We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Stendhal
Nearby Hotels
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
$384
$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$213
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$244
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
$311
$262
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$320
$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$193
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$474
$363
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
$181
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
$148
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Palazzo Naiadi(Rome)
$409
$381
Autograph
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,037)
Filter reviews
1,037 results
Traveler rating
511
368
94
35
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
511
368
94
35
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspanish stepstrevi fountainbusy streetpiazza barberiniwithin walking distancerooms are smallhotel is centrally locatedvia venetothe main hotelsuperior roomtravel agentexcellent locationpastriesaround the cornermetro stopbreakfast roomlight sleeper
Filter
Updating list...
379 - 384 of 1,037 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

What a magic hotel, clean, convenient we were asked when we checked in if it was our first time immediately given a map of the must see places. Very clean hotel, extra towels were given on request, it would be nice in Rome if there were some laundry facilities for washing on the move or at least a clothes line in the bathroom.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Susanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Customer,
we always like to be able to remember you the Stendhal after your departure.
The experience and the reviews is the best advertising we can get.
Would like to thank you from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My friends and I treated ourselves to a stay at the Stendhal as part of our 50th birthday celebrations. We were not disappointed. The hotel is in a great location and is right on a bus route. Sightseeing and shopping couldn't have been easier from the hotel whether on public transport or on foot. The staff in the hotel were very friendly and professional and couldn't do enough for us. They were always smiling and polite and happy to help us plan our day when required. The rooms were tastefully decorated and exceptionally clean throughout our stay. Fresh towels daily and a great shower. Comfy beds with great pillows. Breakfast was delicious with a variety of delights available each morning. The service throughout our stay was first class and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Customer,
That's sound good
We like the music of the good review, for that, always, we try to improve us and our service.
Your experience is our best pleasure.
Me and all the staff awaiting your next stay in the Stendhal.
Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

As we travel as a couple we found Stendhal Hotel beautifull. Clean, nicely decorated, cozy best location and we loved the staff. Since we spent most of our time out at that lovely city,we didn't had the chance to stay in the hotel a lot, but we loved breakfast and we enjoyed our room! Definately we will come back!

Room Tip: Try the rooms withe privite veranda!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Customer,
we are glad to welcome your opinion about the Hotel and the services.
The whole staff thanks You and waits for Your next trip to Roma.
Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed on our way back through Rome after a cruise. The reality is, we thought that this hotel would be a Mecca for relaxation... Unfortunately it wasn't the case. The service was friendly but the air conditioning was not cold in our room and the mattress was uncomfortable without something covering it aside from the sheet so you could feel the quilting of the mattress. The shower temperature was hot and then cold making for an active game of hide and seek while shampooing... And perhaps it was a very hot day in rome (the gelato store we visited lost power bc ofbthebheat!) The bellman were very helpful as was the concierge but I would not return.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank edh56696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Many thanks for your opinion,
the A/C is comparable with the 40° in Roma during your stay and with 70% of the humidity.
We never recevied any complain for our air condition.
And really our clients requests us, many times, to degrade the temperature.
Regarding the shower we are very sorry; unfortunately the problem was not related to your mixer or to your shower/bathtub, but to the entire floor. In fact it was necessary awaited the intervention of a technician to fix the problem, unfortunately the staff of the Stendhal could not fix the fault.
We love to receive only congratulations for the Hotel and services, but certainly a not positive review can help to improve us and the Hotel.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The good: location, very clean.
The bad: single rooms extremely tiny even by European standards, no self service drinks in breakfast and slow service, faulty thermostat in shower - water temperature changes all time, I complained about it and nothing was done. Don't be mislead by the pictures.
There are better price/value alternatives in the same area. Will not stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moshe068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Customer,
many thanks to have left your experience at Stendhal.
I'm sorry to find dissatisfaction of you stay.
The rooms have a standard size for european room as well; but you was in a very busy period and we was unable to upgrade you in a bigger room, seen your stay of 3 nights.
In any cases, size, amenities and furniture are indicated in each booking site, to avoid any trouble upon the arrive.
The absence of drink self-service in the breakfast room is not a downside but absolutely positive. In fact, the waitres in the breakfast-room are always friendly and attentive to every customer's requests, inclusive of cold and hot drinks for breakfast.
In regard of the shower, unfortunately, the problem was not related to your mixer, but to the entire floor. In fact it was necessary a technician to fix the problem.
In the same days we have received a number of complaints but in any cases we have intervened to check the problem, but unfortunately the staff of the Stendhal could not fix the fault.
Really your friend in a single room, but in the other floor, had not troubles with the shower.
We try to offer our best, always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews