We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget stay”
Review of Stargate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stargate Hotel
Ranked #513 of 1,091 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Good budget stay”
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

After trudging around the strips north of the Rome termini, stargate was a haven above the rather dodgy part of the city... The frontmen who we spoke to were friendly enough, sorting us out at about 11:00pm, arriving dust covered from Firenze!!
The room was pretty much what we came to expect for a 'budget' room in Rome. We had been to all hostels, b&bs and hotels in that district and the stargate was our last, and best (for budget), stop!
It's no ritz but if you are travelling on a tight budget, it's pretty good considering the hefty pricing of Rome.
It did not include breakfast and the only way to keep cool was via the window...looking over a bit of a dodgy section of town.

In summary, decent budget place, not more than 2 star (if that), but good enough for a backpacker hunting for a cheap place to hide out, away from 'party hostels', which seem to populate Rome!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackadder24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    27
    19
    33
See reviews for
11
27
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This was one of the worst experiences in Rome as the room was cheap but the staff were very rude and understood english however they acted as they couldnt. This made it very hard to communicate. Furthermore, they had promised breakfast but then went back on their word which was very annoying. The beds were quite hard and we asked for a double toom but got two single beds joined together :|. This is alright if you want a quick play to stay for a small price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bilal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Yes this is cheap and good location.

However, general manners cost nothing. I could go on and have a rant but there is no customer service at this establishment and the receptionist was just rude. We put it down to a bad day as he shouted at us for not have the right amount of cash (due to the fact we could not pay by card) as he ordered us to the train station to collect the cash (even though 11pm at night). However, this did not get any better during our visit.

Services are basic but ok but there are lots of other places I would try at similar prices than this one in nearby locations and even in the same building. I would even pay more not to be treated in such a disrespectful manner......even the owner was a litle aggressive.

Shocking just shocking.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2011

No Luggage storage
No wifi in room
TV for 10€ extra in private bedroom
Holes in bed linen
No breakfast included
No read lights
Bumpy mattress
It cleary doesn't worth it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sissou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at the Stargate Hostel for 3 nights, we were very satisfied with our stay. Our room was more like a small hotel room, it had a nice and super clean bathroom ensuite, desk and closet, tv (we only found one channel on it though), air condition, even a small fridge. We left tips for the cleaning staff and then got clean towels etc. We didn't try the breakfast. Only not-so-great thing was that internet connection was only available from the lobby and it cost 1 euro per hour per laptop, but maybe this is common for Italy. Wireless internet access from the rooms would have brought them up on 5 stars. The location is perfect, with Termini just around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Staff moved our luggage from our room to another while we were out without informing us or allowing us to pack up first. Theoretical reason: faulty plumbing that was leaking below. Probable reason: there were only 4 of us in a 6 bed room and they needed the 6 bed room for someone else (they moved us to a 4 bed room). In any case, if you stay there, keep your luggage packed up...you never know when they might decide it needs to move. The rooms are very tight; bathrooms decent; elevator small; management poor.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arch_study
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, PA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Instead of 3 twin rooms as reserved, the hostel claimed to only have 1 room for 6. I was going to stay at another hotel in the same building for the same price, when the hostel happened to find a twin room. The room was small but comfortable, and the shower stall was dirty. You have to pull on a cord hanging in the shower to get hot water, which the staff failed to tell me when I complained about the lack of hot water. Close to Termini train/metro.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PA-Kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Anakin Stargate
Hotel Anakin Stargate
#940 of 1,256 in Rome
33 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#918 of 1,256 in Rome
424 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sol Levante
Hotel Sol Levante
#631 of 1,256 in Rome
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#358 of 1,256 in Rome
622 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel il Papavero
Hotel il Papavero
#978 of 1,256 in Rome
363 reviews
Esquilino
Mosaic Hostel
Mosaic Hostel
#58 of 1,091 in Rome
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stargate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stargate Hotel

Property: Stargate Hotel
Address: Via Palestro 88, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #513 of 1,091 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stargate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stargate Hotel at Rome is a comfortable 3 star hotel, with great experience in receiving groups of students and adults. Every room has it's own private bathroom, Wi-Fi connection, air conditioner and minibar. Located at the Historic Centre of the Eternal City, it's proximity (about 300 meters) to the main rail hub of Rome (Termini train, bus and metro station) makes it very comfortable. It only takes a few steps in order to arrive to the famous Trevi's Fountain, to the Santa Maria Maggiore basilica, the Colosseum, the Imperial Forums and the Baths of Diocleziano. By taking a walk, it is very easy to arrive to the National Library, Sapienza Rome University and the Hospital Policlinico Umberto I. The Hotel is placed in an elegant palace of the early '900, the entrance is at the ground floor, where you can find the 24 hour reception, the inside bar, the breakfast room and the elevator. We have a kind, available and multilingual staff that can provide you with free information of the city. The Stargate Hotel brings together conviviality, comfort and functionality, and can offer the clients high level technology, a warm welcome and an enviable position at the center of the. Because of this, the hotel provides an ideal solution for vacations and pleasure trips. How to arrive: The Stargate Hotel is located at only 300 meters away (4 minute walk) to Termini Station, in Via Palestro, 88. From Termini Station, take the right exit and walk along Via Marghera, walk 4 blocks and turn right, walk about 60 meters and at the gate number 88 is located Stargate Hotel. Services: Internet Wi-Fi Free 24 hours baggage deposit Free city maps Information Rack Shuttle (on demand) to and from the Ciampino and Fiumicino airports. Laundry service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Stargate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing