We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fenix hotel rome italy”
Review of Hotel Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fenix
Ranked #384 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fenix hotel rome italy”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 7 nights Our room was very clean and the bed comfortable We were in the old part of the building as I asked for a room with a bath which does not seem to be usual. We know Rome well so the location suited us there is a bus stop a short distance from hotel with a choice of very regular buses to Termini Station the journey takes about 10 minutes I walked it in about 25 minutes The only problem we had was an inability to turn off or lower the heat in the room. The management were aware of the problem and the answer was to turn on the air conditioner!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francesca v, Direttore at Hotel Fenix, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Madame,
Many thanks for your lovely review.
We have appreciated your compliments and your detailed mention of the connection to our Hotel.
Sorry for the problems you have had about the heat in the room. And we are really sorry for the wrong information we have given during your stay. Our staff is always available to help solving such difficulties and, when you reported the problem to the reception desk, they would have given you another solution. We do hope to have you again as our Guests with the promise to offer you a better service and assistance. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    216
    69
    11
    8
See reviews for
58
127
40
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

this is a good hotel but far away from the centre of rome, it was however very close to our meeting location and this is the reason why i stayed there. it feels like a home rather than a hotel which was its added advantage.the room was ok, it had a good breakfast. it would be a good choice to see rome as romans live rather than the tourists. all in all, it is a good choice if you have been to rome couple of times, did the sights and historical rome. the hotel was spacious, had a nice little garden and the rooms are large but a bit worn out.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank businesstraveler036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrews, TX
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at this hotel and loved it. There is a bus stop just out front of the hotel. A ten minute bus ride to Stazione Termini which has the Metro subway, the train and the bus station. From there you can get anywhere. The hotel restaurant had a wonderful breakfast each morning: coffee or cappucino, scrambled eggs, sliced pruiscutto(ham), pastries, juice, cereal, fruit. We had dinner one night and it was wonderful. For those ih the know it is a Michelin rated restaurant the last five years. The hotel is locally owned and smaller but wonderfully done. The desk clerks speak some english and were very helpful. There is a computer in the lobby if you need to print out travel vouchers, tickets or boarding passes. The hotel was very clean with marble baths. There were two english TV channels BBC and CNN. The A/C unit worked pretty well. The hotel was a very good value.

Room Tip: We had a triple room which had a king bed plus a single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Friendly spacious and relaxing. Generous breakfast. Excellent value if a little far from the sights. Plan on doing some walking but there are some good restaurants which may be a little hard to find. Did not eat at the in house one but it looked good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeripateticTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is a bus ride away from all major sites. I was there is mid-June and it had an amazing garden to sit and relax. The biggest bonus for me was that I could be in the city centre in 10 minutes but had the feeling that I was in a beautiful, peaceful hideaway away from the noise and buildings. The rooms are large and very clean and staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was also exceptional with a nice variet of organic options. As I was there for business, I had two dinners in the hotel's restaurant. The food, while not exceptional by Italian standards, was very good for a hotel.

Whenever I go to Rome for business or pleasure I will surely return to the Fenix.

Room Tip: Ideal to book a room facing the garden. Also, purchase a bus pass to avoid worrying about buying ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Fenix for six days. we booked 2 rooms for our family of five - 2 adults and 3 teenagers. Very friendly staff at main desk and through out the hotel. Our room was cleaned every day - good sized rooms - we had the larger suites with one single bed and a good kingsize bed in separate room in each suite - fresh towels and bedding every day. The only down side was the rooms had old wooden wardrobes - I'm not a fan of these so that is my gripe. We stayed in the block of rooms nearest to the main road so you could hear the traffic but after a day you got used to it - the A/C hum covered the noise most of the time. There are lovely places to eat nearby and an excellent gelato shop within walking distance. The breakfast buffet was good - the toaster was not working properly the first day - it was not toasting but the staff made sure every one got toast by using another toaster in the main kitchen and the next day there was another toaster to use. The breakfast is served outside in the lovely garden area. The hotel restaurant was not open due to the August Holidays- we were looking forward to using the Nini restaurant but will know for next time we visit . We bought bus tickets every morning from the reception - The bus stop was just around the corner on Via Nometana.

Room Tip: save money and take the bus - we only used taxi for airport transfer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

That's the Fenix Hotel ...
We enjoyed a weeks holiday here ..
The Hotel may be located out of town but public transport could not be any easier ..purchase a multiuse public transport ticket from reception ..Bus stop across street ..
Good size and clean rooms ..
we booked bed & breakfast and were well fed ..we even had an evening meal ..in the hotel ..
also..a nice touch was afternoon coffee in the garden .
oh must not forget the free WIFI ..as we only speak English we had limited contact with staff but always found them helpful and pleasant .....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bhgoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
#373 of 1,259 in Rome
997 reviews
Esquilino
Exe Domus Aurea
Exe Domus Aurea
#268 of 1,259 in Rome
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#460 of 1,259 in Rome
290 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#283 of 1,259 in Rome
1,624 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#203 of 1,259 in Rome
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fenix

Property: Hotel Fenix
Address: Viale Gorizia 5-7 | quartiere Trieste, 00198 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#180 Business Hotel in Rome
#206 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#226 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fenix 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fenix Hotel is a peaceful oasis with a green heart in the historic residential Trieste area, perfectly and shortly connected with the center of Rome.Located in Viale Gorizia into Trieste district just one step from the elegant Parioli area, Hotel Fenix is renowned for its excellent private and quiet location easy reachable from the historical center also for the closer area of Via Veneto and Villa Borghese.The place is known for the nearby historical presence of picturesque parks like Villa Torlonia and Villa Paganini and many early twentieth-century roman buildings, now home to embassies. Nearby are the Universities “Luiss Guido Carli” and “La Sapienza”.The connections with the urban center and the suburbs are easy and frequent; from Termini station, infact, you can easily reach the hotel in 15 minutes and in only 5 from the underground station “Bologna”.The Hotel combines the warm, relaxed and friendly environment with the excellent service that meets the most demanding customers.It’s a well-established tradition, infact, to offer cordiality, discretion, accuracy and professionalis.Hotel services include: Reception 24/7, Bar, Nini Restaurant, Room service 24/7, Garden, Private Garage, access for disabled people, Lift, safe-deposit box, minibar, air conditioning and heating, satellite TV, laundry service, business meeting room, Internet point, Wi-Fi available throughout the whole hotel. Transfers and excursions booking on request, information about events, museums and theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing