We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience”
Review of Clarin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarin Hotel
Ranked #447 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Nice little quaint hotel near nice shopping. It is a relatively good location near beautiful sights. Has ventilation (a window and fan), a fun and nice experience to try. The people there were very kind and helpful. When it was time to leave, they helped us get a taxi and scheduled a time for pickup. It's was a nice experience and would go there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jesus_Luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 349 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

The location was great, close to the train station which was good. They are still renovating so there was lots of banging in the mornings and we had to get around all the ladders etc. We were glad to leave for the day and just come home in the evening to shower and sleep. We were quite cramped in the family room (five of us). The bathroom was too small and the shower recess was not deep enough so we always got the floor wet. The room was clean and the breakfast was adequate. The staff were very friendly and happy to help out if they could. Thankfully we only spent three nights there. We probably would not go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary0032012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in Aug 2012.
It is on the second floor of an old building, which is serviced by a very old lift from the 1920's
The location of the hotel was very good.
When we arrived the lady in reception apologized for the mess, as they were in the middle of renovating the corridors, which were stripped down to the cement on the floor and walls.
Our room (137) had a view of the back yard and very dark with peeling wall paper, I think it was the next room to get a face lift as on the morning we left a builder turned up to work on the room next door. Our friends stayed across the corridor from us and their room was newly refurbished, I think it was luck of the draw as to which room you got and we were the unlucky ones.
Breakfast was served between 7-9 am which was ok,
we booked a budget hotel and that was what we got, which was fine for a 3 night break, but no more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HWW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We traveled here July of 2010, not August of 2011 as this review states. Just FYI.
My girlfriend (now wife) and I stayed here as part of our European trip around three different countries (Bulgaria, Italy, and Greece), and this was the first stop for us in Italy.
First, the location wasn't too bad. Anything you needed was just a short walk away, and it was surrounded by shops and restaurants that were pretty nice.
The room itself was a tad small, but fit our needs just fine. The one issue I had with it was that it had no air conditioning, and in the Italian summer, that can be a bit of a bother. But, hey, it was a budget hotel, and they provided a fan, so it's not all bad. The view from the room was....well, let's face it, there was no view; our window faced into the central area of the building, so we might as well have been staring at the wall. But that's okay, the view isn't why we were staying there. The shower was kind of cramped, but it got the job done, and the bed was pretty comfy; I wasn't a fan of the wool blankets they used, but they had cotton sheets, and it was hot, so I slept just fine.
All-in-all, it was your average budget hotel and I wouldn't mind staying here again if I had to.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kyle_mohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with a friend. Friendly staff and great location, nice walk from all the major attractions. The view from our room wasn't the greatest, for that matter, none of the views from either room were good. The shower head was rusty and water was sprouting from all angles, and the toilet was a nightmare to flush. No air conditioning, but we were provided with a fan that seemed to just blow hot air onto us. Really just couldn't wait to be outta there.

Room Tip: If going to Rome in summer, avoid this hotel, no a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omgitsasherly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I recently stayed at the Clarin with two friends. We paid about $100/night. When we first arrived we were slightly worried that we had made a mistake but we got used to it after a few days. The man at the desk was very nice but he did not speak any English and he gave us the keys to another person's room. It was extremely hot and there was no a/c. The first night was extremely uncomfortable as it over 90 degrees in our room. Luckily, we requested a fan the next day but it would have been nice if we didn't have to ask. The free breakfast was very nice to have and saved us probably over 50€. The location was great, close to two train stations and a lot of popular tourist sites. The staff was very friendly and they let us keep our bags there for a few hours after we checked out as out flight wasn't until later in the afternoon. There is a great lunch place across the street that is very cheap and has large portions. They're only open from 10 to 1230 though.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikerberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The hostal was quiet poor. and the room very noise. The shower was rusty. This is what you get for a low price hotel. However, the staff was really friendly and helpfull. They speak just Italian and a little bite of English. When we arrieved the two beds were togheter and whe asked them if it was possible to separete them as I was traveling with a friend. the manager said " No problema" and they did it. The toilet got blocked and they fixed it that same evening. the shower was linking.
The breakfast was ok. They highly recommend us a restaurant " El Barroco Pizzeria Bar" which was a terrible restaurant. They must get a comission every time a customer goes there. Please dont ever go to that restaurant.
The best part of the stay was the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosamundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Picasso
Hotel Picasso
#473 of 1,270 in Rome
301 reviews
Monti
Valle Hotel
Valle Hotel
#1,037 of 1,270 in Rome
399 reviews
Monti
Hotel St. Moritz
Hotel St. Moritz
#709 of 1,270 in Rome
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#706 of 1,270 in Rome
160 reviews
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#252 of 1,270 in Rome
561 reviews
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#322 of 1,270 in Rome
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarin Hotel

Address: Via Palermo 36, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #447 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $40 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarin Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing