We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Two Week Stay”
Review of Hotel Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fenix
Ranked #403 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Two Week Stay”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

When staying at any hotel for two weeks one really gets to see a true picture of the hotel, they don't really get to hide much from you. It is a true test that Hotel Fenix passed with ease!! What an absolutely lovely place, my mother-in-law and I truly enjoyed our stay.
-Much time was spent drinking wine in the garden ( will be even better in bloom)
-Breakfast has wide variety fresh and yummy
-Hotel is wonderfully decorated old world mixed with modern
-Well looked after and clean
-Staff helpful and kind ( well 90% were anyway, one can be a little cranky)
-Many cosy spots to sit and relax, read have wine or tea throughout hotel
- Linens fresh and great quality
-Bright rooms with large windows
-10 min walk to metro, then 5-8 min ride to core. Nice to get away from core bustle.
-Everything you could possibly need within 10 min walk ( Bolonga or Regina Margerita)
Overall we highly recommend this Hotel, and would not hesitate to book again.

Room Tip: Rooms in back have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countrygirl8721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    208
    68
    11
    8
See reviews for
55
122
39
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Interior: very very nice, not new, but clean.
Room: we had a family room (2 adults and a kid). It consisted of master bedroom and a small room for a kid. Not very specious, but it was ok. We liked pictures on the walls. The bed was comfortable and big. It was useful to have a teapot in the room. In the mini-bar: water, cola, juice.
Breakfast: we didn't expect it to be so nice. Good variety of yogurts, fruits, diat products and etc. tasty!
Parking: 13 euro for a 24 hours inte hotel. But it is possible to park on the street too. 4 euro for 8 hours during the day, but from 19:00pm it is free till 08:00 am.
service: we liked the stuff very much! Polite, helpful, professional and kind.
Garden: the hotel has a beautiful garden, I think in the summer time it is really lovely.
We strongly reccomend this hotel and will stop here again in our next trip!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank YV15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a lovely hotel slightly out of the centre of Rome (ten minutes walk and ten minutes underground to the centre) and tucked away amongst beautiful flats, embassies etc Our room was very spacious and the linen and towels of lovely quality. The furniture is old but good quality and everything was very clean. The hotel has its own garden which we found a delight to sit in and read (it's lit by fairy lights at night - charming) or you could take your breakfast out if you wished. The best bit about the hotel, as others have said, is the helpful and multilingual staff - they could not have been kinder and English is universally spoken so don't worry if you have very little Italian. The second best thing is the breakfast - a huge variety of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, pastries, cold meat, fruit juice etc. You can order a traditional cooked at extra cost but you won't need it. Oddly, to British eyes, there is no tea and coffee in the room (you might want to take a travel kettle etc) but there is a fridge with water and juice etc but this is also extra - though no more expensive that you pay at the kiosks near tourist attractions. There is free wifi in the rooms. You can have dinner in the Hotel or try one of the local restaurants (Pepe Verde's ten doors down is terrific) and there are shops and restaurants at the foot of the street. All in all, a charming hotel in a great location with outstandingly good staff - would love to go back.

Room Tip: A room that looked into the garden would be lovely if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micra038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francesca v, Direttore at Hotel Fenix, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are delighted to read such a gleaming report about our Hotel, our breakfast service, cleanliness and staff. Our main daily effort is to provide to our Customers the best possible stay.
It was a pleasure to have you as our Guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night during the week on a business trip. Comfortable room, good location, enjoyed the breakfast. The only downside for me was the surly and unfriendly greeting we got from the male receptionist who checked us in on the thursday evening. Luckily, every other member of staff we came across afterwards was incredibly friendly and so the balance was more than restored.

Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RM_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Comfortable room, with heat controls, well presented, (504 had bath with shower, balcony overlooking garden and side street,) wifi via a password (ask for the code), good range of breakfast choices, with TV on wall.
We arrived by shuttle bus booked at kiosk with English-speaking staff just to right side of train station lobby. This took us to the door of the hotel with a running commentary from the driver on the sights as we passed them.
Viale Gorizia has a bookshop serving coffee and an organic mini-supermarket serving light refreshments.
One evening just before 10pm we expressed a wish for some soup. Within 15 minutes freshly prepared vegetable soup, beautifully presented with toast, was served to us in the bar area.
We used the Roma Pass (3 day) for travelling and visiting sights.
With Italian friends, we enjoyed obelisk spotting for a school project. (More obelisks in Rome than Egypt.)
Away from tourist bustle. Nearest metro is Bologna (10 minute walk). Buses much closer. We will doubtless return to this pleasant spot.
(One cleanliness mark removed as light fitting in one room was full of dead flies and dust - and in the second room the grout around the tiles and the sealant needed replacing.) The cleaning done by the daily cleaner was first class. The bed linen and towels were excellent.

Room Tip: Fifth floor accessed by stairs from fourth floor. Lift small but very fast. Some rooms overlook V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goslingwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francesca v, Direttore at Hotel Fenix, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Sir,
We loved your review so detailed hence useful for all the TripAdvisor community. We thank you for the compliments spent about our all our services , including the cleanliness and the staff ,and that you have appreciated the facility of the connections to reach our Hotel and our Snack Service , always available 24 hours a day. Thanks you also for having put some marks, they are so useful to us to improve and make pleasant the stays of our Guests. We are looking forward to see you soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 7 nights Our room was very clean and the bed comfortable We were in the old part of the building as I asked for a room with a bath which does not seem to be usual. We know Rome well so the location suited us there is a bus stop a short distance from hotel with a choice of very regular buses to Termini Station the journey takes about 10 minutes I walked it in about 25 minutes The only problem we had was an inability to turn off or lower the heat in the room. The management were aware of the problem and the answer was to turn on the air conditioner!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francesca v, Direttore at Hotel Fenix, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Madame,
Many thanks for your lovely review.
We have appreciated your compliments and your detailed mention of the connection to our Hotel.
Sorry for the problems you have had about the heat in the room. And we are really sorry for the wrong information we have given during your stay. Our staff is always available to help solving such difficulties and, when you reported the problem to the reception desk, they would have given you another solution. We do hope to have you again as our Guests with the promise to offer you a better service and assistance. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
#345 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#281 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Exe Domus Aurea
Exe Domus Aurea
#257 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#697 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Hotel Principe Torlonia
#363 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fenix

Property: Hotel Fenix
Address: Viale Gorizia 5-7 | quartiere Trieste, 00198 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Business Hotel in Rome
#213 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#226 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fenix 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fenix Hotel is a peaceful oasis with a green heart in the historic residential Trieste area, perfectly and shortly connected with the center of Rome.Located in Viale Gorizia into Trieste district just one step from the elegant Parioli area, Hotel Fenix is renowned for its excellent private and quiet location easy reachable from the historical center also for the closer area of Via Veneto and Villa Borghese.The place is known for the nearby historical presence of picturesque parks like Villa Torlonia and Villa Paganini and many early twentieth-century roman buildings, now home to embassies. Nearby are the Universities “Luiss Guido Carli” and “La Sapienza”.The connections with the urban center and the suburbs are easy and frequent; from Termini station, infact, you can easily reach the hotel in 15 minutes and in only 5 from the underground station “Bologna”.The Hotel combines the warm, relaxed and friendly environment with the excellent service that meets the most demanding customers.It’s a well-established tradition, infact, to offer cordiality, discretion, accuracy and professionalis.Hotel services include: Reception 24/7, Bar, Nini Restaurant, Room service 24/7, Garden, Private Garage, access for disabled people, Lift, safe-deposit box, minibar, air conditioning and heating, satellite TV, laundry service, business meeting room, Internet point, Wi-Fi available throughout the whole hotel. Transfers and excursions booking on request, information about events, museums and theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing