We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Rome.”
Review of Hotel Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fenix
Ranked #433 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here from July 6-10. It was great value. Rooms were very nice and clean, staff helpful and kind and breakfast was very adequate with great servers. There is a metro about 7 min walk away and once you figure out the shortcut it's great. Metro to all the sights about 10 min away.Very safe neighborhood, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Rome

Cliff
Vancouver, BC

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jags33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 434 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

My boss and two other colleagues were in Rome for a short course on regulatory impact analysis at Luis's University. Fenix is a two minute walk from the university, so we were basically staying in the right place. The breakfast was huge and filling, and the dinners were never short of wine! My room was very big and spacious, and unlike most hotels in Europe, Fenix has large rooms fitted with both shower and bath tub. The Internet Was super fast! I loved taking walks around the neighborhood which is safe and quiet. The hotel has a garden outback which was great for relaxing.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
Thank Penias C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a lovely four day stay in this hotel. The staff were very helpful and courteous. We booked a room for a family of 4 which proved to be a tight squeeze with not enough storage. Breakfast was lovely, quite varied and fresh. We loved the location as it was not too noisy but only a 10 min bus ride into the centre. There are a couple of lovely restaurants only a short walk away which was ideal in the evening if you didn't want to go into the centre. In all, a lovely hotel but looking a little tired.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MAF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I share and confirm the views of many other reviews !
the hotel is located in a nice area, small houses, almost in front of Villa Torlonia and at the side of a park; a few blocks down, many diplomatic residences; not by chance !
of course, it is not city centre, but with a bus you can get there in 10 minutes;
the hotel itself is quite nice, quiet; the rooms are large enough (I had a double .... I understand from a friend that the single ones are really tiny)
the bathroom was not big, just enough;
bed large and good;
breakfast room comfortable, the food varied and good; on the whole a correct breakfast in a nice location; in summer, it seems, breakfast is served also in the garden (I have been told);
I did not check the air conditioning;
the price was competitive;
I saw both business travelers and tourists;
I could consider coming back again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arzillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The rooms are beautiful, staff very friendly, attentive and courteous. Breakfast is rich and if needed the buffet gets replenished well after 10.00 am. The hotel is conveniently located right by a convenient bus stops (Nomentana-Gorizia/Trieste) and is 10 min away from Roma Termini train station. The neighborhood is quiet and safe. There is a fantastic restaurant a two-minute walk from the hotel, Pepe Verde, be sure not to miss it if you don't feel like a bus trip one night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ouss-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was the last hotel we stayed in on our trip to Italy,and it was a disappointment.On arrival,our first impression was how dirty the carpet was behind the reception desk,and there was a dog there,when the hotel advertises ,no pets!The rest of the carpets were also dirty,but the room was clean.The balcony was awful,had not been maintained for years.
The hotel was basic and very tired,but the staff were very helpful.They did provide a gluten free breakfast,and the coffee was lovely,as were the scrambled eggs,overall the stay was average,but with a few improvements this could be a lovely little hotel.The outside area was nice,but again needed cleaning and modernising.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

When staying at any hotel for two weeks one really gets to see a true picture of the hotel, they don't really get to hide much from you. It is a true test that Hotel Fenix passed with ease!! What an absolutely lovely place, my mother-in-law and I truly enjoyed our stay.
-Much time was spent drinking wine in the garden ( will be even better in bloom)
-Breakfast has wide variety fresh and yummy
-Hotel is wonderfully decorated old world mixed with modern
-Well looked after and clean
-Staff helpful and kind ( well 90% were anyway, one can be a little cranky)
-Many cosy spots to sit and relax, read have wine or tea throughout hotel
- Linens fresh and great quality
-Bright rooms with large windows
-10 min walk to metro, then 5-8 min ride to core. Nice to get away from core bustle.
-Everything you could possibly need within 10 min walk ( Bolonga or Regina Margerita)
Overall we highly recommend this Hotel, and would not hesitate to book again.

Room Tip: Rooms in back have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countrygirl8721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Relais 6
#37 of 1,271 in Rome
1,919 reviews
Hotel Principe Torlonia
#367 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Pirandello
#101 of 1,271 in Rome
452 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#290 of 1,271 in Rome
1,680 reviews
JC Hotel
#431 of 1,271 in Rome
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fenix

Address: Viale Gorizia 5-7 | quartiere Trieste, 00198 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Rome
#180 Business Hotel in Rome
#235 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $87 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fenix 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fenix Hotel is a peaceful oasis with a green heart in the historic residential Trieste area, perfectly and shortly connected with the center of Rome.Located in Viale Gorizia into Trieste district just one step from the elegant Parioli area, Hotel Fenix is renowned for its excellent private and quiet location easy reachable from the historical center also for the closer area of Via Veneto and Villa Borghese.The place is known for the nearby historical presence of picturesque parks like Villa Torlonia and Villa Paganini and many early twentieth-century roman buildings, now home to embassies. Nearby are the Universities “Luiss Guido Carli” and “La Sapienza”.The connections with the urban center and the suburbs are easy and frequent; from Termini station, infact, you can easily reach the hotel in 15 minutes and in only 5 from the underground station “Bologna”.The Hotel combines the warm, relaxed and friendly environment with the excellent service that meets the most demanding customers.It’s a well-established tradition, infact, to offer cordiality, discretion, accuracy and professionalis.Hotel services include: Reception 24/7, Bar, Nini Restaurant, Room service 24/7, Garden, Private Garage, access for disabled people, Lift, safe-deposit box, minibar, air conditioning and heating, satellite TV, laundry service, business meeting room, Internet point, Wi-Fi available throughout the whole hotel. Transfers and excursions booking on request, information about events, museums and theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing