Fi connection and a generous complimentary buffet breakfast. Our multi-lingual and highly professional staff are always at the full disposal of our guests to answer queries or to offer advice on: restaurants, tours of the city and transfers to and from the airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Fellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fellini Hotel Rome
Fellini Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing