We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”
Review of Hotel Stendhal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Stendhal
Ranked #106 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a superior double on the 6th floor. It was quiet and spacious, and had a roomy terrace. The staff was very accommodating. We felt welcome as a gay couple. Also, we arrived early from a flight and were very tired so they worked fast to get us into our room by noontime. Breakfast is included and it's pretty good! This is a small boutique hotel so don't look for a spacious lobby; however the breakfast area is later a nice place to sit and have some wine. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Unless you are alone, go for the superior double as the standard rooms are very tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear customer,
I do not have many words to add to your review as well as a thank you from all the staff.
Your pleasure is our pleasure.
Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 949 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Stendhal is a smartly done up boutique hotel about ten minutes from the Spanish Steps, and directly across the street from the Piazza Barberini metro stop. Everything about the lobby and common areas is compact and efficient. The library where breakfast and drinks are served has the most gorgeous color of panelling. Our rooms were so pretty, good quality wallcoverings, lovely water pressure in the bathroom, good lighting. The soundproofed windows gave us great quiet for sleeping at night.
Our travel agent recommended the Stendhal and I can see why, a winner in every sense.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a bathtub, which I did, make sure you specify that when you reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Customer,
with your reviews, You are the winner.
All the staff would be honored to welcoming you in the next future.
Your pleasure is our pleasure.
Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Good, centrally located hotel in Rome, roughly equidistant between the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain. Rooms are a decent size for the price and very clean. Breakfast area is pleasant and well appointed with a lovely side area tastefully decorated. Shame they've stuck a television in that space. Good coffee as one would expect from Italians but felt that the breakfast menu could have been a bit more varied. Unconnected to the Hotel, but a great plus point is a small bar we discovered directly opposite the Stendhal called the Enoteca Barberini. We were in Rome in late January and whereas many bars in the local streets at that time were deserted or had very few people and no atmosphere, this place was buzzing with live music on both nights that we ventured in. Many were eating or a few, like us, just sitting at the bar to enjoy a beer or a glass of wine and take in the scene. Well recommended & fortunately for us literally a walk across the road from our Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefano c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Customer,
thank you very much for your review of the 'hotel and about bars and restaurants nearby.
Discovering Rome and the Hotel Stendhal in every month of the year is great for getting a living 'experience more different.
Many thank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Centrally located and within walking distance (20 minutes) among the major sightseeing areas. Continental breakfast served every morning in tiny lobby on linen table cloths, with silver service and fresh pastry basket. High end Italian decor.
Just as in every other major international city, this hotel, at this reasonable room rate, has the draw back of being on a busy road. However windows are double glazed and we didn't find the street noise disruptive the four nights of our stay. Surprisingly I discovered that Italians are very easy-going drivers who don't honk their horns excessively, they stop for pedestrians, and let scooters cut in front of them without minding. Very civilized indeed.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EatPrayWrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Customer,
we know so good the traffic in Rome, and its peculiarities.
For this reason in our description we define the Stendhal "a small island of tranquility, relax and charme".
This is what we are and that you described perfectly in your review.
Many thanks, we await you in our island for your upcoming stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed on the fourth floor for 4 nights in April. The hotel is very centrally located. There is a subway station one block away but most sites are within walking distance. The hotel is very nicely decorated and it is probably one of the cleanest rooms we have stayed in! The breakfast is very good and service excellent. The hotel is located on a busy street, so if you are a very light sleeper, request a room facing the courtyard. In the summer when it is very hot and you would like to keep the windows open, this may be more of an issue. Overall excellent! We would stay agin.

Room Tip: A room on the street side is likely a bit noisy for a light sleeper. Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travgirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Customer,
is wonderful to receive your review.
You have described as best as possible what is the Stendhal.
All our staff await your next visit in the Stendhal to offer you our best welcome.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is central to most sites,my room was quite small for a 4 star hotel, the office staff were very helpful & friendly.
The buffet breakfast did not have a lot of options with only one hot dish scrambled eggs which were cold.
The waiting staff at breakfast were more interested in the TV than checking on guests.

3 stars at best

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-man53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Customer,
many thanks for your opinion.
We are very happy to offer the best to our customers and to read good reviews.
Sometimes, also negative reviews are used to improve the service and the staff.
The waiters have careful to customer requests, what we serve in the morning for the breakfast is on the top of the buffet, including the scrambled eggs, but we have a long list of hot expressed dishes, on request.
Unfortunately, the TV is a distraction for everyone; keeping your review we have training once again the staff in the breakfast room, and also, our manager has decided to have only international channels at the discretion of customers who have the pleasure of having breakfast front of the tv, as it would at home.
The size of the rooms is correct with the stars of hotels in Italy, on request and subject to availability we can do upgrade to superior rooms.
Your opinions count.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The location and the interior design were the two main reasons why I chose the Stendhal. I was in room 306, a single. It is small by American standards, but probably average by European standards for a room in a major Italian tourist city. The room is nicely decorated and the staff is friendly. My room faced the back so it was quiet.

I stayed at the Franklin Feel the Sound near the Vatican the last time I was in Rome. I liked the Franklin, but I felt the location for a single woman was not ideal only because I found myself catching the bus late at night from dinner frequently. (The Metro stops running at 11:30 p.m.) Ironically, I ended up going to the Prati quite a few times this trip for dinner and gelato and the Franklin would have been convenient for those purposes. If this is your first trip to Rome, I suggest staying somewhere like the Stendhal because it is close to Trevi, Spanish Steps, Villa Borghese etc., and you are not in the thick of the throngs of tourists.

Room Tip: If you're at all sensitive sound, I would definitely recommend asking for a room in the back. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AccidentalAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Customer,
many thanks for the review on the hotel Stendhal and his staff.
You are right, the single room has a regular size for hotels in Italy and in Rome, but it is smaller for American standards.
Of course, subject to our availability we like upgrade the single room in double single use or in bigger room; but unfortunately, during the high season the upgrade is really difficult.
In any case, we await for your next stay to further improve our hospitality.
All the staff would like to thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Stendhal Dependance Luxury Suites
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,271 in Rome
3,025 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Mascagni
Hotel Mascagni
#144 of 1,271 in Rome
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#266 of 1,271 in Rome
631 reviews
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#138 of 1,271 in Rome
1,031 reviews
Trevi
Barberini Hotel
Barberini Hotel
#357 of 1,271 in Rome
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stendhal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stendhal

Address: Via del Tritone 113, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#196 Business Hotel in Rome
#217 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#286 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $121 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stendhal 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel was opened several years ago and has maintained its reputation as one of Rome's hippest and trendiest hotels. The location in the city centre within a short few minutes walk from Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, The Pantheon and ALL of Rome's most important monuments. Our rooms are maintained regularly and a rich buffet breakfast is included in the room rate.Finally, FREE WI FI internet throughout the hotel's public areas and rooms complete the services on offer at the Boutique Hotel Stendhal in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stendhal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stendhal Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing