We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks giving..”
Review of Hotel Positano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Positano
Ranked #1,133 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
1 review
“Thanks giving..”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Yah! I do a comment of my staying at Hotel Positano n of its nice location, fresh air surroundings, well house management of ins & out, kind manner and 24 h of service, free wifi thoroughly I enjoyed my staying in the historic Rome. Free maps and a short brief at checked-in made me cool nd easier to move around the city, yah! Price was comparatively cheaper as much as I find, of-course I get it again whether I come to this beautiful Rome, thanks Hotel Positano

Ripan, Poland

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ripan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    23
    16
    29
See reviews for
6
20
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The service & atmosphere were wonderful! The location was perfect. ..near the Termini & several nice restaurants and shopping. The staff was particularly helpful with directions.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I have been 3 nights to this hotel and i found a big room cleaned and with lcd tv and free wifi.
The location is perfect because it is very closed to the main train station and to the metro.
Centre of rome is very near and personnel of reception was very kind with me ,
particularly a nice blond girl.
Price was very cheap comparing with the level of the hotel.
Maybe i was lucky but i do not agree with all the people was complaining.

Room Tip: Ask room at the ground level if possible, this floor is well restaured with good wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great location! 5 minutes walking distance from the Termini station. Very friendly and attentive staff, clean rooms - perfect hotel for those who are looking for cheap and clean room for a few days in Rome :) Good value for money!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magdalena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed at this place with two friends for four nights. We came here late on a sunday night. The old man in the reception was quite friendly but he tried to charge us double city tax. I don't know if it was a simple calculation mistake or if he actually meant it.

Our room, #107, was in the front of the building. The door felt half broken and sometimes I was not sure if it would work or not. The room, a five-bed mixed dorm, was like a prison cell. Just five beds, a table and a chair. Very sparse. Since the room was close to the street it was quite noisy, even late into the night. The room was clean but the toilets could have been a lot cleaner. Some mould in the shower and on the floor.

They had wi-fi but it was working very poorly. We had bad signal in our room even though it was quite close to the reception and sometimes it just didn't work at all, even if you went down to the reception.

Pros:
- Cheap!
- Good location, only about five minutes from Termini station
- Clean rooms

Cons:
- Be aware of the city tax!
- Some power plugs in the rooms are not working
- Too few power plugs
- Prison cell rooms
- Filthy bathrooms
- Noisy late in the night
- No character
- No lockers in the dorms

Would I stay here again? Yes, probably. It's so cheap and it's so close to Termini. Hotel Positano is not the best place but remember you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel, further away from the street. Room #107 is just by the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niklas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had booking with ConteHouse, but they moved us to this cheap hotel.The customer service is so bad, we even spoke to the boss because we originally have breakfast included in our booking. And he was rude. There are no wifi in rooms (only in the lobby). Everything is old and even my room door was hard to open. Terrible experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Redruth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Having read these reviews before I travelled, I was rather dubious about what I was going to experience. However, I was rather surprised!

We stayed up in the hotel section on the fourth floor, in which our room featured beds that were surprisingly comfortable, air conditioning, mini fridge and tv, all of which were functioning well. The en-suite bathroom was a little on the old side, but nothing that was not to be expected from an older building. (Hence the run-down look). We had the same issue with the shower switching from hot to cold at random intervals, however, after a little trial and error we managed to get it at a stable temperature.

As for the lift, from an architecture students point of view, it was fantastic. Yes, it was small (It does say on the pannel in the interior that it for a maximum of 2 people) , but you have to take into account that it is an original part of the building, and works perfectly, as well as looking fantastic!

The staff were very friendly, and kindly looked after our bags after we checked out for the evenings flight, and the room and linen were cleaned and replaced daily. It is also as many have said, located in a central point in the city, and only a 5 minute walk from the train station, metro and bus transfer stations.

So overall, I was very impressed, despite the bad reviews. I would just ensure that you book for the hotel section rather than the hostel section for the better facilities, but other than that, I found my stay an enjoyable one.

So take some of the bad reviews with a pinch of salt, this really isn't a bad hotel!

Room Tip: The hotel rooms will be of alot better quality than the hostel section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kyle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#729 of 1,258 in Rome
156 reviews
Esquilino
Caput Mundi
Caput Mundi
#823 of 1,258 in Rome
88 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel il Papavero
Hotel il Papavero
#986 of 1,258 in Rome
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#371 of 1,258 in Rome
415 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#273 of 1,258 in Rome
1,281 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,144 of 3,669 in Rome
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Positano

Property: Hotel Positano
Address: Via Palestro 49 | Rome, Lazio, Italy, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,133 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Positano 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Positano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing