We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money ang great location”
Review of Hotel RomAntica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel RomAntica
Ranked #540 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed March 9, 2011

it was my second time in Rome so i knew that hotels in this city are very expensive,so with 55 euros per night i was very satisfied.the location is very good,just 3 minutes from termini which was good because in the return we had a very early flight so we needed to be close to the train station.in termini also there is a metro station and many buses going around rome.breakfast was very good for the poor Italian standards.3 kind of cereals,donuts,croisants,coffee,juice,yogurt,cheese,ham,salami!the room was small but clean and in good condition,bathroom small but good.(in Rome you need the room just for sleep and shower)...

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kostasicebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 421 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2011

Hotel RomAntica is simply a nice place to stay - at a very affordable price. Friendly staff, 24 hour desk, clean and good rooms, calm atmosphere, fine breakfast and free internet! Splendid restaurants in the same street. What else matters?

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank toftedalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

This hotel was only 3 streets away from the main train station Termini, had several cafes down the street and cheap internet/net cafes nearby too.

Air con was extra, which wasnt in our budget so we had to go without. Some nights it would have been worth the extra dollars for it though. The room was a good size.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Sometimes the street was very nosy so sleep was impossible, otherwise it was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTravellervm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We chose this hotel because of its central location - 2 minutes walk from Termini rail and metro Stations and 20 minutes walk from the Colosseum. It's billed as a 2 star hotel. It's only that because it has no facilities other than a breakfast room. However it'smuch better then 2 stars in terms of the quality of the rooms. They were not huge, but were big enough. The bed was firm but comfortable, the bathroom was fine - shower, basin, toilet and bidet. The bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean and we got clean towels every day (although the bath towels were waffle cotton - a bit like tea-towels). One of us had a room at the front over-looking the street. It was too noisy to leave the windows open. Our room was at the back which was nice and quiet.
The breakfast was an excellent continental breakfast - orange juice, tea, coffee, cereals (cornflakes, coc-pops and muesli), fresh bread rolls wirth butter and jam, croissants, danish pastries and apricot tart.
There was no bar or restaurant in the hotel, but that's not a problem as there are plenty of trattorias and bars in the neighbourhood (the Aqua Nera was the best), Meals are quite reasonable - 12-22 euros for a three course 'tourist' menu, with a good choice of starter and main course. Also there's a small supermarket close by which sells wine, beer, spirits etc. The reception staff were very helpful - even lending us a bottle opener.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelfanaticsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Nice hotel, friendly staff, very close to Termini, good restaurants in the neighbourhood (try Trattoria Angelo), safe, no problems in the breakfast...

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarciaFV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel RomAntica at the end of September 2010. We arrived in Rome around 9:15 am and took the Leonardo Express train from the airport to the Termini train station. The hotel is very close to the Termini, so it was easy to find. We were able to check in early which was very nice and check in was easy and painless. We were given a room on the 3rd floor so we took the tiny elevator up to our floor. The room was fine as we were only using it to sleep and shower, but I would say it’s only about a “2 star” hotel.

There was a tiny safe on the wall and our window opened to a noisy street below. There was a small TV which we didn’t really watch because we could not find any English stations. The bathroom and shower were decent, but note that this hotel did not provide any shampoo, conditioner, or lotion—just soap.

The room needed some updating—it could use a fresh coat of paint on the walls and the bedspread could use a good cleaning. We removed it right away and stored it in the armoire. The bed was comfortable, but be sure to bring your earplugs because the street noise was terrible!

We booked this hotel for several reasons, but one of the big reasons was because it said it had air conditioning. We weren’t sure how hot it would be in Rome in September, so that was one thing we were looking for. Yes, this hotel does offer air conditioning….for an additional 10 Euros per night. We went ahead and opted for it because it was in the 80s and it was stuffy in our room, but it was a little disappointing to have to pay extra for it.

The other reason we booked this hotel was because it said they offered free Wi-Fi. This is true, but you have to get a card from the front desk. The first night I was given two cards that would last for one hour each. The second night we went back for another card, and were then given a card that would last indefinitely. There was no extra charge for these access cards.

One thing we really enjoyed about this hotel was their breakfast. Our room rate included breakfast so we ate it each day. I had read negative reviews about the breakfast, but we really enjoyed it! They had cereal, milk, different breads and pastries, orange juice, and coffee or cappuccino. Everything was delicious!

Overall, it was a fine place to stay. The hotel is in a good location, close to many restaurants and a nice grocery store and very close to the main train station which made travel around the city easy. We felt safe at night as the reception area is manned 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

To start with the positives, the room was big and clean enough for Rome and is located really close to the train station which saves packing luggage across town.

The problem here really is the customer service and overall value. Though we only paid 70 Euros, we were asked to pay for extra's that we were lead to believe were included. We asked if the room had air conditioning and reception said they did. When we tried to turn it on we couldn't figure out how. I went to the reception and they said it would be an extra 10 Euro per night. I tried to protest that I was lead to believe it was included, but to no avail. Also they informed us where breakfast was when we checked in, but failed to mention it would be an extra 10 Euro each. Given this, the low price wasn't so low.

When we checked out I wanted to use my remaining Euro cash to save the exchange fee and pay the rest with credit card. I have done this numerous times when returning from abroad, but the reception said he didn't want to do that (not that he couldn't, just didn't want to). I pleaded, but again to no avail, he simply did not want to help us out.

Overall a low price does not warrant this low level of service.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aileronguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Contilia
Hotel Contilia
#740 of 1,273 in Rome
808 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Luciani
Hotel Luciani
#747 of 1,273 in Rome
458 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#338 of 1,273 in Rome
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
XX Settembre
XX Settembre
#201 of 1,273 in Rome
739 reviews
Monti
Conte House I
Conte House I
#760 of 1,273 in Rome
179 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Millerose
Hotel Millerose
#690 of 1,273 in Rome
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RomAntica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RomAntica

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 77/A, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#108 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $39 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel RomAntica 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel RomAntica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantica Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing