We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid like the plague!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Backpackers Hostel Roma
Ranked #645 of 1,069 Specialty Lodging in Rome
kildare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid like the plague!!”
Reviewed March 31, 2007

Arrived at midnight at the dodgiest building ever! when i asked for a room key they said that there was no need for them!!even though loads of people where hanging around in the building!the main door to the building was held open by two scratch cards!! spent half the night looking for somewhere else to stay! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

  • Liked — that we could leave it!!!
  • Disliked — the whole thing!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank helly20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    2
    1
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2007

Myself and six friends booked a six bed ensuite dorm with this hostel way back in january for a weekend in march. We rang the day before arriving to check everything was ok with the booking. The hostel confirmed it and said it was all perfect.
So after travelling all the way from Ireland that day via bologna and florence on the train we arrived to be told that no we were not staying there.

The staff were rude and no help at all. The told us that they had over booked and said we had to walk twenty minutes to another hostel. No explanation or anything. The couldn't even tell us accurately where the other hostel was. The place was filthy too. An absolute dump.

The other hostel is was part of the same chain of hostels. Roma Inn on via Urbana. DO NOT STAY HERE either. It is a building site. There are no doors on the rooms. its filty and covered in dust and dirt and you will have builders walking through your room at seven in the morning without so much as an excuse me.

AVIOD THIS CHAIN OF HOSTELS AT ALL COSTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They ruined our weekend in Rome

  • Liked — leaving it
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank edfarrell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 23, 2006

me and 2 of my friends recently went on a weekend to rome,we booked kinda late so the only place we could get was this hole. when we arrived the greeting was less than friendly. we paid for a 6 person room yet were put in a 10 person room. there was no where safe to put you belongings.the shower and toilet for this 10 person dorm are in the same en-suite room so its kinda akward if 2 people need to use the same room,which by the way doesnt even have a lock on the door.if you think all this is bad wait till i tell you about the staff.they are all americans who are VERY clickey!!! they only talk to each, they dont seem to really like other nationalities and they are very pro-Bush. 3 times while i stayed at this hostel i heard them playing the national anthem.on ouyr 3rd night they locked us out and we had to sleep outside on the stairs. i do have to say tho i met sum other nice backpackers while i stayed there (australien & columbian) so the weekend wasnt completely ruined. in conclusion if ur american go to thjis hostel,you will be treated very well,for the rest of us Rome is a pretty warm city and there are lots of nice benches to avail of !!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 1, 2005

i tried to stay in this hostel on a recent trip to rome, and i have to say it is the absolute WORST i have ever seen. the man that let us in didn't acknowledge us with a hello, and when we got in the kitchen/front desk/dining room/living room was a MESS - empty bottles everywhere, food half eaten, trash all over the table. the hallway to our room was filled with dirty linen and towels, and our room was tiny. the shower stall was full of used towels.
we couldn't even stay here one night.
they also advertise a bar, interestingly enough - there isn't one, it had to be SHUT because they had no license.
AVOID THE BACKPACKERS HOSTEL.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2005

This place managed to give away our private room on the night before Easter! I booked it weeks in advance, confirmed it the day before, and when we got there they pretended there was a double-booking problem but we could tell by the way they were talking that it's something they do quite often. The sleazy managers actually tried to put us in a dorm with other people and give us beer or something to make up for it. AND I paid in advance for some reason and they were very reluctant to give our money back. We actually had to sit there and argue with them (after waiting 30 minutes for them to show up). Very sleazy, gross place. It might be OK for dorms, but definitely do not try to book a private room here.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aimdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 20, 2004

I'm not a English speaker, but if you are an English speaker, I think you can enjoy your staying very much. They are friendly and kind. Staffs get the door and clean rooms. They taught me where to go, the histoly of Rome, and trying to help me as far as they can, though they pretend they are tipsy. So, if you don't expect luxaly, it's good enough.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 30, 2004

Probably, one of the worst places around. We stayed for four (4) nights and they did not change the sheets, shower cabin is not clean, it does not drain the waste water, hot water tank is enough for only one person, second one should wait for 15 minutes for having shower. There is no towel in the room. And they promise that they give 20 Euro deposit back when you give the keys back. But you do not find anybody in office when you try to give the keys back. You can definitely find a better place and honest crew with the same price.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#74 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#95 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
#45 of 1,069 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Camping Village Roma
#49 of 1,069 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Hostel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Hostel Roma

Property: Backpackers Hostel Roma
Address: Via Filippo Turati 37, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #645 of 1,069 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing