We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, price, facilities and welcome!”
Review of Friendship Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Friendship Place
Ranked #687 of 1,166 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at friendship place for one night as we had plans for the other nights in Rome, if we hadn't we definitely would have stayed for longer! We were greeted with a warm welcome from Andrea and made to feel at home, a bright airy room with AC was ready hours before the official check in. No complaints at all, immaculately clean and breakfast included in the price! Good value for money and great location! We think it must have changed since the reviews on here as only just read them and strongly disagree with the negative ones! In 2012 Friendship Place double room is a great place!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeybadgerbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 43 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here with 2 friends in July 2012. Unlike some of the other reviewers, we had a great time! This place is definitely geared toward young travelers, but I would most certainly recommend it to any of my friends visiting Rome.

The elevator was a bit cramped and old, but the insides of the hotel were nice, air-conditioned, and clean. We had perfectly working wifi and hot water, and our room even had a TV! We were greeted at the elevator by a nice lady who took our information and we paid up front (€25/night/person in our case). She even remembered our names when we checked out! Breakfast is included and is located at a small cafe around the corner.

I definitely recommend this hotel for young travelers and those on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VittoFresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed here with 5 friends so had a six bed dorm to ourselves. Asked for extra bedding etc and it was no problem to the guys at reception-they were really friendly, and although you have to pay upfront they gave us a really good rate compared to other hostels around the area. The bathroom/shower is seperate from the rooms, but clean and did the job.
The hostel is relatively loud-although admittedly our group did contribute to the noise a fair bit! This hostel is great for a group who wants to party but even still the night security guys were absolutely lovely, and made sure that nobody sleeping was disturbed while allowing everybody to have some fun.
The location is one of my favourite for bargain trips in Rome-not a fancy area but in walking distance to all the main sites!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrabailey_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I would not recommend this place to anyone. We stayed at this place for 2 nights in May 2011 and unfortunately could not leave after the first night because we had to pay the full amount at check-in (we quickly knew why). The only positive is the location close to Termini. A first mild negative point are the stairs: rooms are on 4th floor with the elevator much too small and not working most of the time. A more negative point is the bathroom: the shower floods, and there is no hot water. Based on other reviews (also at other websites), there seems to be no hot water in this place for months (and it is not being fixed, contrary to what staff keeps saying). Although the website says there is free wireless internet, it has never worked during our stay either. Although one staff member was friendly, most other staff members were arrogant to say the least, did not care about their guest's comfort, made ill-placed jokes and even plainly lied to new guests about the amenities (as we witnessed at checkout). Given the above, the price for a room (about 100 euro/night for 3 people) is ridiculous; if you are with a group, you can get a budget hotel room for the same amount of money.
Additionally, the hostel has a lot of different names, such as Friendship Palace, Friendship Place, Beautiful Hotel, Beautiful Accommodation (as shown outside on a sign) etc. The different names are probably used for different websites on purpose, in order to reduce the chance that (negative) reviews are seen by potential guests. This confusion tactique is used by several hostels in the Termini area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChegaDeSaudade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

I reserve a room for four people with bath.
Positive things: very close to Termini station. Good breakfast in a bar and 30 minutes of internet
Negatives things : The hostel name and address do not correspond to real, it is difficult to find.
The staff demanded me more money for my reservation and try to fool me. I had to threaten him with a claim form and call the police.
The bathroom is dirty, does not flush the toilet, the shower flooded. The wallpaper on the walls is old and broken, and at night there are insects.
The heater does not work and the staff did not want me to blankets.
You can not use the kitchen to cook your own food. Taxes not included in the reserve, 2 € per person per night.
I do not recommend this hostel .

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Stayed for 1 night as we just needed a place to crash before going to the airport early the next day.

We had a double en suite and it was NOT worth the €80 they asked. Shower literally sprayed all over the bathroom, which was covered in moldy wood (presumably from othe shower sprays). The door was open a crack and it sprayed out into the room itself. No AC and it was hot in there too.

Best thing I can say about this place is that we only stayed there one night. There was a girl at the front deck who was friendly, but it didn't make up for the lack of service from the guys behind the deck most of the time.

There is no ground floor entrance, nor is the address easy to see. When you do find it, climb 3 stories and look on your left.

Also, despite the fact that you can book and pay a 10% online deposit with a credit card, if you show up to pay the rest it is cash only!

This place is a little sketchy, it also has like 3 different names like friendship hostel, holiday hostel, and something else, but don't be fooled, they are the same crappy place.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Studynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Free dinner and free wine every Friday - very nice gesture by the hostel that brings people together and makes you feel welcomed. Rooms are clean. Washrooms in rooms are new and clean. However, lock on the washroom door didn't work in my dorm room, so it would feel very insecure for the girls but didn't bother me. Staff is helpfull. Bangladesh cooking staff are just great. Breakfast is very bad but better than nothing. Excelent location - near Termini railway/metro station.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Palma Residence
Palma Residence
#3,101 of 3,734 in Rome
231 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#460 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#218 of 1,271 in Rome
662 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,231 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#337 of 1,271 in Rome
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendship Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendship Place

Address: Interno 18 Via Dei Mille 41/A | Scala A, Piano Sesto, Interno 18, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #687 of 1,166 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range: $45 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Friendship Place 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 200 metres from Termini Train Station, Friendship Place is a family-run property. It offers colourful rooms with wood floors, air conditioning and free Wi-Fi access.Rooms at Friendship Place all come with a minibar and a private bathroom with hairdryer.An Italian breakfast is available each morning from the café 20 metres away, one of many in a neighbourhood packed with small restaurants and bars.Being so close to Termini means you have excellent public transport links around Rome. With easy access to both Metro lines, the Coliseum and Trevi Fountain are only 2 stops away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Friendship Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing