We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Stendhal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Stendhal
Ranked #154 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

good:

hotel is clean and quiet
great hotel ambiance
quality of food for breakfast was good
location

improvements:

address wifi internet speeds, it is fair and range is small
breakfast could use a bit more variety if you're staying 7 nights like us

overall, would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warbler2541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you !!
Your review is arrived directly on the desk of our Manager.
Important changes for breakfast and wi-fi are on working.
We look forward for your next visit, to clear the column of the things to improve.
Many thanks for your cooperations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    319
    84
    31
    28
See reviews for
116
446
45
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel is not as luxurious as it claims to be. We stayed in a standard double room and the rooms were very small (but this may be an European standard). The breakfast had a minimal selection of food (bread, cereal, cold cut meats, cold scrambled eggs...everyday), which made it very boring to eat everyday. The wifi is also very slow and choppy, with the best reception being around the bar/breakfast area. We also had a leak in our bathroom from the shower which caused the floors to be soaking wet after a shower. We notified reception and they said that they will send a technician up to have a look at the issue, but upon returning to the hotel reception they informed us that there was nothing they could do to fix the problem and can give us more towels to soak up the water if need be which I found to be quite dangerous as someone could slip and hit their head in the small bathroom.
The location of the hotel is great with many attractions within walking distance and a metro station around the corner. There are also many restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juju-anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Customer,
thank you very much for your time and for his experience.
We need these reviews, not too good, to understand what we need to improve and where we need to put our attention.
The manager has take ​​a commitment.

But I want to point about what happened with the bathtub.
Our maintenance have checked the problem; some clients before you have broken the marble under the tub. This was not repaired during your stay. To avoid slipping in the bathroom, I advised our housekeeping to add towels.
Of course, the problem has been repaired a few days later.
I'm very sorry if I offered an ugly impression, because we take really care about our customers.

We await your next visit in the Stendhal to present you our improves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at Hotel Stendhal for 4 nights. The service was impeccable, and we stayed for a very good rate. Our rooms (1 double & 2 singles) were all of a comfortable size and always immaculately clean. I thoroughly recommend this hotel. The staff cannot do enough for you, and it made for a lovely base for our trip.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Customer,
we are glad to hearing from you good review of the Hotel Stendhal.
All the staff send you our best thanks you.
We await your next visit in Rome to welcoming you once again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We picked Stendhal for the location, in the heart of old Rome and within walking distance of many of the best-known historic sights.
What we found was a perfect little gem - the decoration and furnishings from the front desk to the bedrooms were very good quality and plush. The little bar/restaurant/library is very comfortable area. All the staff wore co-ordinated uniforms and were welcoming and friendly. We stayed for three nights on a breakfast -inclusive package in a superior room, and were very impressed. We had a roof-top balcony, for which I think we paid a bit extra, but it was well worth it.
We will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Customer,
what we can add or to reply to a so beautiful review.
Thanks, thanks and only thanks for your compliments.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were so please with our week long stay at the Stendhal Hotel. When we first book, I was a little nervous because it is sometimes tough to judge by photos on the internet. But I knew we had made the right decision from the moment we walked in the door. It is a small boutique hotel with very attentive and friendly staff. By the end of the week everyone knew us. The room was clean and a comfortable size. The location was so perfect. Easily accessible to attractions and the metro, but at the same time a step away from the hectic outdoor tourist congestion of busier locations.Our young adult kids loved the free Wi-fi. Morning breakfasts were a perfect start to the day. We would definitely go back and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMattice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Customer,
Simply Thanks for your special review.
We are glad to welcoming you soonest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

The hotel is small, cozy, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. It's very well located, the staff was kind and breakfast was very good. We enjoyed our stay and we would go back when in Rome. Internet was ok.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank semf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Customer,
We await for your next stay with open arms.
Tasting the Hotel you know what the others lose.
Many thanks from all the Staff.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

The hotel was centrally located between the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and while the rooms were not huge they were clean, comfortable, and luxurious.
Excellent breakfast and service!
Fully recommend to everyone!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Review611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
many thanks for your experience; it is a pleasure for us to have left a good experience in your memory.
All staff thanks you.
We wish to welcome you soonest.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Stendhal Dependance Luxury Suite
Trevi
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
#92 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#151 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#229 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#257 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stendhal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stendhal

Property: Hotel Stendhal
Address: Via del Tritone 113, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#196 Business Hotel in Rome
#217 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#286 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stendhal 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel was opened several years ago and has maintained its reputation as one of Rome's hippest and trendiest hotels. The location in the city centre within a short few minutes walk from Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, The Pantheon and ALL of Rome's most important monuments. Our rooms are maintained regularly and a rich buffet breakfast is included in the room rate.Finally, FREE WI FI internet throughout the hotel's public areas and rooms complete the services on offer at the Boutique Hotel Stendhal in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stendhal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stendhal Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing